Customer Reviews


202 Reviews
5 star:
 (161)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40th Anniversary Edition
Unquestionably a five star album, we should all know by now just how good it is. Obviously some of Elton's finest work on the labum, Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding is an epic song worthy of inclusion on any classic rock list and this lengthy double album just rolls out great song after great song. Some people claim some tracks on this album are just 'fillers'...
Published 14 months ago by Guitar_lover

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy a Pure Audio Blu-ray if you're expecting to be able download the content in high resolution
You know the album, so nothing needs saying about that.

I bought the High Fidelity Pure Audio Blu-ray version which comes with a code to access all the tracks as a digital download. When you go to www.hfpureaudio.com/redeem - you can download the tracks as MP3s!

This seems to be a feature of all Pure Audio albums not just this particular one...
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40th Anniversary Edition, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unquestionably a five star album, we should all know by now just how good it is. Obviously some of Elton's finest work on the labum, Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding is an epic song worthy of inclusion on any classic rock list and this lengthy double album just rolls out great song after great song. Some people claim some tracks on this album are just 'fillers' which is complete nonsense. The album flows beautifully and a particular favourite moment comes when Your Sistser Can't Twist blasts straight into Saturday Night's Alright. Just brilliant.

Anyway, this 40th Anniversary edition has been nicely remastered (and while not in this package the new vinyls also sound fab) and comes beeutifully presented in a VHS kinda sized box, with a glorious hardback book. The CDs and DVD are all in slim card sleeves with nice artwork for each. Great to have the 70s docu on DVD and the Live discs are fantastic. The only downside to the bonus content is the revisited section, most of the covers are distinctively average at best with only John Grant, Imelda May and the Zac Brown Band standing out, struggled to listen to the rest. However the other bonus material on this disc is great concluding with Elton's brilliant version of The Who's Pinball Wizard. All in all a fantastic package commemoration 40 years of a true classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elton's Versitility Shines, 13 April 2007
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (Audio CD)
While it is possible to argue that there are perhaps a couple of Elton John albums which may rival (or even better) 'Goodbye Yellow Brick Road' in terms of song quality, there aren't any that have managed to match it in stylistic range. In other words 'Goodbye Yellow Brick Road' successfully manages to encompass every facet of Elton's musical styles in a double album package that is sharp and bright in tone with enough variety to never seem boring. It also makes a strong case against those who feel Elton's forte is in being a bland balladeer.
Rock 'n' roll - ' Your Sister Can't Twist ..', 'Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting', reggae - 'Jamaica Jerk Off', and soul - 'Bennie And The Jets', sits perfectly alongside Elton's more traditional ballads such as the well known 'Candle In The Wind' and 'Harmony' in an album that works on every level.
Bernie Taupin's lyrics are also varied in terms of theme ranging from his tribute to Marilyn Monroe - 'Candle In The Wind', prostitution - 'Sweet Painted Lady', cowboys - 'Roy Rogers', the film 'Goodbye Yellow Brick Road' and the unusual, futuristic 'Bennie And The Jets'.
Not every song is prime Elton though - 'Social Disease' and 'All The Girls Love Alice' aren't particularly striking but to be fair they're not exactly bad either.
Versitility is the key to the greatness of 'Goodbye Yellow Brick Road', whether musically, lyrically and also in Elton's vocal performance. In fact it's refreshing to hear what a really fine and versitile voice Elton had in his youth and it's an album like this that blows away any hint of the personality driven Elton in more recent years who's forte when he does record tends to be more often than not, boring and overblown ballads. On 'Goodbye Yellow Brick Road' he has greater scope which, whatever he does in the future he'll never be able to match. Elton's range had diminished with age to such an extent that there's no way he could ever record an album so diverse and varied as 'Goodbye Yellow Brick Road' again - that's why it's an album that deserves to be cherished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An instant classic, no style left unturned!, 18 Jan. 2002
By 
Mr. M. A. Tomlinson (Liverpool England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (Audio CD)
It's rare to find an album, let alone a double album, where one cannot find a bad track but Goodbye Yellow Brick Road is that album. From the sweeping and atmospheric 'Funeral for a Friend' to the heartbreaking 'Harmony' (it was special to me way back in the 70's!) via 'Roy Rogers' cod country (check out Eltons twang!)and the rocky little 'Your Sister can't twist' and 'Dirty Little Girl' all the bases are covered, no style left unturned. Even if I wasn't such a fan (and I own EJ albums that only his mum bought!)this one would be in my collection. It should be in yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still great after all these years, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is for the Hybrid SACD Deluxe version, but using a normal CD player - SACD owners whose players can play the Super Audio layer on the disc might be treated to an even better experience!

Anyone who was around when this first came out will remember it being a seminal moment in early-70's pop history - the sleeve artwork alone made you want to leave out on the coffee table to show off (until Sade's 'Diamond Life' came along). Looking back, perhaps some of Elton's other albums are more musically coherent, but by the time this was released (1973) he was well into his 'entertainer' phase and the wide range of musical styles on the album captures the times perfectly. When CDs first came out in 1980, the first track I wanted to have demonstrated at the local HiFi shop was the massive opener, 'Funeral for a Friend/Love Lies Bleeding'. It was brave of Elton to open a double album with a funeral, but the majesty of it is still powerfully resonant and it gets the set off with a mighty kick.

What drew me to this deluxe edition was a hoped-for improvement in the sound quality - and I wasn't disappointed. Elton's albums are always beautifully crafted, but compared to my original CD copy, this Deluxe version opens everything up sonically. The original CD release sounds thin and constricted - it has none of the presence or natural 'bloom' of the deluxe version. We're not talking 'loudness' here - but it's like you've moved about twenty rows nearer the soundstage and are being treated to the subtleties in the instrumentation and performances. It's well worth Elton fans checking out his other albums that have been given the Deluxe treatment, which similarly gets you nearer the action. This isn't a money-making exercise - Elton wants you to hear his music in the best quality possible, and this version certainly fits the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece? Definately., 6 Dec. 2002
By 
Endecay (Sutton Coldfield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (Audio CD)
As a reasonably young and recent newcomer to Elton John's music I admit I didn't have very high expectations. Well what can you expect when all you'd hear for 6 months was the insipid "Candle In The Wind '97"? I'm delighted to have been proven wrong about the man, particularly with respect to the jewel in his crown - this album.
From it's barnstorming 11 minute opener, to the appropriate group vocals of the closing track, the album is a delight. Whilst it's probably too much to expect that all 17 tracks will be perfect - I believe there are a couple of duffers (Jamaica Jerk-off, All The Girls Love Alice), the magnificent quality of the rest easily offsets them - heck, even the "duffers" aren't that bad and still have me singing along in my car. Particular highlights are the aformentioned opener - "Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding", the title track, "Danny Bailey", "Roy Rogers" and "Harmony". It's definately a classic & well worth owning.
And in case your wondering - I love the original "Candle In The Wind".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect information, disc WILL play on a CD player!, 1 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
chrissy_mouse is wrong, this SACD WILL PLAY in ALL CD players! (it's actually written on the case too.) HYBRID SACDs will play on both SACD and CD players alike, dedicated SACDs will only play on an SACD player. If you play it on a regular CD player, you won't experience the multichannel surround sound or high resolution sound that the SACD layer provides. The SACD stereo version on this recording has been both remixed and remastered.
The accompanying DVD, edited down from the Classic Albums version (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00005Q2Z4/qid=1078147727/sr=1-7/ref=sr_1_7/102-9312547-0003344?v=glance&s=dvd), is a standard DVD-Video, so will only play in DVD-video compatible players.
I think this goes to illustrate the level of confusion over formats like SACD. The music induustry needs to get its act together if they want multi-channel formats to survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A jewel in the crown of the "real Queen of England", 2 Aug. 2007
By 
Paul (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (Audio CD)
Definitely one of the best albums that Elton and Bernie have ever done. This was the first really cohesive album, though it covered a fantastic range of styles so well that most other artists couldn't even come close to the breadth of this album. From the out and out prog rock of "Funeral For A Friend" to the absolutely beautiful closing ballad "Harmony", you feel as if you are going on a journey with Elton, Bernie and the band. And this line up was without doubt the best band that Elton has ever had behind him. The rhythm section of Dee Murray and Nigel Olsson was truly magical, and suited Elton's music so well. Not to mention Davey Johnstone who is still an Elton John fixture.

Basically, there are so many truly classic songs on here, that to single out one or two would be just plain wrong. Yes, the album has it's weaker tracks (All The Young Girls Love Alice being a good example),but the quality of the other songs more than makes up. Even though this album is now more than 30 years old, it puts a lot of others made in the meantime to shame - in such ways as lyrics, songwriting craft, and musicianship.

To my way of thinking, this album was only bettered by Elton et al once - on the absolutely sublime masterpice that is Captain Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'ONE OF 'ELTON JOHN'S' TRUE GEMS OF YESTERYEAR', 11 Oct. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (Audio CD)
I owned this on 'Vinyl' when first released way back in the Seventies, brings back a memory or two in truth.
Since when it became lost, always meant to replace it...now many years on i have.
Of course this was recorded in the comparatively early days of 'Elton's' long and illustrious career.
Because it is a long time since i last heard it i'd forgotten one or two tracks, obviously not the hits which included the 'title' track, 'Benny And The Jets' 'Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting' and of course the brilliant 'Candle In The Wind' ( the latter of course was much later re-recorded with the lyric's adapted to honour the memory of 'Princess Diana')
Overall this is a very good album 'Elton @ Bernie Taupin ' of course went on to write some fantastic songs which of course has given 'Elton' many, many fantastic 'hit' recordings....he is one of the 'great' survivor's of the 'pop' scene....his stage show and dress code, not to mention the size of some of the 'spectacles' he's worn, these things along with his music is what has defined his success.
The album is filled with many memorable tracks -
01. Funeral For A Friend / Love Lies Bleeding
02. Candle In The Wind
03. Bennie And The Jets
04. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
05. This Song Has No Title
06. Grey Seal
07. Jamaica Jerk-Off
08. I've Seen That Movie Too
09. Sweet Painted Lady
10. The Ballad Of Danny Bailey (1909-1934)
11. Dirty Little Girl
12. All The Girls Love Alice
13. Your Sister Can't Twist (But She Can Rock'n Roll)
14. Saturday Night's Alright (For Fighting)
15. Roy Rogers
16. Social Disease
17. Harmony
If you like the music and have not got this album in your collection, i'd say...... so worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elton Comes Full Circle, 21 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (Audio CD)
I picked this album up just a few days ago, having wanted to buy it for some time, but never making that purchase. Anyhow, I spent this morning listening to it and, by all accounts, I am very pleased with the full album.

Before buying the record, I knew of the staple songs: 'Candle in the Wind', 'Bennie and the Jets', the title track and 'Saturday Night's Alright (For Fighting)'. One could easily pick all of these songs as their reason for loving this album, and the Classic status that goes with it. Without question, this album is a Classic and, no doubt, the songs mention above contribute to that.

However, from listening to the album, my opinion is that any song could be classed as a winner; they are all strong and, as a result, the album is lovely to listen to in full. Also, with this record, Elton comes full circle, hence the title of my review. What I mean by this is that Elton embraces all aspects of music with this album, it seems, whether it be ballads, slow blues or full-on rockers. He delivers a nice blend of different styles and it really works well for him here.

My personal favourite track is 'Bennie and the Jets', although I really do like them all. In all honesty, Elton strikes gold here and comes full circle; this album is a fine example of great musicianship.

Finally, the sound of the album is fantastic, great value for money. The album comes with a nice booklet, which has the lyrics to the songs and that's always nice.

So, to conclude, I'm really glad I finally bought 'Goodbye Yellow Brick Road'. It is a really good album and definitely worthy of the Classic status it has, in my eyes.

Buy it.

Thanks for reading this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best one!, 27 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (Audio CD)
Other reviewers select Bennie and Candle, but this starts so well with Funeral for a friend that all the songs seem brilliant. Grey Seal, a redo from earlier times is excellent as is Dirty little girl. Of course this is the album that gave us Saturday Night's Alright for fighting, so why wait for any more recommendation! The CD doesn't feel like the original double album. If you can then find one and buy it just for the pictures, but buy the CD for the sound quality. I'v'e been listening to this album since it came out and it often surprises me with new detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
Goodbye Yellow Brick Road by Elton John (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews