Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The birth of Slayer...
A hugely important album in the metal genre, Slayer's debut album has inevitably dated a little, and pales in comparison to their best output ('86 - '94 being the golden years by my reckoning), but is still so chock full of great riffs that it remains an essential listen. The most obvious point to make is that this first album shows Slayer at their least extreme with...
Published on 25 Aug 2004 by Jane Aland

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slayer, but not as we know them!
A great debut for sure, but if you are used to hearing Slayer as they are now, this will come as a bit of a shock?! Very dated now with trebly guitars way down in the mix and bass almost lost (typical of early 80's thrash). There isn't the trademark heaviness that Slayer have now (this came with maturity) and the only tracks that stand out for me are The Antichrist, Die...
Published on 23 Aug 2006 by DD


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The birth of Slayer..., 25 Aug 2004
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Show No Mercy (Audio CD)
A hugely important album in the metal genre, Slayer's debut album has inevitably dated a little, and pales in comparison to their best output ('86 - '94 being the golden years by my reckoning), but is still so chock full of great riffs that it remains an essential listen. The most obvious point to make is that this first album shows Slayer at their least extreme with their metal influences still showing - Tormentor sounds like an Iron Maiden song, and Crionics is identical to the slow chugging thrash of early Metallica - throughout the album drummer Dave Lombardo struggles to get out of mid-pace, with only Final Command pointing the way towards the speed metal Slayer would perfect on Reign in Blood. A few cheesy lyrics and dated metal screams are par for the course in 1983 - guitar-wise however this album really cannot be faulted, and the guitar tones here actually sound better than they do on South of Heaven and Seasons in the Abyss (maybe remastering has had an effect here?). A very strong debut, Slayer would do better in the future but any album containing such classic tracks as The Antichrist and Black Magic has to go down as an essential purchase to anyone interested in the roots of extreme metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A prelude to Greater things...., 26 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Show No Mercy (Audio CD)
Show no Mercy is awesome.
Its raw, under produced, frighteningly imature in its lyrical content, and above all else SLAYER !!!!!!!!!
Everything I've just mentioned there goes for every debut album by the "big 4" of thrash. Its not a bad thing, its a good thing. You either know what I mean coz you've felt the feeling too, or you don't. Any way, it won'y hinder your enjoyment of this great album.
Show no Mercy, every time you put it on (loud) makes you want to get up and thrash around until you can't pogo any more. It has catchy NWOBHM riffing, Tom Araya's high pitched screaming in the most rediculous places, and that fearsome lead work that is just thrown from King to Hannaman like they were playing tennis !!!
Little things that make this album special are the lack of editing out the sounds of fingers rubbing fretboards, or gutiars being prep'd for playing during the intro to songs. Its almost a 'live' feeling on some of these tracks.
And then there is the tracks themselves. Evil has No Boundries opens up the disc with a classic riff, and the stop start drum blasts of Dave Lombardo. Then we get a big Araya scream, followed by Araya basically shouting intothe mic as loudly as he can. It also has a really good "EVIL" mass chorus. You couldn't get away with that today !!!
Every tune on the disc is an anthem. The weakest probably being the title track, only because it doesn't really follow the trend of the album, in that its faster but less riff driven. However, its still great ! With the (now slayer famous) wailing outro !!!
My personal favourite track would have to be "Crionics", just for the riff. But All of these songs are legendary in the thrash world. Black Magic, Die by the sword, The Anti-Christ.... just saying them conjures a golden age of expansive experimentation in thrash/ speed metal.
Yes, like a previous reviewer said, there are lots of Iron Maiden moments on here, and few Metallica ones too. But hey, you got to be inspired by someone! Even Kill 'em All has obvious Mercyful Fate, Iron maiden and Motorhead over tones throughout !
Slayer threw all that out by the next album and started to scare the hell out of the metal world with their own brand of ultra fast thrash. !
A fantastic debut album from one of the Metal worlds all time megastar outfits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best debut album I've ever heard., 7 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Show No Mercy (Audio CD)
Although written in the early eighties, this is one of the defining moments of the beginning of thrash metal. Although some of the more overtly satanic songs seem to have lyrics that are a bit dated, this is more than compensated for by the pure speed metal riffs, oscillating drums and wailing vocals/solos. 15+ years on, this is still a great album. Its not the greatest in sound quality, but the aggression more than makes up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy eighties satanic lyrics?...Yes Please!, 4 May 2010
By 
Xtro Jon (Derbyshire England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Show No Mercy/Digi (Audio CD)
When Thrash was young production was not as high a priority as the energy or the intencity of the final offering. Like Punk before it, thrash was raw and low budget with no frills. You could either take it or leave it but the music was all that mattered. With this in mind 'Show No Mercy' rates an easy five stars.
Sure the production isn't modern but its loud and clear and the raw intencity of the songs and the playing more than make up for the 'cheaper' sound.
Sure the satanic lyrics were a bit corny but come on admit it! We love 'em that way, thats how most early eighties Thrash was supposed to be and we wouldn't have it any other way.
All the "make the world a better place with my serious mature lyrics" ever written cannot replace Tom Araya screaming "I am the Antichrist, its what I was meant to be..." not very thought provoking I know, but good? Oh yes.
Let us not forget also, how many live regulars we have on this album; 'Die By The Sword', 'Black Magic' and 'The Antichrist' have been Slayer staples for years and with good reason.
In short buy this album now because when all is said and done your missing an important and underrated piece of Slayers history if you don't already own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome debut by Slayer its SLAYER how can you not like it?, 16 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Show No Mercy (Audio CD)
This album is awesome and it is obviously influenced by Iron Maiden and New Wave British Heavy Metal but it's the start of thrash metal. In some songs it will remind you of early Iron Maiden easily. This album is different to their later offerings but it's still amazing in my opinion this is better then Seasons In The Abyss & South Of Heaven (though still awesome albums this is better). Every track in my opinion are awesome. I think araya's vocals can be a bit strange sometimes but thats a small minor and his screams are amazing. This is a great place to start your collection of Slayer. If you like any Slayer you will or should like this. This is only the beginning of Slayer they could only get better and they did. SLAYER SLAYER SLAYER!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Slayer album, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Show No Mercy (Audio CD)
Just want to say that i prefer this cd better than Reign in Blood or South of Heaven.
This album is so thrashing and for me it is as same level as Kill 'em All by Metallica.
I can listening to this cd again and again and never get tired.
Until today i've been listening to this on itunes radio or youtube (never download pirate!!), but now can listening to it on my own stereo.
Thank you Slayer for mading this cd 2 years before i was born, and thanks to AmazonUK to send me this cd.
Thrash till Death! \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1983 was a great year..., 6 Jan 2011
By 
Legbamusic (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Show No Mercy (Audio CD)
What can you say about this album? Show No Mercy literally defined what thrash metal was. I remember back in the 80s when I first came across this album: the childish cover and listening to Evil Has No Boundaries for the first time... I was blown away!!! Every single song in this album is a classic. Some are better known than others, but they are all classic tracks. Crionics or Final Command, for instance, never get rated among the top Slayer tracks, but I love them as much as any other song in the album... It is hard to believe today how groundbreaking this was back in the 80s. It remains in my humble opinion simply one of the best albums of all times, regardless of genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slayer's First & Best (Yes, Best), 17 April 2010
This review is from: Show No Mercy (Audio CD)
That's right, I believe this to be better than Reign in Blood. That album is excellent... but quite overhyped these days... this one hardly ever gets a mention and I truely believe it to be a better album.

So, how does it sound? Well, this is Slayer in the early days; the riffs are still very fast chugged thrashy affairs and the drums are pretty all out from the get go. Overall it's a speedy album (Come on, it's Slayer) but it does slow down for a few of the more groovy tracks (Crionics being a good example).

Vocals? It's still very much the Tom Araya we all know and love, but you can hear the youth on this. Is voice is generally higher, and his Rob Halford-esque high pitched screams (like the famous one he does at the start of Angel of Death) come into play alot more on this album. Overall, I feel this makes for a more varied and entertaining performance than on later albums.

I'd recommend this to Slayer fans obviously, to most metal fans who like thrash and to anyone who wants to get into metal generally, this probably isn't too bad a place to start :).

Dom x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slayer, but not as we know them!, 23 Aug 2006
By 
DD (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Show No Mercy (Audio CD)
A great debut for sure, but if you are used to hearing Slayer as they are now, this will come as a bit of a shock?! Very dated now with trebly guitars way down in the mix and bass almost lost (typical of early 80's thrash). There isn't the trademark heaviness that Slayer have now (this came with maturity) and the only tracks that stand out for me are The Antichrist, Die By The Sword and Black Magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary!, 5 Nov 2008
This review is from: Show No Mercy/Digi (Audio CD)
I think that Slayer's debut album is much better than Metallica's. There's scary lyrics. This is true horror music! I really like the songs although this is not produced perfectly. However, the power of songs and the lyrics and especially Tom Araya's screaming voice is absolutely breath-taking! Slayer was defintely the true thrash metal band in 80's, just like Megadeth. Listen to the songs like "Evil Has No Boundaries", "Die by the Sword" and "Black Magic" - they are powerful! True Thrash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Show No Mercy
Show No Mercy by Slayer (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews