Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars22
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2010
There is something beyond the doom laden baritone vocals and garbled lyrics on this classic album , what is it i wonder,well its the sound of a talented young band at the peak of its powers.
Dual guitars slice through the sometimes limited vocals and create walls of sound and atmosphere, there is a whole lotta english melancholy at the heart of this brilliant album.
Singles "Moonchild" and "The Watchman" are examples of what this band could do if the wanted to creep into the charts but its the longer,more experimental pieces that hold the attention, the slow building "Endemoniada" and the lively "Love Under Will".
So much gothic rock from the mid-80's has either been forgotten,neglected or lampooned but this LP shows where gothic rock could go, the 'Fields never made it much further than this but this stands alongside the Sisters of Mercy and above The Mission as a goth classic.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2010
A little too much pathos by Carl McCoy? No, here everything is perfect. The atmosphere, the haunting melodies... a timeless classic. I never listened too much to their other albums. But with this one, goth had one of it's finest hours.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
This is their best album, and a wonderful album it is too. Sublime dark tones throughout, but what I really love about this particular album is it's hypnotic flavour - some dreamy and beautifuly crafted tunes here. They stand alone doing their own thing the best that they can.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Never really liked the nephilim but over the past year have grown to love this band.
the album is fanstastic and would recomend IF you like goth music you will like this album.
take chance you will enjoy it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
This album does not have a weak track. It seemed kinda dark at the first listen but don't let that put you off, tracks like Love Under Will and Watchman will get under your skin and take you to musical navana.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2011
One of my absolute favourite albums of all time, though could do with a remastered version - sounds a quiet and muffled compared to a lot of recent re-releases (by Killing Joke, The The, U2, etc.).
Shepsta
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2002
This album combines 'gothic' haunting vibes with quick, fast metal riffs and drums. The best of both worlds. By far the best song on the album has to be moonchild which starts slow and melodic and then just takes off, a wonderful ride of a song.
This song alone tempted me to buy the album and i've been a firm 'fields of the nephilim' fan ever since. A definate five stars to this album despite the only ever so slighty disappointing song 'chord of souls'. Although over all a truly magnificent album.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
I remember turning in late to work so I could get this album on its release back in the 80s and still got it on 2 formats LP and 12" limited edition .
still have them in my archive but had no turntable to play them on .
the album is brilliant as ever and the crossover to cd is very good too .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2003
Its my pleasure to comment on this album. Ok, first things first, if you dont like this album, you dont like real Rock music. Clear? Good. This is an album that transcends the goth imagery of the Fields origins and emerges as an absolute musical masterpiece that stands up head and shoulders above every alt. rock record ever made, alongside Within The Realm of a Dying Sun by Dead Can Dance and Disintergration by The Cure. It is THAT good. In laymans, its a cross between The Doors, classic Black Sabbath and Pink Floyd and if you have tendencies towards dark, elegant albeit unsettling music then this will soon become your favourite album of all time. No questions people.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
This on its frist time spin!. sent me to heaven. The Nephilim was and still is a magical music. which stood the test of time. This was my 2nd buy of the fields of the nephilim. it was not the last. If gothic ROCK. Is your thing you will buy it. Its also good place to start listening to CARL McCOY AND CO.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£10.19
£9.76

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)