Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light Classical
To celebrate the wonderful side of British light Classical music look no further than this little treasure of a CD. This is a magnificent collection of compositions. There is a strong sense of English style here. The title, Elizabethan Serenade is from the title of a piece included in this set and composed by Ronald Binge. The title also refers loosely to music from the...
Published on 17 April 2011 by Miss M. Potter

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Programme Doesn't Sparkle Enough
Marco Polo has been doing a great job in reintroducing the sort of light music that aficianados of a certain age, such as me, thought would never be revived. It isn't surprising that a sampler CD from the catalogue has appeared at Naxos price. That said, this is rather a mixed bag. It's good to hear the old familiar tunes come tumbling out--the only one new to me was...
Published on 8 Dec 2003 by E. I. Warburton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light Classical, 17 April 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elizabethan Serenade (Audio CD)
To celebrate the wonderful side of British light Classical music look no further than this little treasure of a CD. This is a magnificent collection of compositions. There is a strong sense of English style here. The title, Elizabethan Serenade is from the title of a piece included in this set and composed by Ronald Binge. The title also refers loosely to music from the Twentieth Century and the British light music composed in the lifetimes of Elizabeth the Queen Mother and Queen Elizabeth II. There is particular focus on the formative years of the reign of Elizabeth II. So there is no " John Dowland", Lute music, Galliards or pavans here. Instead we get some familiar tunes from a by gone age made famous through early years of Radio.
There is "by the sleepy Lagoon" by Eric Coates which although written in the 1930s was used on BBC radio as the intro to "Desert Island Discs". Later in the disc we also get London Suite and The Dam Busters March, all by the same composer. Also there is Robin Hood Suite by Frederic Curzon, Bells across the meadows and In a Persian Market both by Albert Ketelbey, Coronation Scot by Vivian Ellis, Sketch of a Dandy and Roses of Picardy both by Haydn Wood and The Westminster Waltz by Robert Farnon. There is also the Little Suite March by Trevor Duncan a familiar tune used for the TV series Dr Finlay`s casebook. There is also Jamaican Rumba by Arthur Benjamin which is an excellent piece. In a Monastery Garden by Albert Ketelbey is unusual with its bird song influence. Ernest Thomlinson is an important British composer and is represented here with his wonderful "Little Serenade" Puffin Billy by Edward White is another familiar tune used as a theme for BBC Children's favourites. Also you can find Tom Jones Waltz by Edward German, Vanity Fair by Anthony Collins, and Marigold by Billy Mayerl. Finally it should be remembered that there is the Elizabethan Serenade and the familiar "Sailing by" by Ronald Binge.

There is a variety of orchestras and performers on this compilation from Naxos. The sound is consistently good throughout the various recordings. Despite the fact that all of the tracks come from other previously released Naxos releases this does make an excellent compilation with a good themed concept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Programme Doesn't Sparkle Enough, 8 Dec 2003
By 
E. I. Warburton "iwarburton_2000" (Prudhoe, Northumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elizabethan Serenade (Audio CD)
Marco Polo has been doing a great job in reintroducing the sort of light music that aficianados of a certain age, such as me, thought would never be revived. It isn't surprising that a sampler CD from the catalogue has appeared at Naxos price. That said, this is rather a mixed bag. It's good to hear the old familiar tunes come tumbling out--the only one new to me was Sketch of a Dandy and I loved it instantly. And I have to admire the way that the overseas orchestras capture the English light music idiom so effectively. But the delightful Vanity Fair sounds much too thin, Roses of Picardy and the Tom Jones waltz really need their words and Marigold would have been far better left as a piano solo than worked up into such an overblown arrangement. There is still much to enjoy here and the price is attractive; but, if you're prepared to spend a bit more, the Ronald Corp collections, which duplicate much of this repertoire, are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing, 19 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Neil Edwards "QAM" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabethan Serenade (Audio CD)
A long way from my Punk Rock band as a youth, finding clasical music a few years ago brought a new sence to the world of music. The tracks on this CD are brilliant, a bit of umph in some of the tracks and chill in others. God save the Elizabethan Queen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A familiar suprise, 16 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Elizabethan Serenade (Audio CD)
I found this CD by accident, as I was looking for the track 'Sailing By'. Frankly its a delight, alot of familar tunes with a romantic classical theme. Buy it, you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elizabethan Serenade, 2 April 2009
By 
A. R. Forber "forber_ade" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabethan Serenade (Audio CD)
Lovely melodic pieces, light in nature and easy listening. Very 'english' and very enjoyable....especially to your typical Radio 4 rather than Radio 3 listener!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not the BBC, 12 Sep 2003
By 
This review is from: Elizabethan Serenade (Audio CD)
An interesting but disappointing selection. If, like me, you have fallen in love with ‘By the Sleepy Lagoon’ and ‘Sailing By’ through long association with BBC Radio 4 and the World Service, then you’ll find these versions flat and cheerless. However, the Slovaks certainly bring something bracing and exotic to ‘In a Persian Market’, which is the highlight of this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality sound., 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabethan Serenade (Audio CD)
As usual with Naxos - great value and good recordings. On hearing Vanity Fair on the radio it brought back memories, so hunted for a decent version of it. A good CD for the car as it doesn't demand too much from the listener. Light music is too often ignored despite its qualities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tide of nostalgia (and I wasn't even around in the 50's!), 14 Dec 2010
This review is from: Elizabethan Serenade (Audio CD)
This is my second copy of this disc! I loved the last one so much that it got scratched, and now I've gone and given this one away to an elderly friend of mine... I'll have to get another. It's got all the Radio 4 favourites, better known as the theme tunes to Desert Island discs and network close down. Plus the Dam Buster's march, in a monastery garden (just needs the addition of Disney Birds), Roses in Picardy. I often put it on through my headphones at work and float away! I can't recommend it too highly. PS when Dam Busters comes on, remember NOT to do the goggle thing with your fingers and make gun noises IF YOU'RE IN A PUBLIC PLACE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars refreshing, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabethan Serenade (Audio CD)
excellent in every way. very refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars reasonable, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabethan Serenade (Audio CD)
nothing to dislike but apart from 3 or 4 tracks nothing to go overboard for either. Ok for putting on in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elizabethan Serenade
Elizabethan Serenade by Eric Coates (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews