Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly reliable and enjoyable performance
Just briefly - I've had this CD of the German Requiem for many years. At its very modest cost it is thoroughly recommendable. The sound is very good, the choir sings with fullness and precision, tempi are well-judged and the two soloists are both fine, particularly the baritone, Edward Tumagian. I've recently lent it to a friend who was singing the work with the local...
Published on 14 May 2010 by hillbank68

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit quiet.
This is a good performance, no complaints there. But it seems very quiet and I have to turn my stereo up a lot to hear it properly, (which then means the next item I play is deafening, if I haven't thought to turn it down again).
Published 10 months ago by Smokey McCarthy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly reliable and enjoyable performance, 14 May 2010
By 
hillbank68 "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brahms/German Requiem (Audio CD)
Just briefly - I've had this CD of the German Requiem for many years. At its very modest cost it is thoroughly recommendable. The sound is very good, the choir sings with fullness and precision, tempi are well-judged and the two soloists are both fine, particularly the baritone, Edward Tumagian. I've recently lent it to a friend who was singing the work with the local choral union ; she tells me that it is a good deal better than her own much more prestigious version, which in comparison she found sluggish and low-key. I don't really know why I am not giving it five stars - only, probably, because there probably are better versions out there. But it is good, avoids the danger of ponderousness, keeps the music moving and does full justice to it. I would recommend it with enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a bit smooth, but great soloists, 17 July 2013
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ein Deutches Requiem (Audio CD)
Can soloists make or break a recording of Brahms's "Deutsches Requiem"? I'm not sure, but they make a difference. Robert Spano's Telarc account has it over Previn in orchestral presence and liveliness of phrasing, and it has a large chorus that sounds very good. Previn's recording sounds a bit more recessed, though the sound is warm and not overly homogenized, and his smaller choir, the Ambrosian Singers, are very good and are recorded without congestion. However, it's a bit slow, especially in the last two sections, and the phrasing is a bit too smooth and uncharacterful, where Spano seems to relish a more deliberate shaping and energizing. But Previn isn't bad at all -- the piece has the right devotional spirit. Most of all, it has perhaps the best exponents of the solo parts on record. Samuel Ramey, the best bass America has produced, is caught here in his prime, and though the part lies a bit high for him, he dispatches it with great tone, great feeling and total confidence. And Margaret Price -- just one of the premier singers of her generation. She has no problem with the wicked tessitura, and her singing allows the listener to hear the shape of the soprano lines, instead of hoping that she'll just get through it. It's a lovely performance, preferable even to Jessye Norman's fine account. Spano's soloists, by contrast, are perhaps the weak spots in his recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grand, transparent and superbly sung, 12 Feb. 2015
By 
Ralph Moore "Ralph operaphile" (Bishop's Stortford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ein Deutches Requiem (Audio CD)
Although I liked the craggy grandeur of Klemperer's conducting in his classic recording, I never much cared for his two soloists so this was the recording I progressed on to, and although my ultimate favourite remains the 1883 Karajan version this has always run it a close second for a number of reasons.

First, although it is quite slow and stately, that permits more transparent textures and Previn cranks it up at crucial moments such as "Aber des Herrn Wort". Secondly, the soloists are virtually perfect: Ramey has the weight of a basso cantante with a baritone's upper extension and sings with enormous authority and pathos; Margaret Price soars ethereally, avoiding any strain despite the murderous tessitura of her solo. The Ambrosians are powerful and sensitive and the RPO as fine as usual; Previn was in his best phase as a conductor. The sound is excellent.

I like many other versions by Levine (two - the earlier is preferable), Masur ( a more propulsive approach); the Karajan recording with the divine Gundula and the marmoreal but mightily impressive Gulini, but in its current bargain issue form, this recording remains eminently recommendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A German Requiem, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brahms/German Requiem (Audio CD)
A steady and measured performance with majesty and power. Superb soloists, good acoustics. I was re-attracted to this work after many years when I noticed it used to good effect in a recent episode of " Endeavour ".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit quiet., 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brahms/German Requiem (Audio CD)
This is a good performance, no complaints there. But it seems very quiet and I have to turn my stereo up a lot to hear it properly, (which then means the next item I play is deafening, if I haven't thought to turn it down again).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brahms/German Requiem (Audio CD)
A chilling piece of music. Used by the BBC to powerful effect in their documentary "The Nazis - A lesson from history".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brahms/German Requiem
Brahms/German Requiem by J. Brahms (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews