Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best voices New Orleans has to offer
Irma Thomas' career started in the early sixties and she is still making records and doing live performances mainly in her local New Orleans area. On this album the focus is on her career in the first half of the sixties when she worked with among others Allen Toussaint and Van McCoy. Irma Thomas is at her best when singing ballads. And their are enough RnB/Soul ballads...
Published on 9 Nov 2002 by Cies

versus
1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
having watched and listened to Irma on the Hugh Laurie dvd I ordered this cd expecting to hear a similiar sound from her but found the cd covered recordings made in the early 60`s when she was quite young . The music was more 60`s "pop " than then blues/soul music that I was looking forward to and since receiving it , it has gone to the bottom of my music pile . Really...
Published on 26 Feb 2012 by doxy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best voices New Orleans has to offer, 9 Nov 2002
This review is from: Time is on my side (Audio CD)
Irma Thomas' career started in the early sixties and she is still making records and doing live performances mainly in her local New Orleans area. On this album the focus is on her career in the first half of the sixties when she worked with among others Allen Toussaint and Van McCoy. Irma Thomas is at her best when singing ballads. And their are enough RnB/Soul ballads on this disc. My personal favorite his her own version of James Brown's "It's a man's/woman's world". As good as Brown's original. Something which can't be said of the Rolling Stones cover of "Time is on my side". Listen to the Irma Thomas' original and you start wondering about where Mick Jagger got the guts from to bring his version on to the market where it is so obvious that his version does not even come to the knees of Thomas'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irma Thomas, 11 Nov 2002
By 
C. Brazier "fizzy-o-tron" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time is on my side (Audio CD)
This collection from Kent is simply awesome, the legendary. Irma Thomas sings on these tracks like a solid gold soul Queen. What is utterly mystifying is that aside from her searing version of "Time is on My Side" these tracks are not very well known. Listening to Irma is an experience like,discovering Ella Fitzgerald, Tina Turner or Billy Holiday for the first time. These songs beautifully encapsulate experiences of deep love, bitterness and defiance in equal proportions. When the rhythm picks up Irma proves she is more than capable of delivering a dance-floor shaker. All hail Irma
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A LUCKY PICK, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time is on my side (Audio CD)
ONE OF THE BEST CD I HAVE EVER BROUGHT, I HADN'T EVEN HEARD OFF THIS LADY BEFORE, SHAME ON ME , JUST GREAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time is on my side (Audio CD)
What can i say a beautiful album,with a good quality of sound
ive listened to this alot and its wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth as silk, 4 Feb 2009
By 
P. Sherrard-smith "Kilgore Trout" (Forest of Dean) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time is on my side (Audio CD)
All that you could want from a classic artist of the genre. Nothing better on these winter nights, to stick on the CD with a glass of wine and let Irma take you to some down town club for low lifes!!
Great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 26 Feb 2012
This review is from: Time is on my side (Audio CD)
having watched and listened to Irma on the Hugh Laurie dvd I ordered this cd expecting to hear a similiar sound from her but found the cd covered recordings made in the early 60`s when she was quite young . The music was more 60`s "pop " than then blues/soul music that I was looking forward to and since receiving it , it has gone to the bottom of my music pile . Really disappointed as she sang brilliantly on Laurie`s dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great CD -, 17 July 2009
This review is from: Time is on my side (Audio CD)
This CD is great except I was looking for the original version of "If Anyone Knows What Love Is (Will Understand) recorded and released on a 45 in 1964 with the opposite side being "Time Is On My Side". The version on the CD is okay just not the original. I will say that the original version of "Time Is On My Side" is on the CD. Other than that the CD is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time is on my side
Time is on my side by Irma Thomas (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews