Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Million Universes Contained Within
On the first day God created heaven and earth. What he did not create, so far as I know, is this fantastic collection of blues-rock-funk fusion tracks, courtesy of David Sylvian, Robert Fripp, and their team. (I should point out that I came to this album as a David Sylvian fan.)

Many of the tracks here open as brash, syncopated rockers, with guitars like...
Published on 26 July 2011 by Nicholas Casley

versus
16 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Raw synchopated Frippery but no hook from Sylvian
We can only guess what was going through David Sylvian's mind when putting The First Day together in 1993. Probably something along the lines of 'it seemed like a good idea at the time'. After all, Brilliant Trees had been innovative and compelling; Songs from the Beehive was a tear-jerking collection of wickedly incisive poems set to folksy melodies; and Gone To Earth...
Published on 17 Jun 2001 by Alistair Dabbs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Million Universes Contained Within, 26 July 2011
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Day (Audio CD)
On the first day God created heaven and earth. What he did not create, so far as I know, is this fantastic collection of blues-rock-funk fusion tracks, courtesy of David Sylvian, Robert Fripp, and their team. (I should point out that I came to this album as a David Sylvian fan.)

Many of the tracks here open as brash, syncopated rockers, with guitars like rhythmic static. But then often the mood over time subtlety changes and new vistas open out. For here we have music hidden within an outer shell. The shell is the hard rock edge, whose lyrics no longer possess as much the literary or aesthetic merit of Sylvian's previous works; instead he sings now of more direct and down-to-earth matters, less suggestive of deeper realities. Those inner realities instead are made manifest - as far as they can be made manifest - within the track's inner instrumental workings, the composition of which develop in a fully-confident way the collaborative work learned by Sylvian from his mentor, Holger Czukay.

Take track three, `Firepower': After its initial warm-up, Fripp leads with a lyrical and warping guitar line. A sudden by subtle break commences a creative weave of immense beauty, gaining depth and power through incessant rhythm and by the sustained lines of Fripp's inspired guitar work. It's a complex weft, like a silken Turkish carpet, a recognisable work of art in its own right but containing within itself a million different universes.

Or take the track five, `20th Century Dreaming': Sylvian intones, "As the river runs, tumbles and turns, you know you shouldn't stay or play the game again. But it could be different this time. You may win", words exhibiting the yearning of millions. But the music's depth conveys their subtle tension as we sink helplessly deeper and deeper into the dream.

The odd man out on this collection is the final piece, composed by Fripp. It's a reflective piece, an edifice of immense beauty, but would perhaps have been better heard in a transcription for orchestra in the meditative style of Arvo Part.

This is an astounding album. The sound quality is top-notch and the percussion especially superb throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Took adjusting to., 9 Jun 2013
By 
Neil Holliday (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The First Day (Audio CD)
As a Sylvian fan, that was my reason for buying this, and being a bit conservative musiacally, the presence of Robert Fripp made me pause before buying. Irrationally as it turns out, as this is a fine CD and well worth listening to. The wonderfull Darshan, all 17 minutes of it, is a real pleasure as it builds to a climax, ans Twentieth Century Dreaming, which gradually fades into a twilit mist, is equally good. I love jean the Birdman, the most obviously pop song on here, and Firepower is a rave. The only track I slightly avoid, is the last one, which sounded a bit like a China Crisis instrumental, but it is an interesting end to a great piece of music. Worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!, 29 Oct 2006
This review is from: The First Day (Audio CD)
This is absolutley wonderful stuff. Much much more than the sum of it's parts. Darshan is hypnotically beautiful and although it is quite long I would be happy for it to go on much longer. Brightness falls is a classic.
Fripp wanted Sylvian to be part of a re-envisaged King Crimson but the latter was not keen to step into those shoes so this became and improvisation based band with fantastic results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I just love it., 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Day (Audio CD)
I chose this rating because David Sylvian's Music is always ACE to me. I would recommend this Album to everyone I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 May 2010
By 
Sminky Pinky "Pab" (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The First Day (Audio CD)
Quite an unusual album , rock orientated, also a bit ambient. I like it and would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Raw synchopated Frippery but no hook from Sylvian, 17 Jun 2001
By 
This review is from: The First Day (Audio CD)
We can only guess what was going through David Sylvian's mind when putting The First Day together in 1993. Probably something along the lines of 'it seemed like a good idea at the time'. After all, Brilliant Trees had been innovative and compelling; Songs from the Beehive was a tear-jerking collection of wickedly incisive poems set to folksy melodies; and Gone To Earth was simply a masterpiece of mind-bending songs and beautiful instrumentals. This time round, it's as if Sylvian thought he'd get back together with Robert Fripp 'for another go' but with a harder edge. The result is some great Fripp fretwork but lacklustre songs from Sylvian that often border on the boring. All credit to Fripp, the reason Gone To Earth had been so good was because so many other musicians had contributed, including the likes of Bill Nelson. Strip them all away, and you have a raunchy but ugly mess of experimentation as Sylvian tries to warble and rattle percussion instruments along to Fripp's evil but aimless riffing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite, 10 Oct 2003
This review is from: The First Day (Audio CD)
When I got this CD I was very disappointed, I couldn't get to like it even though I'm a fan of King crimnson/Fripp and Sylvian.
The performances are very mechanic and passionless.
Get the live version instead called Damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 3 Nov 2007
This review is from: The First Day (Audio CD)
Love this cd! play it loud & you'll love it too.
Jean the birdman - great guitar work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The First Day
The First Day by Trey Gunn (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews