Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2001
I used to listen to this when I was young and the funky sound def made an impression on me. Buying it later in the 90s makes the 80s sound of the whole album stand out. A couple of mingin slushy tunes but overall some decent good girly tunes. Prob the best is opposite attracts, the best known of the tracks. If still you pine for the 80s give this a spin. Good clean fun.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
Love paula abdul altho alot of people my age wouldnt even no who she is iv a strange taste in music after being a choreographer to janet jackson another one of my fave divas who just made me refund tickets for her concert as she has cancelled which im very upset about 😳😳get it together miss jackson!i guess paula decided to go out on her own what an amazing dancer and a great voice true talent,,i wish she had of kept up with her career as an artist or at least wish id been around back in the day to experience her hits first time round,,it would be great if this cd came along with a dvd to show her videos along with the songs as you really do need to see her dance shes unreal,,anyway the cd is well worth it considering the fact i paid 1pence for a used cd which is like brand new talk about a bargin lol thanks so much delighted to add this one to my diva collection xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2007
In the late 80's, Paula Abdul's album was a craze and even had a regular spot on America's Top Ten. I remeber the video clip for Straight Up ; a listenable and very danceable track. The intro to Forever Your Girl was something I used to rewind continuously; was even betterthan the whole song !!!

This is an extract from her biography that shows how popular she was;

It spent 10 weeks at #1. The album eventually became multi-platinum in the spring and summer of 1989 and it spawned five American Top Three singles, four of them #1s: "Straight Up", "Forever Your Girl", "Cold Hearted", "(It's Just) The Way That You Love Me", and "Opposites Attract". Forever Your Girl was the first debut album ever to have four number one singles
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2010
I used to have this album on LP (probably still have in the loft). Downloaded the album and listened to it for the first time in almost 20 years. Really good feel good album that takes me back to my teenage years. Life was much simpler then!

Recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2009
First don't get excited about the ridiculous amount of singles fired into the US stratosphere from this album-she's American so could hardly fail and her viedos were blatantly MTV friendly exhibiting killer dancing. But here is where her only talent lies. She, and no US female artist, ever had anything on the female greats the UK and Europe have produced. Having said that, this is a damned decent workable album that is shocking in its entertainment value. Her voice is weak as water-turning into a ridculous squeal excited. While the dance music is not especially memorable, and lacks atmosphere (always impossible to do without a synth), the heavy beats give the music a kind of power the rather desperate (in places) lyrics need to get you past the 'wince with slight embarrassment' phase.

But the good news is, that while her career mercifully killed itself with her rubbish follow-up, she acheives what Belinda Carlisle never did-a whole album of good material, but it is fair to say at least Carlisle, while no Kim Wilde, could keep the straightforward, unchallenging singles moving. But we're talking about this album and along with the suprisingly tender sway of lovely ballad 'Next To You' (reminds me of Kim's 'Can You Hear It' from 1983-amazing considering the source), there's not an especially weak tune on show, though 'Opposites Attracts' on the album lacks the fun rap of the single version-it works better with it. And some songs are quite strong smart tunes-'Cold Hearted' is a real piece of attitide, with a great dramatic crash!bang!wallop! approach with not a slip in sight (it even prefigures Janet Jackson's 'Black Cat' a year later), 'I Need You' is an intelligent tune with a surprising musical fadeout, including a strident saxophone and 'Straight Up' is just a masterpiece-an elevatory slice of smart lyrics and faultless production. Her voice is sadly weak throughout all tracks, but as the material is so damned good, you barely notice.

If this is a case of style over substance (and it must be), this is an example of where it worked wonderfully, but also, it can only work once, and so it did. Miss Abdul sunk back into 3rd rate celebrity, and is only known now as a surgically enhanced weirdo who pretends she had some huge musical career-(deludanoid!)-who sits by Simon Cowell's side and squeaks comments to others who probably aren't anymore talented than her. But this album means she hit near the bullseye once. So she'll never be a Kim Wilde, Kate Bush, Stevie Nicks or Sandra Cretu, but she won herself a whole album of quality dance-fluff with a large amount of studio wizadry on offer here and that was more than one expects from a white Janet Jackson!
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2003
It's not easy to find an album so complete as this!Paula Abdul shows her great talent in songs like:"Straight Up";"Knocked out" or "The way that you love me".She appears at her best also in a song not so heard:"I need you".It's her best album of all.Buy it now and enjoy an excelent 80's pop album.A MUST!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
bought for daughter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
Now it's ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)