Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1986 classic in sparkling expanded form!
An addition to the ever-growing Cherry Pop range, this is a remastered and expanded version of Cutting Crew's 1986 million seller "Broadcast". Cherry Red have also given the same treatment to 1989's The Scattering, with a new edition of "Compus Mentus" to follow later in 2010.

Front man and main songwriter Nick van Eede (who still performs live shows as...
Published on 25 May 2010 by Jimbo Starr

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars COMPLETELY RUINED!
The remastering of this album is horrendous, it sounds harsh and brittle with far too much top end! Its ruined even more by the inclusion of the three us mixes of AC, OFTMB and IJDIYAT which sound much louder and out of place among the other original tracks.

The part that's completely ruined for me is the incredible bass solo towards the end of "One For The...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. Justin S. Brookman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1986 classic in sparkling expanded form!, 25 May 2010
This review is from: Broadcast (Audio CD)
An addition to the ever-growing Cherry Pop range, this is a remastered and expanded version of Cutting Crew's 1986 million seller "Broadcast". Cherry Red have also given the same treatment to 1989's The Scattering, with a new edition of "Compus Mentus" to follow later in 2010.

Front man and main songwriter Nick van Eede (who still performs live shows as Cutting Crew) has overseen this reissue, contributing in-depth sleeve notes and selecting the bonus tracks. The booklet also includes album trivia, images of original 7" sleeves and band photos. The original European sleeve (with red cover and rubber-stamped images) has been cleverly combined with the Cutting Crew `sawn in half' logo from the 1987 US repackage.

Recording originally began in 1985 after the band (comprising van Eede, Kevin MacMichael, Colin Farley and Martin Beedle) had signed to the Virgin label. Nick recalls in his notes that the band never really fitted into the mid-80s British synth-pop sound, as they were essentially a rock band, with the guitar at its core. "Broadcast" certainly retains a fresh and contemporary sound and is far less dated than many other albums of the time.

The two opening cuts, `Any Colour' and the gloriously uplifting `One For The Mockingbird' (complete with killer chorus), are here in their original US remix form - recent US pressings of "Broadcast" strangely omitted these versions. They were remixed in Hollywood by Shelley Yakus (both feature Hammond organ overdubs by Benmont Tench), the challenge being to come up with even better versions than those on the European release! Extra guitars, keyboards and vocal harmonies were added - the result being a #1 American hit for the other remixed track, the classic `(I Just) Died In Your Arms'. It's the Yakus remix of the latter that is included here, with Tim Palmer's longer 12" remix among the bonus tracks.

Nick van Eede's favourite track here is the ballad `I've Been In Love Before' (a Top 10 hit in the US) which stemmed from the 1985 sessions. A stripped-down and beautifully haunting 1989 live recording of the song from London (previously unreleased) is included as a bonus cut.

Nick says that he remains proud that the band recorded an album that didn't sound like anything else at the time. That said, `Life In A Dangerous Time' (vocally at least) has a Howard Jones feel, while the funky AOR of `Fear Of Falling' bears the same pop-rock sensibilities as some of Mr Mister's output.

Of the final four tracks on the original album, `Don't Look Back' and `It Shouldn't Take Long' are both melodic gems, while the slower `Sahara' (notable for some fine bass and sax playing) demonstrates the diversity of the band's sound. Epic and atmospheric album closer `The Broadcast' sounds, to these ears at least, like Cutting Crew meets XTC with a bit of Tears For Fears thrown in for good measure!

As well as the aforementioned bonus tracks, there's also a live recording of `The Broadcast / Any Colour' (taken from the `I've Been In Love Before' single) and the dreamy soundscape `For The Longest Time' (originally the B-side of `(I Just) Died In Your Arms').

Boasting a crisp remaster from Alan Wilson, this is a superb package which deserves a place in the collection of any self-respecting Cutting Crew / melodic pop-rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trip back to the 80`s, 14 Feb. 2000
By 
This review is from: Broadcast (Audio CD)
This band was without doubt very under rated,on this disc is one of the best songs of the 80`s I Just Died In Your Arms and my personal favourite I`ve Been In love Before,but there are also many other good tracks like Any Colour and One For The Mockingbird...highly reccomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD will blow you away, 11 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Broadcast (Audio CD)
I remember seeing Cutting Crew play a small club in Dublin a few years after this album was released. They played quite a few songs from Broadcast and I can honestly say they were one of the most underrated acts of their era. Excellent songs, well produced and beautifully performed. Buy it, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC ALBUM!, 6 Sept. 2011
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadcast (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic Album from a Band that has a fantastic sound. It has that great 'open-air' sound to it that is so reminiscent of the 80s. The only disappointment for me is the Artwork in this Edition - I preferred the red/orange cover (like the one that's pictured here - but it's not the one you get - you get a grey copy instead - rather dull in comparison to the original...)

Every Track here could have been Single - they're so good - the two major hits; 'I've Been In Love Before' and 'I Juts Died In Your Arms' both should have been Chart Toppers though in my opinion. 'Fear Of falling' has an Intro. very much resembling a hit from 'The Pointer Sisters' called: 'Automatic' from about the same time. (don't know if anyone else had noticed this?)

Fabulous Album - Five Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's Album, 25 Jun. 2006
By 
G. E. Marthews (Nanjing, China) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Broadcast (Audio CD)
Beautiful songs such as 'I've Been in Love Before' should not be lost. This is a classic album from the 80's, by a band which had more to them than their most well known song, 'I Just Died...'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars COMPLETELY RUINED!, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadcast (Audio CD)
The remastering of this album is horrendous, it sounds harsh and brittle with far too much top end! Its ruined even more by the inclusion of the three us mixes of AC, OFTMB and IJDIYAT which sound much louder and out of place among the other original tracks.

The part that's completely ruined for me is the incredible bass solo towards the end of "One For The Mockingbird" which is the albums highlight - It sounds as if its been ironed out in the mix, it has no impact or weight like the original version.

I've managed to source the original 1986 Siren CD release which sounds just like the vinyl version and is much easier on the ear than this dreadful "Remaster"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Broadcast by cutting Crew, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadcast (Audio CD)
I had this album on tape as a teenager and listened to it constantly on my Sony Walkman (those of you who remember the fabulous 80's!) I listened to every track and my fav's are not the ones that everyone would normally expect. Any Colour and Sahara are my all time fav tracks and NOT Died In Your Arms as others have assumed (mainly my hubby and a few close buds) This cd has surpassed all my expectations once again and it was a joy to listen to it after all these years. A truly outstanding album and I would highly recommend it to any Cutting Crew fan or even just a fan of the 80's scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy Remaster, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadcast (Audio CD)
This album always sounded as if it was mastered on transistor radio, the songs still sound great, the remaster has made an improvement. The additional tracks on the CD are brilliant gems. The extra tracks won't come with the AutoRip version as Amazon don't have the license to use them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC ALBUM!, 6 Sept. 2011
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: broadcast LP (Vinyl)
This is a fantastic Album from a Band that has a fantastic sound. It has that great 'open-air' sound to it that is so reminiscent of the 80s. Every Track here could have been Singles - they're so good - the two major hits; 'I've Been In Love Before' and 'I Juts Died In Your Arms' both should have been Chart Toppers though in my opinion. 'Fear Of falling' has an Intro. very much resembling a hit from 'The Pointer Sisters' called: 'Automatic' from about the same time. (don't know if anyone else had noticed this?)

Fabulous Album - Five Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated band, 2 Jun. 2013
By 
K. Butler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadcast (Audio CD)
Had this album on cassette tape many years ago (which I managed to lose). As good as I remember. Must check out some other stuff by them. Great when I saw them live in Leeds too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broadcast
Broadcast by Cutting Crew (Audio CD - 1986)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews