Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars82
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2007
The most beutifull, emotional music score ever written!

This amazing music score has it all, it is extremely moving and powerfull, and the mood suits the film perfectly. The actual film is excellent but there's no doubt that the movie would not be as good without Morricone's masterpiece. How it never won an oscar for Original Music Score i'll never know.

10/10 !!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2009
As a film The Mission is an experiance few will forget.
The soundtrack by Ennio Morricone is wonderful and rivals any other soundtrack ever recorded by anyone.
On Earth As It Is In Heaven is gigantic in it's encompassing of the granduer of the falls and all the beauty of creation.
What follows is almost out of the world.
The only small reservation are the latter tracks which reflect the turning point of the film from hope to tragedy.
There is a small hint of hope at the end of the film which the soundtrack appears to have missed.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 October 2007
Arguably the finest film score ever written, and certainly the high-point of Morricone's illustrious and prolific career. Lyrical and haunting, and infinitely powerful in its simplicity and directness this stands alone as a great piece of music fit to to be judged alongside the classical world's greatest composers.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
I bought this for a friend, only listened to some of the music on iplayer. It's one of those CDs where there is one very good - must have it - track, and the rest are really quite good too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2010
What can I add, nothing really, other than the most beautiful, evocative inspiring music I have heard
on a soundtrack - buy it!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2007
Whether you've seen the film or not, this music is sure to please. The emotions contained in this soundtrack are indescribable; sad, happy, melancholic, uplifting... the words do not do justice to this masterpiece. The music does not need the imagery of the film so can be listened to in its own right.
Switch off the lights, turn up the volume and enjoy. This album is a sheer joy, no matter what mood you are in.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
Bought this particularly for track of Gabriel's Oboe but love the whole album. I thoroughly recommend this album and if you haven't seen the film it is worth seeing
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Mission the original score
This is the soundtrack of the the film the Mission purchased after watching Jack Black talk about the great Ennio Morricone .. well this is a beautiful cd , gorgeous, but this is better listened to when you have the film the mission as you can appreciate it way more .
nice purchase, fantastic music but felt that by watching the film with the music in it I understand/ interpret the music more if you see what I mean !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
Ennio Morricone is one of the best film score composers in the industry, I think.
This score is one of my favourite scores of his.
I would definitively recommend it for those who like orchestral music and film scores.
But even for those who are not familiar with it could be benefited from this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
The disc was just what I wanted - the haunting themes brings the sounds of the location where it was filmed, but also the music and singing that resonated across the forest sounds. Once you hear the themes, they will stay with you - on and on and on ......as though you are there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)