Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, underrated album
The Rolling Stones' last studio album (so far), and its first single, "Anybody Seen My Baby?", created quite a fuss when it came out back in 1997. But it's been sort of forgotten since then, and that's a bit of a shame, because "Bridges To Babylon" is actually a tight, energetic rock n' roll record with several really good moments along the way.

Both the album...
Published on 6 Sep 2003 by Docendo Discimus

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Stones Caught Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
I think as so often is the case with many of the later Stones albums Mick Jagger just seems intent on role playing instead of injecting some sincere passion into proceedings.

'Bridges To Babylon' does have a different sound than the Stones previous album 'Voodoo Lounge' but this isn't due to the fact that the Stones feel invigorated enough to try new things...
Published on 7 Oct 2006 by Jervis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, underrated album, 6 Sep 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bridges To Babylon (Audio CD)
The Rolling Stones' last studio album (so far), and its first single, "Anybody Seen My Baby?", created quite a fuss when it came out back in 1997. But it's been sort of forgotten since then, and that's a bit of a shame, because "Bridges To Babylon" is actually a tight, energetic rock n' roll record with several really good moments along the way.

Both the album and the single went to #3 in the US, and the sultry "Anybody Seen My Baby?" is probably the best song here, but it's far from being the only good one.
"Too Tight" and "Low Down" are solid, swaggering blues-rock. The tough hard rock song "Flip The Switch" is one of the Stones' fastest ever tracks, 160+ beats per minute, and Charlie Watts powers along like a train.
The slow rock ballad "Already Over Me" is moody and highly effective, sporting excellent lyrics and a superb, lean arrangement.
And then there's the swinging, Reggae-sounding "You Don't Have To Mean It", sung by Keith Richards, and the neo-funk of "Saint Of Me". And the soulful ballads "Always Suffering" and "Like A Thief In The Night".

"Bridges To Babylon" is classic Stones without sounding tired. Great production, great musicianship, and three lead vocals by Keith Richards! Not a bad purchase at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The wrinklys greatest moment in recent years, 14 Jan 2004
By 
Sean (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bridges To Babylon (Audio CD)
In hindsight 1995's Voodoo Lounge wasn't quite the all out comeback return to form we were led to believe. Sure it was nice to hear Charlie Watts delivered from the curse of cack handed 80's producers, it was nice to hear the Richards and Wood twin guitar raw and devoid of any brass instrumentation, and it was nice to hear Jagger and Richards deliver some strong material but there was something missing. The Stones have always been at there best when they are daring, yes that old trend follower Jagger is the key ingredient for this to take place. Think Sympathy for the devil with its African percussion or Gimmie Shelter which proved rock and soul where one of the same thing. With Lounge the stones found there feet again, with Babylon they challenged themselves again.

The Stones suitably hired trendy dance producers to give perfect counterweight to there earthy grit. Beneath it's garish sleeve are some of the stones greatest material post Exile On Main Street. Out Of Control and Saint Of Me are both bonafide epics that are simply built for the stadiums, with there long moody passages and anthemic choruses. Low Down has the most generally surprising chorus of the stones entire career and Flip The Switch consists of the kind of riff sitting comfortably along a Watt's drum role that Richards is infamous for.

There are a couple of duff cuts. Suck On A Jugular sees them at there most indulgent though it is good to hear Mick rasp the title, the Keith singles don't quite live up to his Lounge cuts but the weaker tracks are in the minority and there is nothing here as bad as Emotional Rescue.

Bridges To Babylon truly lives up to that ''best album since Some Girls'' tag line the critics have said of The Stones previous two albums, I would go one further and say it is there best album since 1971's Exile On Main Street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridges to Babylon (Audio CD)
one of those albums that passed me by at a turbulent time in my life. I purchased Bridges to make up my Stones collection, and was not disappointed....... stand out track that I cannot stop playing "you don't have to mean it". "Thief in the night" also good and although heard on compilation albums "might as well get juiced" is Mick at his 60's best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Got Me Rocking !!!, 23 May 2001
By 
danthemansmiff@hotmail.com (Maidstone, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bridges To Babylon (Audio CD)
Plenty of good hard rockers ie 'Flip The Switch' enough for the Stones to hang on to their title 'Greatest Rock & Roll Band In The World'. After 35 years they can still turn up genius such as 'Out Of Control' and 'Saint Of Me'. Surely two songs that should rank amongst the Stones best. 'Might As Well Get Juiced' could have fitted well into 'Their Satanic Majestys Request' as 'Always Suffering' could have worn well on 'Goats Head Soup'. Keith finishes the album well with two sloppy romantic ballads 'Thief In The Night' & 'How Can I Stop'. Let's hope the Stones never stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it., 8 July 2010
By 
Michelle Storey "jakey" (lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridges to Babylon (Audio CD)
i bought this album years ago, and unfortunately, lent it out and never got it back. so when i saw it on Amazon, snapped it up again. which i'm doing with all the Stones albums that have disappeared over the years from my collection. Bridges To Babylon was always one of my favourites. i love all the tracks from beginning to end and it's not been off my stereo since i got it. i always love 'Keefs' contribution on the Stones albums when he does lead vocals, and i especially love his "You Don't Have To Mean It." he has a great voice. Mick does a great job on the tracks "Already Over Me." "Always Suffering" and "Anybody Seen My Baby" three of the slower tempo songs on the album, his voice is at its best when he when he puts the emotion in to the tracks. so if you want a great album buy this. compared to the music around today, the Stones definitely stand out after all these years. and will never be 'out of Time.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Stones Caught Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea, 7 Oct 2006
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bridges To Babylon (Audio CD)
I think as so often is the case with many of the later Stones albums Mick Jagger just seems intent on role playing instead of injecting some sincere passion into proceedings.

'Bridges To Babylon' does have a different sound than the Stones previous album 'Voodoo Lounge' but this isn't due to the fact that the Stones feel invigorated enough to try new things it's more to do with the fact they had employed some modern producers (Dust Brothers, Babyface) to give this album a more contemporary feel. Stripped of the production much of the song quality remains fairly insubstantial, however.There are too many routine rockers with cliched lyrics ('Flip The Switch', 'Too Tight' etc.) and too few ballads that are really impressive enough to make a strong impression although once again it's the ballads that have the edge. 'Anybody Seen My Baby' and 'Already Over Me' aren't too bad but it's Keith's charming reggae track 'You Don't Have To Mean It' that is the real highlight. Unlike Mick, Keith does seem to be able to show some genuine warmth when he sings even if he's technically not as good.

Ultimately i think Mick's problem is he's a little too calculating - always looking for musical fads and fashions to impress an audience in place of injecting some genuine emotion. He lacks sincerity.

'Bridges To Babylon' is a more contemporary sounding album if a little overproduced but it remains a question as to whether long term Stones fans really appreciate that modern contemporary sound - and if the answer is no is it strong enough to attract a new audience ?

Probably worth 2.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Impressed, 18 Jan 2008
By 
S. Brady (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bridges To Babylon (Audio CD)
The only track I can say I liked on this CD was How Can I Stop. The rest were OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bridges to Babylon
Bridges to Babylon by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews