Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nude and Rude: an exhilerating trip back to the beginnings of alternative music.
As with Lou Reed, a dip in to the world of Iggy pop will always be fun, and depending on your age it will also be nostalgic or pleasantly educational.
Published 17 months ago by someone

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Cd is very dated
There are four good songs and the rest are not so good. There again I'm not a hard core fan of Iggy Pop
Published 15 months ago by Andrew Clifton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nude and Rude: an exhilerating trip back to the beginnings of alternative music., 28 Feb 2013
By 
someone (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nude & Rude : The Best of Iggy Pop (Audio CD)
As with Lou Reed, a dip in to the world of Iggy pop will always be fun, and depending on your age it will also be nostalgic or pleasantly educational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nude & Rude, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Nude & Rude : The Best of Iggy Pop (Audio CD)
Had researched tracks, delighted with purchase. Everything I wanted from this album.
Great introduction to Iggy and his music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great to revisit, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nude & Rude : The Best of Iggy Pop (Audio CD)
This has everything for the dedicated Iggy Pop fan. Some I had forgotten and were great to revisit. Not a bad track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT INTRO INTO THE WORLD OF IGGY, 28 Mar 2014
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nude & Rude : The Best of Iggy Pop (Audio CD)
For someone new to Iggy Pop/ the Stooges or for a casual observer, this is a good place to start.

It is fairly comprehensive, taking in the best of his early days, the creative Berlin period with Bowie and beyond.

It is not absolutely up to date - there have been many albums since the most recent material here, but it is better than many of the compilations out there that draw from one particular period in his career due to label constraints.

A solid, well thought out offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT, 2 Nov 2011
This review is from: Nude & Rude : The Best of Iggy Pop (Audio CD)
Dont really know what to put about this cd but I LOVE IT! Iggy pops an acquired taste but once youve listened to him i think he becomes addictive.Its suprising how many songs you'll recognise, and didnt know that they came from iggy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Best of' without a duff track...., 11 Nov 2002
By 
This review is from: Nude & Rude : The Best of Iggy Pop (Audio CD)
This album has some superb rocking songs from someone who definitely deserves the term 'cult hero'. Probably best known nowadays for his collaborations with David Bowie, Iggy has amazed observers by surviving a performing career which looked certain to lead to an early demise (you think Ozzy Osbourne is/was a wild man?)
The early Stooges material doesn't really do it for me, although it is generally regarded as hugely influential. For me it's the stuff from 'China Girl' (Iggy co-wrote it with Bowie, and I for one prefer his version) onwards which really works here: the run of songs from 'Kill City' through 'Home' just gets better and better. 'Real Wild Child' was originally, incredibly, recorded by Buddy Holly. 'Cold Metal' is my favourite, its relentless, immaculate guitar riff just embedding itself into your head. 'Candy', where B-52 Kate Pierson shares vocals with Iggy.... This stuff rocks!
If only they'd been able to include his duet with Debbie Harry on 'Did You Evah?"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect package, 23 July 2010
By 
Barry Spall (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nude & Rude : The Best of Iggy Pop (Audio CD)
If, like myself, you have always liked a few Iggy songs but never actually got round to buying any of his material then this compilation is perfect as it covers his career very well and track after track you find yourself realising that you probably should have bought his work before.
Never too late to catch up and this is excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars iggy pop the undisputed daddy of em all, 25 Mar 2004
This review is from: Nude & Rude : The Best of Iggy Pop (Audio CD)
this is where it all started
trace any modern day punk bands origins and they all begin with iggy pop.
a true master, without ever needing to take himself too seriously
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Cd is very dated, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are four good songs and the rest are not so good. There again I'm not a hard core fan of Iggy Pop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half Good, Half Poor, 29 Dec 2010
By 
Brian Le Flem "Farscape Fan" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The songs that you probably know (ie, those that were hits) are obviously really good, so I thought I would take the risk with the rest of the album, but at least half the songs are quite poor, so it's easy to see why some were hits and others weren't. No hidden gems, which I was hoping for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nude & Rude : The Best of Iggy Pop
Nude & Rude : The Best of Iggy Pop by Iggy Pop (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews