Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where were ya?
A lifelong fan of the Sex Pistols and their no-nonsense attitude toward all that they surveyed, I relished the chance to actually attend the gig this CD was recorded from. 12 hours of a summer's day spent in Finsbury Park watching punk bands, some old and some new, topped off by the boys (by that time 40+) doing what they did best. And yes, it was a pay day they wanted -...
Published on 17 April 2007 by That Drummer

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The item was NOT vinyl, it is a cd
The item is so misleading, there is a tiny mention of cd way down the description. I wanted a vinyl LP, not another cd
Published 19 months ago by KEITH BENGSTON


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where were ya?, 17 April 2007
This review is from: Filthy Lucre (Live) (Audio CD)
A lifelong fan of the Sex Pistols and their no-nonsense attitude toward all that they surveyed, I relished the chance to actually attend the gig this CD was recorded from. 12 hours of a summer's day spent in Finsbury Park watching punk bands, some old and some new, topped off by the boys (by that time 40+) doing what they did best. And yes, it was a pay day they wanted - just look at the tour name if you have any doubts!

Live CDs can't always capture the electric atmosphere of actually being there to see the show, but this one does a very good job! Some of the memories of the show may fade, but those down on CD can stay with you. The editing might not be great, missing out some of Johnny's comments and even a couple of songs - they were announced by England footballers Stuart Pearce and Gareth Southgate, who were both asked to give the Germans "No f****ing fun" at the Euro 96 game shortly after by Mr Rotten - but for those that were there, and even those who weren't, this gives a new generation of anarchic anti-Establishment punk musicians and fans the chance to hear the sound of those still-relevant original classics in a modern setting. Once and for all the Pistols prove how they took the late 1970s by the short and curlies, pulled, and shook the world up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "IT'S SINGALONG WITH JOHNNY TIME", 6 Jan 2008
This review is from: Filthy Lucre (Live) (Audio CD)
Received this CD in the post at work and thought I would pop it in the car sound system on the way home for a quick listen, result being that my wife was looking conernedly out of the kitchen window wondering why I was still sitting in the car with an inane grin on my face 20 minutes after having pulled into the drive.
From the crashing opening intro to "Bodies" the boys rocket through this best of collection like a runaway train, gathering momentum as they go,and lifted by an obviously adoring crowds noisy vocal participation.Steve Jones's superb guitar work is more than aqequately underpinned by the throbbing bass and pounding drums of Messrs Matlock and Cook and, whilst Johnny still has the odd problem holding a note, nobody sings with the same level of vehement conviction as this boy. I have a large and eclectic CD collection, and in one listen "Filthy Lucre Live" reduced every other live album in my collection to the status of also rans making me wonder what the Pistols might have achieved if they had not imploded and employed a drug addled scarecrow in place of the vastly more talented Matlock. Whilst musical purists may continue to say that the Sex Pistols are not "real music",any album which generates this much passion, adrenalin and, dare I say it, downright enjoyment epitomises what music is supposed to be representative of and so God Save the Sex Pistols I say, and long may you reign. An absolute 5 star,gilt edged,copper bottomed classic which improves with each listen. Buy it now while you are still young enough to appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 30 Dec 1999
This review is from: Filthy Lucre (Live) (Audio CD)
This album, despite the slating by the so called Rock Critics is fantastic. The Pistols may not be cool anymore but if anything they play and perform better than in their seventies hey day. The band are tight with John Lydon as cutting as ever with his acid comment.
I am biased I love the band and loved the reunion who cares if this is nostalga Rock dont Rock like this any more. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex pistols music, 27 Oct 2012
This review is from: Filthy Lucre (Live) (Audio CD)
I rate this CD very good as its the tour I seen them for the first time as I did not see them when I was a punk in the seventies the CD is excellent good quality well recommended !!
memory lane ........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but could have been better., 8 July 2014
By 
S. RUB "EX-O-cet-4-U" (EXETER, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Filthy Lucre (Live) (Audio CD)
Some quite strong vocals and instrumentation, but could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Filthy Lucre (Live) (Audio CD)
still sounds as fresh & powerful today as they did in their heyday. not many modern bands will be able to say that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Filthy Lucre (Live) (Audio CD)
Was trying to find Sex Pistols live at Brixton 2007 which was on the TV recently and ended up with Filthy Lucre , same songs and just as good. Johhny Rotten is a performer and gives you what you want. You cant get better Sex Pistols than Bodies Live , its disgusting??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great return to form., 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Filthy Lucre (Live) (Audio CD)
I have always liked the Sex Pistols right from 76. I was'nt sure about this,but i need'nt have worried, great sound great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great surprise, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Filthy Lucre (Live) (MP3 Download)
For a long time I have ignored all the Sex Pistols compilations. I still have 'Never Mind the Bollocks..' and 'The Great Rock'n'Roll Swindle' on original vinyl. I wasn't even aware of this concert. But based on the other reviews I went with this and what a great decision. From the opening track, 'Bodies' (which has always been one of my favourite Pistols tracks), it is non-stop energy. Loved the whole concert. I purchased 'Live at the 76 Club' at the same time and much prefer this, later, concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars put away youre blink 182 cd's and play the real mcCoy!!, 3 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Filthy Lucre Live (Audio CD)
this was my very first sex pistols album.in the 13 years i have been alive,i have never heard anything like this.its punk but its just how you want it,aggresive and offensive.i wasnt alive to see sid's attitude(partly why they were so popular) so i love this album purely on the music. if you own nothing by the sex pistols,buy this.it features a lot of 'never mind the bollacks'.when you turn it on you hear a crowd,followed up by agresive punk rock at its best.so,put away youre blink 182 and sum 41 cd's and listen to the real mcCoy,featuring pretty vacant,god save the queen,emi,liar,stepping stones and many more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Filthy Lucre (Live)
Filthy Lucre (Live) by Sex Pistols (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews