Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second album that showed as much promise as the first
I remember well the period of the early nineties - and the sounds that were in my life then. Much of my leisure time was spent clubbing: fast-paced, loud, excitable and generally full-on. It was a good time and the music I heard when I was out was fantastic. But I often felt some "humanity" was missing. During those 'down times' I'd drop Protection onto my record player...
Published on 23 Dec. 2006 by Carey Marks

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should have been released on 2LPs
The reason I'm only giving this album two stars is because it is a review of the sound quality of the vinyl edition of the album, the music itself is worth four stars in my opinion. The first thing I noticed when I played this record was that it was very quiet but luckily my amplifier is powerful enough to be cranked up sufficiently. However, there was a serious lack of...
Published on 17 Sept. 2011 by Rock 'N' Roll fan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Early Massive Attack, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Protection (Audio CD)
I love this album and had a copied version which is degrading, so wanted to replace it. I haven't yet received it but have had an email to say that it's on its way with the other CDs to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Protection (Audio CD)
Classic cd from the electronic 90s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Protection (Audio CD)
Very good and moody tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Head-nodding chill out, with an angelic touch., 4 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Protection (Audio CD)
This album kicks off with what is probably one of the finest trip-hoppy tracks you're ever likely to find: "Protection" featuring the gorgeous voice of Tracey Thorn from "Everything but the Girl". Although the song is undeniably brilliant, it's Thorn's sensual whisperings that really makes the track come alive - it's just gorgeous! The next track is also a cracker - "Karmacoma". An upbeat and clever vocal by Tricky on this one, this album marking his last collaboration with Massive Attack before heading off in his own direction. After this storming start the album doesn't noticeably drop in quality, displaying all the trademark Massive Attack touches, especially vocals by the silver-voiced Horace Andy. The rest of the album is original, inventive and always surprising. Overall, I prefer their first album (Blue Lines) just for it's slightly more raw feel, but this is only a personal preference and "Protection" is just as excellent on an objective level. This is an essential album, for it's quality of course, but also as it marks the departure of Tricky at the time when Trip-hop was beginning to break out of it's Bristol environs and become an international movement. If you don't own this album, buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 19 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Protection (Audio CD)
This album is simply one of the best - certainly one of the best from the '90s. "Protection" is haunting, soaring, moving...... Tracey Thorn's vocals make this song a classic. Good to know that it gets a full 7-minute treatment on the album as opposwed to the 4-minute single version.
Personal favourite is the instrumental "Heat Miser". Beuatiful repetitive melody combined with discordant breathing. Brilliant!
Every CD collection should have a copy of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good relaxing music, 22 Dec. 2009
By 
Mr. John Connell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Protection (MP3 Download)
I downloaded this album after hearing a track on Jazz FM and I have to say I am very pleased, it is perfect chilling music for unwinding after a difficult day at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Protection (Audio CD)
Class sheer class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Protection (Audio CD)
NOT BAD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars none, 27 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Protection [VINYL] (Vinyl)
i am very happy with this product, has arrived in good condition. I buyed it for collection and sound very very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typical massive attack, 27 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Protection (Audio CD)
When I bought this cd, I didn't stop listening to it for ages! If you've only heard 'Protection' - the single, and want more of the same then this is the cd for you. Three, Karmacoma and Better Things are fabulous, and Sly sounds like a James Bond theme, albeit in a good way! Protection is without doubt the best of Massive's albums, and I'd consider buying 'No Protection' to complement it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Protection
Protection by Massive Attack (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews