Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds great
As Keith says in Life: Keith Richards "It was only the early skirmishing, the phoney war. The work itself wasn't bad, somehow; the album did well."

Things might not have been great with the Glimmer Twins at the time of Undercover but they still produced an album with some great tracks.

It won't be the best Stones album for most people and may sound...
Published on 21 Jan. 2013 by andy

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What Became Of The Stones After They Lost Their Muse
I can distinctly remember buying this album in 1983 after hearing the decent single 'Undercover Of The Night' and feeling distinctly underwhelmed. There are perhaps two songs here that are substantial enough to be remembered over the longterm - the single already mentioned 'Undercover Of The Night' and 'Too Much Blood' and the others are so insubstantial it's doubtful...
Published on 1 Oct. 2006 by Jervis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds great, 21 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Undercover (Audio CD)
As Keith says in Life: Keith Richards "It was only the early skirmishing, the phoney war. The work itself wasn't bad, somehow; the album did well."

Things might not have been great with the Glimmer Twins at the time of Undercover but they still produced an album with some great tracks.

It won't be the best Stones album for most people and may sound dated (maybe not standing the test of time as much as Exile On Main Street [Remastered]or It's Only Rock 'N' Roll from a decade or so before)...

But this is one I am still listening to three decades on from when I first played it.

It sounded great then, and listening to it today on cd it still sounds great.

Track list

Undercover Of The Night
She Was Hot
Tie Me Up (The Pain Of Love)
Wanna Hold You
Feel On Baby
Too Much Blood
Pretty Beat Up
Too Tough
All The Way Down
It Must Be Hell

Keith, as well as giving us some great riffs plays some nice bass on Pretty Beat Up.
Pretty Beat Up is a great (Ronnie Wood) Stones Track that Mick and Keith didn't want to include on the album (allegedly) -why? Check out Ronnie's version on Slide on Live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What Became Of The Stones After They Lost Their Muse, 1 Oct. 2006
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Undercover (Audio CD)
I can distinctly remember buying this album in 1983 after hearing the decent single 'Undercover Of The Night' and feeling distinctly underwhelmed. There are perhaps two songs here that are substantial enough to be remembered over the longterm - the single already mentioned 'Undercover Of The Night' and 'Too Much Blood' and the others are so insubstantial it's doubtful they could be remembered even the following day.
It's best to think of 'Undercover' as what happened the morning after the night before because this was the first album in a series leading right up to the present day that represents the Stones after they lost their muse.
Every song on this album not already mentioned is a shortterm pleasure (which is perhaps better than being no pleasure at all) - it's ultimately sketchy, underdeveloped and insubstantial where the most exciting aspect is the title of the songs themselves - 'Pretty Beat Up', 'All The Way Down', 'Tie You Up', 'She Was Hot' etc.

Possibly worth a 2.5 though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undercover (Audio CD)
1980's Stones is sometimes a bit dodgy but this is really great - they make the Dub, Reggae & Afrobeat influences really work - the title track still sounds amazing and She Was Hot is a great song - though it's the live version on Shine A Light that's the definitive one - and hearing Mick ramble on about the kind of films he likes in Too Much Blood is pretty funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stones 80's, 19 May 2003
By 
Mr. D. Mccluskey "Danny McCluskey" (Sun Soaked Kilmarnock) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undercover (Audio CD)
A good rocky stones album which sounds very modern considering it's 20 years old . A interesting mix of blues , soul and rock making all songs on this album quite different from each other and listenable over and over again . Richard's song on it is as usual class and very powerfull . Too much blood is not only a good upbeat song but is also a good laugh in parts ; especially when Jagger describes his coversation on the Texas chainsaw massacre . A mixed bag of songs that complement each other perfectly , along with Steel Wheels this is their joint best 80's album .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Freshest Sounding Stones Album, 20 April 2008
By 
B.A.S. (watford, herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Undercover (Audio CD)
The late sixties and seventies albums are considered the classics, but this is the most modern and fun sounding stones of the lot. The blend of the choppy grittyness of the Stones guitars and Jagger's knowingly dark vocals with the dancey rhythms of Undercover, Tie You Up, Too Much Blood and Pretty Beat Up is really powerful and modern sounding, something you just don't get with the classics.
It sounds way more contemporary than Tattoo you - which is still a great album, mind.
There aren't many albums from the 80s that sound as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-mastered realy works, 30 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undercover (Audio CD)
This re-mastered Rolling Stones cd is so much clearer and louder that the old cd . I just have to tell people to go and get these re-mastered cd .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hi a Review for the Rolling stones 1983 album 'Undercover', 7 May 2013
By 
Mr. J. J. Lane (Taunton, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: UNDERCOVER (Audio Cassette)
Hi a very Great and cool Album. i remember when this Album came out and my male friend at Comprehensive school played it to me at His home. They are using new Technology really well my favourite tracks are 'Too much blood' and 'It must be Hell'. Audio cassettes are very Good, the warmth and freshness etc. with thanks and best wishes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top form, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undercover (Audio CD)
The Stones probably at he peak of their powers. Awesome collection of songs. Mr Richards guitar work will lull you into another world. If you only ever get one Stones album, then this has to be it. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting ,funny,different stones album.., 22 May 2011
By 
C. J. Moore "bjones lov child" (NORWICH, NORFOLK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undercover (Audio CD)
i think people are judging this album on sticky,exile ect.
80% of this album is crazy up tempo stones..
i wish the last five stone albums would be as mad and crazy as undercover..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNDERRATED UNDERCOVER, 30 Dec. 2010
By 
This review is from: Undercover (Audio CD)
Obviously this album isn't as good as anything in their 1968-1972 golden era, and it's not as good as 'It's Only Rock'n'Roll', 'Some Girls' or 'Tattoo You'.

Truthfully, I'm only giving this five stars to lift the average rating because it is a seriously underrated album.

Clanging guitars slash across dub reggae production. Jagger spits bile and venom, and Watts is in the pocket on every track.

The sleazy sax on the 'Pretty Beat Up' jam is really worth the price of entry alone. And on the brilliant 'Too Tough', Jagger seems to be having a sneaky dig at Bill Wyman's taste in women..

"I was married yesterday to a teenage bride,
I know it's only physical but I love her deep inside"...

Check out Charlie's drumming on this track, and on 'All The Way Down'. The band members may've been arguing, but they were still on the money.

Do not be denied. 'Undercover' is more satisfying listening than just about every other LP released in the same year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Undercover
Undercover by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews