Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars38
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

As has been mentioned elsewhere, 'Tattoo You' was constructed from various odds and ends, unfinished backing tracks and studio material dating back to the early seventies. Not, one would think, the ideal basis for a record, but 'Tattoo You' confounded its lineage by actually being one of their finest albums of the 'Ronnie Wood' era. With one side being rockers, and the other being ballads, it actually works beautifully. The first single from the album, 'Start Me Up' was a sublime rocker from its opening Keef-chords through to its assured Jagger vocal and the rhythmic axis of Watts and Wyman in great nick. 'Waiting On A Friend', a less successful single follow-up, is one of their finest, most thoughtful of songs, and the spooky vocal on the ethereal 'Heaven' is one of their best recordings, and proof that the Stones could still produce a genuine surprise, even this long in the game. The long version of 'Slave' is terrific, too, and this remastered version (as has been mentioned elsewhere) cleans up the bass and drums a treat - it does feel refreshed. Well worth the (re)investment, despite the shortcomings of the reissue's sleeve.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
I bought this to replace my vinyl copy bought 32 years ago. Side A is exclusively Rock & Roll and side B exclusively balads. Quite an innovative idea but it works rather well. The material ? Excellent !
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Several classic Stones tracks on this album. Particularly the slower songs on side two - waiting on a friend, tops and worried about you. best Stones album of the 80's and 90's until a Bigger Bang in 2005.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2008
I feel that this album is very underrated, tracks like Hang Fire/Worried about you and Neighbours are not given enough credit and little T N A is one of Keefs best.
Also waiting on a friend is a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2000
1981-and we all know what that brought about. Drum machines, disco ect. This Stones album absorbed disco's punchy bass lines and fused them with rock so effortlessly it still sounds fresh way after disco has gone past. This is a classic through and through. Start me Up, Hang Fire, and Waiting on a Friend are tracks we all have heard. The rest are slower tunes, except for the rowdy Neighbors. Mick's voice sounds a bit sleazier. When mentioning the golden era of the Stones, Tattoo You, along side Black & Blue are also included. There are no diversions into different styles here, as on Some Girls or Black & Blue. It's pretty much a coherent, but constant thing. When I listen to Waiting on a Friend, I'm always left asking; whom are they trying to fool? Boy, they are the loneliest band in the world!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
For me its one of my favourite stones albums-def the most consistent ,not a bad track on here.Nice playing from wayne perkins too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
Crystal dirty sound!
The titles are printed very small, I would like some extra information, but it is still a great record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2006
Although the 11 tracks were all leftovers from previous sessions, TATTOO YOU is the best of the Rolling Stones albums that they put out in the 1980s, and its also the last decent Stones album.
It starts on an excellent note with 'Start Me Up' (the last great single the group released, and also ends on an excellent note with 'Waiting on a Friend'. The original vinyl could be classified into a rock n' roll side (side one) and a ballad side (side two). Which is better is a personal choice. The first side starts off well but then runs out of steam at the end with 'Neighbours', but the other 5 tracks are mostly decent, and 'Slave' is superb. The ballad side suffers from a couple of weak tracks, most notably 'Heaven' and 'No Use in Crying' but the rest is good.
Apart from the above mentioned three tracks this is a good Stones album overall and the digitally remastered cd provides enhanced sound quality. While not their best and nowhere near the the likes of 'Sticky Fingers' or 'Exile on Main Street', it equals or perhaps betters 'Some Girls', and is also much better than its predecessor 'Emotional Rescue' and also the later albums that followed (starting with 'Undercover').
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
Great songs! Brought back memories and I needed some new songs for my workout routine! I am sorted now for the gym!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
A great Cd which should be played every day. It was easy to source and I look forwards to playing the tracks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.99
£5.99
£5.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)