Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, and one of his best ever
The breathtaking feature of this album, which was recorded by Scaggs with Ricky Fataar and some session aces, is its versatility and genre-hopping.

The CD starts with a straight-ahead, almost retro rock track ("You Got My Letter"), then moves into leather-jacket rock with the Springsteen-esque title track.

Thereafter, we are treated to an...
Published on 17 May 2006 by Friendlycard

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some change
just needed another copy. slight damage to cover but what the hell
,dont play the cover.
Published on 9 Nov. 2010 by Santapod


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, and one of his best ever, 17 May 2006
By 
Friendlycard (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Some Change (Audio CD)
The breathtaking feature of this album, which was recorded by Scaggs with Ricky Fataar and some session aces, is its versatility and genre-hopping.

The CD starts with a straight-ahead, almost retro rock track ("You Got My Letter"), then moves into leather-jacket rock with the Springsteen-esque title track.

Thereafter, we are treated to an Eagles-style ballad, "Sierra", which matches any Eagles song ever, some "in the heat of the night"-type rock, and even country. The latter is normally a genre which I dislike, but Scaggs makes it work.

Sheer versatility, sheer talent, such panache, and richly deserving of all five stars. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer quality, 12 Aug. 2003
By 
Andrew Corless "luggy" (Northern France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Change (Audio CD)
I bought this CD because I have loved "Lido Shuffle" since it was a big hit in the 1970s when I was just a teenager, but I knew absolutely nothing else at all by Boz Scaggs. I have to say I have rarely had such a pleasant surprise: if you like intelligent R&B and singers like George Benson, Steve Miller, and Billie Paul you'll love this. Boz Scaggs has a wonderful voice with a range that was barely touched on in "Lido Shuffle"; it's the perfect CD to play in the car or at home late at night with the lights down low. Favourite songs for me would be "I'll Be the One" and "Sierra" but really there isn't a filler track among them. Buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As ever Boz Scaggs at his best, 22 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Some Change (Audio CD)
Boz Scaggs has never written, sung or played a bad song. This cd is full to the brim of his excellant musical and vocal talent. He never fails to hit the spot.I have listened to this over and over again. Sierra is such a lovely balade,I'll be the one is a stormer of a song.It all just flows together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classy and Eclectic, 13 May 2010
By 
Mr. M. Rogers "Dodgers" (Bristol, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Change (Audio CD)
Never one to stint when it comes to production values, Scaggs has come up with the goods again here. The eclectic choice of songs suits his mellow and flexible voice and the standard of session musicianship is exemplary. A classy product from a classy - and vastly underrated - singer/songwriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Change (Audio CD)
A superb album by a hugely talented and entertaining artist. Not a disappointing track in this collection of a representation of his songwriting and performing talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 12 Jan. 2013
By 
HMW "Helen" (Plwmp, West Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Change (Audio CD)
Bought this as I had heard the track SIERRA and liked the guy's voice. Have not been disappointed by the CD - its brilliant - easy listening and very much like the' old style' R & B. Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Late Convert, 8 July 2014
By 
David Hough (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Change (Audio CD)
Listening to Middle Man but writing about Some Change. I'm a late convert, it's like I've always been looking the other way, but I'm right there now. What a vocal range, what a writing range, love the drummer (essential), love the opening You Got My Letter, love the slows Sierra and Lost It, great finish, ten finely crafted songs for endless listening pleasure.It's a product of the seventies realised in the nineties and it's timeless. Can't get enough, by 'em all!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album/great voice., 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Change (Audio CD)
this album never sounds dated,it still sounds as good as when first released.Track Sierra outstanding.A masterpiece of song writing.Beautiful guitar work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic CD, 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Change (Audio CD)
A fantastic CD. I like this just as much if not more than Silk Degrees. Nice variety. Just great for an evening listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice mix., 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Change (MP3 Download)
I like the variety of this album, a nice mix of soul and almost rock like beats. Nicely surprised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Some Change
Some Change by Boz Scaggs (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews