Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful
Encore - Trangerine Dream once again deliver, with over 70 minutes of pure joy this is another essential TD masterpiece. Yes, so the recording isn't particularly great but I think it adds to it's atmosphere and reminds the listener that this was performed live (astonishing considering the crude synthesizers back then) way back in 1977, before I was even born. Encore,...
Published on 11 Feb 2002

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album - abysmal remaster
This is one of my favourite TD albums, along with Ricochet and Logos Live. I've grown up with this album, and know every nuance. Unfortunately the (well intentioned I'm sure) attempts to clean the album up have resulted in the life being strangled out of it. This album is characterised by a level of hiss/buzz which were on the master tapes. If you try and clean it up you...
Published on 22 Jan 2002 by Deckard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 11 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Encore (Live) (Audio CD)
Encore - Trangerine Dream once again deliver, with over 70 minutes of pure joy this is another essential TD masterpiece. Yes, so the recording isn't particularly great but I think it adds to it's atmosphere and reminds the listener that this was performed live (astonishing considering the crude synthesizers back then) way back in 1977, before I was even born. Encore, along with Phaedra, represent Tangerine Dream's greatest achievements. Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another spectacular TD live set, 26 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Encore (Live) (Audio CD)
"Encore" presents four live sets from Tangerine Dream's tour of the USA in spring 1977. A double album in its original vinyl incarnation, this single CD contains some 71 minutes of music in total, making it better value for money than other earlier Tangerine Dream releases. The four tracks presented here cover a good selection of the band's live styles of the day, bearing in mind that Froese, Franke and Baumann habitually improvised nearly all of their live concerts. It is also something of a landmark album, being Peter Baumann's last with the band-he left to pursue a brief solo career about six months after this tour.
Following the on-stage introductions, 'Cherokee Lane' opens the disc with some characteristically massive bursts of synthesiser noise. These subside into some almost Gothic-sounding organ chords, out of which a pulsing sequencer beat emerges (to the obvious delight of the audience) to accompany what turns out to be essentially a long mellotron improvisation. Increasing layers of sequencer patterns gradually crank up the intensity around the main mellotron line, as the band members start to pass the melody around, building (in the best TD live tradition) an hypnotic weave of singing mellotron and synthesisers.
The second track, 'Monolight', begins with a lengthy solo piano passage, with synthesiser harmonisation and then some dramatic eruptions of reverberated percussion, out of which a jaunty synthesiser tune starts things moving along a little faster. Gradually, the track evolves into an extended live rendition of 'Stratosfear'-the main tune emerges quite magically from the new material about 11 minutes in-with parts of "Sorcerer" thrown in. The meditative closing duet from 'Invisible limits' then emerges to bring this 19-and-a-half-minute set to a finish.
'Coldwater Canyon', which follows, provides Edgar Froese with lots of opportunity to show off his guitar-playing prowess, in a lengthy guitar improvisation played against a fast, brittle sequencer-driven pulse. This furiously paced track is very suggestive of parts of "Ricochet" in its intensity. The final track, 'Desert Dream', on the other hand, is a gentler and more contemplative (if darker) dialogue between mellotron and synthesisers-and a lovely growling bass line-very reminiscent of Tangerine Dream in their earlier 'cosmic' period. As ever, though, strands of newer material drift through from time to time, once again suggestive of parts of the "Stratosfear" album. Long time fans will also notice a trademark TD ending!
When this album was first released, it was obvious that advances in Tangerine Dream's sound generating gear were not being matched by corresponding improvements in sound recording equipment, as much of this music was all too conspicuously marred by overloaded tape and other problems. This remastered edition has removed many of the worst examples of these-although the price to be paid is that some quite heavy filtering has had to be applied in places, resulting in a generally muddy sound quality throughout much of the disc. Additionally, the use of on-stage microphones results at times in more audience noise than you usually get in a TD live recording, although this is never bad enough to be a distraction. And, of course, it does add to the live ambience-especially with the way it has been carried right through the inter-track gaps, giving the impression of a single non-stop concert performance. Generally, then, this edition is much to be preferred over the earlier releases and can be recommended without reservation.
All in all, this is undoubtedly another indispensable item for the Tangerine Dream enthusiast's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TD's best ever??, 27 Oct 2003
This review is from: Encore (Live) (Audio CD)
I have fond memories of buying this album on vinyl as a teenager when it first came out in the mid-70s. Record shops were very conservative in those days and I can remember finding this album in my local shop - having only recently discovered TD - and asking them to play it over the shop's sound system.
I have to admit to being embarrassed at the strange sounds that began to emanate from the loudspeakers and running out of the shop long before the strong Red Indian melody of 'Cherokee Lane' erupted out of the slow-building crescendos and sequencer lines that follow the cacophonic opening.
This album has never been easy-listening - TD albums seldom are - and yet, for me this album is one of the most satisfying the band has ever produced. Occasionally painful on the ears, it rewards the patient listener - I did eventually have the courage to buy it on a subsequent visit and I have recently added a CD version to my vinyl copy - and I have never failed to be rewarded by this live album.
This is an essential buy for every TD fan - as are all works from this era - and one that will grow on you the more you listen to it.
I think this album - if not their greatest work - certainly best epitomises Tangerine Dream. There is plenty of agony and the moments of ecstacy are pretty much unsurpassed on any other early TD album - even musical references on 'Stereolight' in Dream Mixes 3 send shivers down my spine.
Play this album when you have plenty of time. Put on your headphones, turn off the lights, turn up the volume and listen without interruption. The musical journey will be a torturous one at times but the stop-off points along the way will make it all worthwhile. When the final destination is reached - there you will find ecstacy!
Encore! Encore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album - abysmal remaster, 22 Jan 2002
This review is from: Encore (Live) (Audio CD)
This is one of my favourite TD albums, along with Ricochet and Logos Live. I've grown up with this album, and know every nuance. Unfortunately the (well intentioned I'm sure) attempts to clean the album up have resulted in the life being strangled out of it. This album is characterised by a level of hiss/buzz which were on the master tapes. If you try and clean it up you take with it a lot of the power and dynamics. It's most evident on track 2 Monolight - it sounds totally wierd, the sound ebbs and flows like on a bad bootleg tape. Buy this album yes, but hunt down the original CD release - it's totally fantastic and a world better than this remaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic TD, 26 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encore (Live) (MP3 Download)
Apart from the albums Poland and Livemiles, Encore is one of Tangerine Dream's best live performances.

The album was released in 1977 which of course means that the listener is treated to the brilliant overlap period which includes hints of the recognisable ambient surrealism typical of their early albums and which introduce the more modern, recognisable Tangerine Dream that most are familiar with.

For example, the first track, Cherokee Lane comprises three minutes of ambient prelude before the signature pulsing rhythms begin to slowly introduce themselves, developing into a marvellous listening experience.

The great thing about Tangerine Dream is that most of their albums comprised tracks that were often between 15 and 20 minutes long. Tangerine Dream's music is meant to be 'listened' to, and the fact that the tracks are of a reasonable length allows the listener to become immersed in the music.

Encore is a classic album that should exist in every Tangerine Dream collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bravo!!!, 29 Sep 2007
By 
Stotty (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Encore (Live) (Audio CD)
Tangerine Dream don't just release bog standard live albums that regurgitate old album tracks. The Tangerine Dream live experience, especially in the 1970s was totally unique. A Tangerine Dream live show would comprise of specially written pieces, and improvised jamming, every now and again reprising the odd theme or tune from a previous album.
By 1977, Tangerine Dream had gone from cult college/university favourites, to a bona fide, genuinely successful commercial outfit with an increasing worldwide fanbase that could sell lots of albums and put bums on seats. They had also enjoyed considerable success with their first major Hollywood soundtrack, providing music for William Friedkin's thriller, 'Sorcerer'. This was an area the band would exploit, especially in the 80s, when they would become one of the most sought after soundtrack experts.
'Encore' shows the band taking advantage of some success in the USA and unleashing the full on Tangerine Dream live experience on the all too willing American public.
'Encore' is a fitting end to this era of the band. Upon Peter Baumann's arrival in Tangerine Dream, they had taken big strides both musically and in terms of popularity. However, Baumann would leave the group by the end of the year.
'Encore' is a fitting tribute to how much the band had expanded as it seems to draw on everything that they done thus far. The first two tracks 'Cherokee Lane' and 'Monolight' represent very much the bands more streamlined approached with new musical passages that reveal sections of the 'Stratosfear' and 'Ricochet' albums with bits of 'Phaedra' and 'Rubycon' thrown in for good measure.
The next two tracks 'Coldwater Canyon' and 'Desert Dream' draw very much on the group's early style with lots of improvised, almost tuneless jamming, yet being seemingly able to create moods and atmospheres that must have left their audiences transfixed.
'Encore' would not be my album of choice to ensnare new listeners to the delights of Tangerine Dream. It is a very hard going album as it is a double live set comprising of tunes lasting at least sixteen minutes plus.
Having said that, it's a more accurate snapshot of the band's live show than 1975's 'Ricochet' which in all fairness was a studio album masquerading as a live record.
It is an era ending album that would lead to a short period of uncertainty before even more worldwide success.
Dim the lights, light the joss sticks, switch on the lava lamp and enjoy Tangerine Dream at their most traditional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Ones Are the Best, 25 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. J. A. Reeks "JAR" (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Encore (Live) (Audio CD)
This CD is one I've had on tape for a long time. It's one of my old favorites, so I thought it's time to own it on CD. This is Tangerine Dream at their best. This is an album for chilling out to. Four tracks that take you on several different journeys in each track. The track that made me pay attention to this album when I first heard it was Monolight. From that point onwards the album grew on me.
I some how remember it sounding better than this,(on the sound quality front) but that's time for you, and I think we got used to good quality recordings these days, even on live albums. This CD, Rubycon,Stratosfear, Force Majeure,and Phaedra are all must have CD's if you like Tangerine Dream. They're are a lot more good albums, but these ones take me on a trip dowm memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb music, TD at their height but appalling sound quality, 19 Sep 2005
By 
Art (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Encore (Live) (Audio CD)
This album captures Tangerine Dream at a superb period in their career. Fantastic soaring other worldly melodies. BUT the transfer to CD rather than improving the sound seems to have made it worse. I agree with the other reviewer who says it seems to "pump" up and down in volume like a badly encoded mp3. The sound also seems quitely badly distorted too, almost unlistenable in parts - very disappointing.
I too will be searching high and low for the original vinyl LPs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tangs 1977 American tour, 29 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Encore (Live) (Audio CD)
"Encore" is one of my favourite Tangerine Dream albums. It was assembled from hundreds of hours of tapes recorded during their 1977 American tour. Track 1, "Cherokee Lane" is a perfect example of Tangerine Dream`s mid 1970`s work, lovely atmospheric mellotron washes, burbling sequencers, a generally eerie feel to the music.It is a montage of 3 or 4 versions they played during the tour. It is rightly regarded by many TD fans as one of their top 5 tracks. track 2 "Monolight", was recorded at the Lisner Auditorium, Washington, on april 4th 1977 and is another excellent piece, with extracts from "Stratosfear" and "Sorcerer" swirling in the mix. Track 3 "Coldwater Canyon" is a vehicle for Edgar Froese to strap on his Gibson Les Paul and deliver his longest and possibly most psychedelic guitar solo on record - all good stuff!.TD fans have questioned whether or not this is truly a live recording, but Edgar Froese has gone on record saying that it is and was recorded on one of the dates during the latter part of the tour. track 4 "Desert Dream", is my favourite track on the album and the most unusual. It is a montage of unused material, some live, some studio, pieced together to form a very eerie piece of work. There are extracts from the unreleased "Oedipus Tyrannus" epic recorded for the chichester festival in 1974, industrial noises, sequenced sections and, right in the middle, sandwiched by disturbing synth sounds, the most beautiful, moving piece of music you have ever heard, performed by Edgar and Peter on piano and mellotron (the modern TD have played this section in concert many times naming it "Desert Dream"). To me this track is an indication where TD might have gone if it weren`t for Peter Baumann`s departure. "Encore" truly is one of Tangerine Dream`s finest works and is thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning live album, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encore (Live) (MP3 Download)
I've had a vinyl copy of this album for decades - but you can't play it in the car! This is, in my opinion, the best live album by Tangerine Dream in their Franke/Froese/Baumann phase. Elements of Ricochet & Sorceror abound alongside new sections such as the haunting minor theme in Monolight and the reprise of Stratosfear - with its beautiful electric guitar theme over another stunning piece of driving piano.
This is one of those albums that is best played whilst driving solo on a motorway, late at night (preferably with a full moon) veeeeery loud - or at a relatively low volume by candlelight with the one you love!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Encore (Live)
Encore (Live) by Tangerine Dream (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews