Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eh?
I have just recently taken the plunge and purchased this album,albeit at a much lower price than average,and don't really understand the one star whinging!A couple of weak tracks granted,but it is still Sabbath,and Tony Martin is still as powerful on vocals,as Toni iommi is at riffage!
Published on 7 Feb 2012 by Mr. G. K. Warnock

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT AS BAD AS THEY SAY
It can't be denied that Forbidden has a pretty bad reputation. Many people and websites will tell you that this 1995 effort is Black Sabbath's 'worst' studio album. However, being the 'worst' Sabbath album doesn't mean that it's a bad album in itself... just not great when compared to some of Sabbath's earlier stellar offerings! It may seem rather uninspired and contrived...
Published on 26 Jun 2009 by SML3000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT AS BAD AS THEY SAY, 26 Jun 2009
This review is from: Forbidden (Audio CD)
It can't be denied that Forbidden has a pretty bad reputation. Many people and websites will tell you that this 1995 effort is Black Sabbath's 'worst' studio album. However, being the 'worst' Sabbath album doesn't mean that it's a bad album in itself... just not great when compared to some of Sabbath's earlier stellar offerings! It may seem rather uninspired and contrived in places, especially on first track The Illusion Of Power, but the band (the 1990 Tyr-era line-up reunited) do manage to produce some very good, powerful songs such as Get A Grip, I Won't Cry For You and Kiss Of Death. Tony Iommi's guitar work is top-notch as always and Tony Martin gives a fine (if not as good as on 1994's Cross Purposes) vocal performance. If you're an exclusive Ozzy and/or Dio devotee, Forbidden probably isn't for you. If you're new to Sabbath, there are far better albums to start with than Forbidden. However, if you're willing to approach Martin-fronted Sabbath with an open mind and/or enjoyed previous Martin releases, Forbidden is worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a listen, 8 April 2013
By 
Varian Beauregard (Le Jardin d'Angleterre) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Forbidden (Audio CD)
If this is Black Sabbath at their worst, then Black Sabbath at their worst can still be good! Sure there is nothing groundbreaking about it and it is not very heavy but it is not the complete stinker some believe it to be. This is a solid rock album with some memorable tunes and some good lyrics. I am really talking about the first 4 songs, which are great. Unfortunately, this album really looses its way in the middle but then increasingly starts to recover as it nears the end. In fact, if you took the (still utterly amazing to this day) first song away from the "Black Sabbath" debut then I would rather listen to this album than that one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eh?, 7 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. G. K. Warnock "Big G" (YORKSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forbidden (Audio CD)
I have just recently taken the plunge and purchased this album,albeit at a much lower price than average,and don't really understand the one star whinging!A couple of weak tracks granted,but it is still Sabbath,and Tony Martin is still as powerful on vocals,as Toni iommi is at riffage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fobidden is an interesting album, 12 Feb 2011
This review is from: Forbidden (Audio CD)
Don't listen to other reviews about how bad or weak this album is, I am a huge Ozzy/Sabbath fan and I consider myself an Ozzy historian plus I play music myself. The only original member is Iommi on this album, but it is not the worst Sabbath album without Ozzy. I would consider TYR or Eternal Idol to be the worst albums because the music and lyrics were very corny and dated. This album puts that heavy sabbath feel back into place without the cheap production of the 80's albums. Tony Martin basically wrote lyrics to the heavy riffs of Iommi's style. Since Geezer left the band, one can tell that Iommi heavily contributed to the music of this album and left the lyrical duty to Tony Martin, since Geezer wasn't around to contribute. Illusion of power, Get a Grip, Guilty as Hell, I Won't Cry for You, Rusty Angels are all good songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not bad at all., 28 Aug 2009
This review is from: Forbidden (Audio CD)
this album is not as bas as averyone is saying, in fact is really good, one of the best tony martin has done... some tracks even have the doomier sound that sabbath is famous for, if you really love black sabbath dont listen to all the people who crucify this album, just buy it and see what i mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath... Kinda, 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden (Audio CD)
This album has been dismissed by most fans, but actually if you listen to it knowing the facts you can understand why its a little poor basically its because Ernie C. Produced the album and tried making them more modern which failed massively the first half of the album is terrible but the other half is actually not bad "Rusty Angels", "Forbidden" and "Kiss Of Death" are Sabbaths songs to have a listen to they're not bad and this album is one to add to Sabbath collection if you're collecting them all as I did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not Forbidden, 6 Feb 2004
By 
Peestie (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Forbidden (Audio CD)
Black Sabbath's last studio album (at time of writing) and they certainly went out with a bang. Forbidden has Tony Martin back again and Tony Iommi is on top form, giving us more massive riffs to deafen ourselves with. When compared to its predecessor, the fantastic "Cross Purposes", it does seem a bit weaker, but not much.
The opening track, "Illusion of Power" is a slow song about insanity and mental insecurity, and even features guest vocals from rapper Ice-T. Yes that's right, a rapper on a Black Sabbath album, but it works incredibly well. The opening track is a great start to the album. "Get a Grip" is another good track, about average for the album and that is good quality. "Can't Get Close Enough" starts of quiet and then kicks into a heavy riff that I personally love. One of the best song of the album. "Shaking Off the Chains" is another good old Black Sabbath head-banger. "I won't Cry For You" is the ballad of Forbidden and is a good songbut not as good as many of the other Sabbath ballads. "Guilty as Hell" is the worst song on the album and doesn't really add much to it. "Sick and Tired" is also slightly below average of the other songs but still a good track (and does benefit from Cozy Powells drum entry). After that we have the real gems of the album. "Rusty Angels" is an excellent track with excellent lyrics. Not much more to be said. The title track is the best song on the album and is Sabbath at its best. The riff is high quality and all the other band members shine out as well. The last song is the heavy and slow "Kiss of Death". The lyrics might be a bit too different for some but I think they suite the song perfectly.
Overall Forbidden is a great album. It misses that something to be called a Classic but only by a small ammount.
Ah yes, and as a tip, if you order this from the amazon.com and not .co.uk then you can get it and get the superior and Classic Cross Purposes and including the postage from the US will not cost you more than 16. I would recommend getting Cross Purposes with this album as they make a wonderful pair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath Forbidden, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden (Audio CD)
Great to hear Tony Martins' voice on a Sabbath album again. All the songs are winners. Best album since Dehumanizer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars forbidden maybe ... forgotten defintely, 7 July 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Forbidden (Audio CD)
After the truly outstanding CROSS PURPOSES it is incredible that Tony Iommi could produce something as average as this,a truly average offering.

Ho Hum another album,another line up,could we keep up,could we care less at this point?,Cozy Powell returns on Drums with The poodle permed Neil Murray by his side,didnt Tony Iommi learn his lesson before?

Apart from the opening track 'Illusion Of Power' which i actually like,going against the grain of most other reviewers.However its the rest of the album that disappoints,half baked,retreads,rehashes of riffs from previous albums,there is nothing here that stands out,the band sound dis-interested and the fire that was evident on CROSS PURPOSES has been snuffed out,truly disappointing as the last studio album under the Sabbath banner.2.5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A strange last album from a true super-group, 12 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Forbidden (Audio CD)
Having gone through six lead singers, the final front-man Tony Martin returned to do this album to complete his contract with the record label.
This could have been a great effort given some more engineering and a little more thought put into the tracks. Whole thing has a rushed and unfinished air. Rusty Angels, Get a Grip and Shaking off the chains are all catchy in their own way. But all tracks are made from basic chord/riff re-hashes from previous Sabbath titles (a trend that sneaked in after Seventh Star).
Worth owning for novelty and I would recommend buying for the die hard fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forbidden
Forbidden by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews