Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Cool
I came across this CD at the back of a drawer a few days ago and it was like I had discovered some long lost treasure. After a six year absence I treated myself to what honestly has to be one of the best rock n' roll albums I own. You can hear they had a fantastic time making this. It just gels together beautifully. Great tunes that will make your feet tap and any long...
Published on 18 Dec. 2000 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "Take a Look at the Guy"
It's so raw, and tasty...at least for the most part. I mean, Izzy Stradlin quit the biggest band in the world (Guns 'n' Roses) just so you can make the music you want and fell in love with in the first place ranks you as a certified badass.

The music isn't verbose, or contrived. It's stripped and it's everything good rock n' roll stands about. It's not smart,...
Published on 10 Jan. 2013 by Lord Anon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Cool, 18 Dec. 2000
By 
This review is from: Izzy Stradlin And The Ju Ju Hounds (Audio CD)
I came across this CD at the back of a drawer a few days ago and it was like I had discovered some long lost treasure. After a six year absence I treated myself to what honestly has to be one of the best rock n' roll albums I own. You can hear they had a fantastic time making this. It just gels together beautifully. Great tunes that will make your feet tap and any long car journey fly by. It's now at the top of the CD rack!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr Cool, 13 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Izzy Stradlin And The Ju Ju Hounds (Audio CD)
Izzy Stradlin was always the cool one of G`N`R as well as one of the chief song writers and it`s interesting to see that they never released any new original material after he quit the band late in 1991, any way...... Oct `92 saw this little gem released and it is a great simple, no thrills Rock n` Roll album, if anyone is familiar with Keef Richards solo material than this is in the same field.
There are hints of country rock, punk and a little reggae, but at the end of the day it is a great rock n`roll record which has`nt got the recognition it deserves in the uk..... just buy it now and see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite but nearly, 9 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Izzy Stradlin And The Ju Ju Hounds (Audio CD)
This albumn has its moments no doubt Shuffle it all easily the standout track but also songs like Cutting the rug and pressure drop are pretty classic. This is a pretty good albumn but its not guns n roses at all. Izzys singing is raspy and lacks some confidence and doesnt have the same thrill as Axls the songs are great and the potential is huge this guy has great talent. This is by no means a must own but if ur into the Dust N Bones side of gnr thisll b more up ur street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated classic, 7 Dec. 2002
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Izzy Stradlin And The Ju Ju Hounds (Audio CD)
On "Izzy Stradlin And The Ju Ju Hounds", Stradlin left his GnR-past behind, and presented himself as a rock guitarist in the vein of the Faces and the Stones, but with a style all of his own.
This is a wonderful rock n' roll album, plain and simple, and worth all of five stars. It continues to grow on me, and I've had it ever since it came out ten years (and two month!) ago.
It may be lacking the obvious pop hit, but the quality of the songs is so high all the way through, not a single truly weak moment in sight. All in all, a real testament to Izzy Stradlin's abilities as a songwriter, a guitarist, a producer, and an arranger.
The album contains a mixture of bluesy rockers (including a faithful cover of Ronnie Wood's "Take A Look At The Guy"), ballads, and even a reggae-cover, Frederic 'Toots' Hibbert and the Maytal's "Pressure Drop".
On "Ju Ju Hounds", Stradlin has surrounded himself with an extremely competent backing band, including former Georgia Satelites-guitarist Rick Richards, drummer Charlie Quintana, and the Faces' keyboardist Ian McLagan playing piano and Hammond B3 organ.
And the results are terrific. Stradlin's vocal delivery is somewhere in between the nasal whine of Bob Dylan and the hoarse whisper of Keith Richards, but his range is actually not at all bad, and his voice is more powerful than you would expect if you've only ever heard him do "Dust n' Bones" and "14 Years" with Guns n' Roses.
The opening track, "Somebody Knockin'", is a sturdy, mid-tempo rocker worthy of the Stones, and it is followed by the Ju Ju Hounds' hard-rockin cover of "Pressure Drop", with a catchy instrumental reggae-coda, complete with Izzy Stradlin himself humming along to the syncopated beat.
Then comes a folksy little tune, "Time Gone By", which feels like a ballad but is really mid-tempo, and ringing with mandolins and hand-claps, and the absolute highlight of Stradlin's solo career, the song that should've become a classic, but inexplicably never did:
"Shuffle It All" starts off with a bluesy bass riff, then come the guitars, and finally the drums and the Hammond B3 kicks in, driving the song along. This is one of the best, grooviest rock shuffles I have ever heard, and the Rolling Stones would've beenm proud had they written it.
"Bucket O' Trouble" is a short punk-throwback, and then comes another highlight, the hard rocker "Train Tracks", with Stradlin and Rick Richards drawing a blueprint for all aspiring two-guitar combos to follow.
"How Will It Go" is a tender love song, mainly acoustic, but with Richards playing great electric fills over Stradlin's intricate rhythm and former Broken Homes-bassist Jimmy Ashworth's mandolin.
And that is followed by perhaps the catchiest rocker on the album, "Cuttin' The Rug", sporting more great, interlocking guitar work from Stradlin and Richards, and organ by Ian McLagan.
Finally, Ronnie Wood himself guests on "Take A Look At The Guy", playing lead guitar and singing backup, and the album closes with the seven-minute "Come On Now Inside", a slow, melancholy blues featuring great slide work from Rick Richards and Ian McLagan playing piano.
You may need to listen to this album a few times in order to truly appreciate it. It is musical craftsmanship of the highest order, but it is not a pop record, and Izzy Stradlin with his raspy, nasal voice is no Perry Como. Still, why this did not become a real hit is beyond me. Song for song, it is as good as the Faces' best work, and better than anything the Rolling Stones has done since the seventies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb., 27 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Izzy Stradlin And The Ju Ju Hounds (Audio CD)
A lost classic. If you have five quid, then spending it on this will be money well spent. It's classy, cool, well played and well produced.
I believe this was his first solo album after G'N'R and seems to be the best so far (although I don't yet own 117 degrees). An early peak.
The bass is awesome as is the guitar playing.
The songwriting and interpretation is superb. The vibe and mood is so cool it makes you want to chill out and get up and dance all at the same time. Another reviewer mentioned "Shuffle It All" and for me that track is one of my all time favourite songs. It really is an awsome vibe.
If you like a bit of Faces/Stones blues with a toe tapping, rocking edge then this is well worth double the asking price (and currently it is for sale at less than a quid second hand - almost makes me want to buy it again and but it for my friends as well).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 4 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Izzy Stradlin And The Ju Ju Hounds (Audio CD)
This is just one of the best albums you can buy. What we have hear is a mixture of blues, slide guitar and slight punk. The opener Somebody Knockin is just brilliant, Shuffle It All has some cool bass and guitar riffs, and the other tracks are just excellent. Must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not the norm., 12 April 2007
By 
Matthew Doran "Matchoo" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Izzy Stradlin And The Ju Ju Hounds (Audio CD)
When I first played this album I was expecting it to rock, like the old G'N'R stuff, but to my suprise it didn't. From the first to the last song you realise how tallented Izzy was when he was with G'N'R. This is one of thoes albums that, no matter where it is played, you wont get a single complaint from anyone. It is, if you will, back ground music or something to listen to on thoes long hot summer days lazying around with not a care in the world. After hearing this album I realised how much influence Izzy had on Guns music. Songs such as Dust N' Bones, Double Talkin' Jive and You Ain't the First, to name a few. I seriously reckomend buying this album, if you are looking to branch out your music genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GNR who?, 7 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Izzy Stradlin And The Ju Ju Hounds (Audio CD)
izzy stradlin and the ju ju hounds izzy first solo album still with GNR i think.. and he makes a great effort not to copy the formula of gnr but makes his own disinctive sound remisince of early stones records yet with a new twist..sounding a bit like keith richards izzy voice is on top form and the backing band play excellently a truly great album which has gathered dust due too the bloated guns and roses albums that were released during the nineties you know what i'm talking about..
izzy stradlin a great songwriter and here he's at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "Take a Look at the Guy", 10 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Izzy Stradlin And The Ju Ju Hounds (Audio CD)
It's so raw, and tasty...at least for the most part. I mean, Izzy Stradlin quit the biggest band in the world (Guns 'n' Roses) just so you can make the music you want and fell in love with in the first place ranks you as a certified badass.

The music isn't verbose, or contrived. It's stripped and it's everything good rock n' roll stands about. It's not smart, and it's not worried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cool......., 18 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Izzy Stradlin And The Ju Ju Hounds (Audio CD)
This album is his first, and possibly the best. There's a good variety of styles, and so it appeals to most tastes. Izzy's vocal skills shine through, and the band just top it off.....you either love it or hate it. Personally, I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Izzy Stradlin And The Ju Ju Hounds
Izzy Stradlin And The Ju Ju Hounds by Izzy Stradlin (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews