Customer Reviews


13 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FUNKY FAMILY, 18 Dec. 2001
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Simpsons Sing The Blues (Audio CD)
Homer, Marge, Bart, Lisa and Maggie pour their hearts out about their garishly-coloured lives in a mixture of classic covers and songs written especially for them. Bart delivers the dance-raps of Do The Bartman and Deep Deep Trouble and also duets with Buster Pointdexter on Chuck Berry's School Days with Joe Walsh's guitar solos. Homer, full of woe and trouble, croons the classic blues Born Under A Bad Sign and Marge covers Springfield Soul Stew to the melody of Memphis Soul Stew. Together the two of them sing the romantic duet I Love To See You Smile with Dr John on piano and Roger McGuin on banjo. Blueshound Lisa shines on the Billie Holiday standard God Bless The Child and the original Moanin' Lisa Blues. This family is hot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can you grow tired of this?, 31 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Simpsons Sing The Blues (Audio CD)
If you like the TV show, buy the videos and worship the never-grow-old nature of the characters, thenthsi is the album for you. In my collection of Limp Bizkit, RATM, Metallica & Deftones, it seems a TADGE out of place, but it has me in creases every time - Homer's choices of jazz names for himself will NEVER not be funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 15 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Simpsons Sing The Blues (Audio CD)
I have listened to these songs over and over and never get sick of them - the cartoon tradition of staying young forever works for this CD too. Deep Deep Trouble and Do The Bartman? Total classics and are a must for Simpsons and music fans everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something for everyone, 12 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Simpsons Sing The Blues (Audio CD)
This is definately a fantastic album. The tracks on it range from Bart and Jazzy Jeff rapping, to Homer and Marge Singing a catchy 1940's tune. It is really well worth owning and at the price, a steal.
A must have for any Simpsons fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unrecognised Classic, 18 Mar. 2009
This review is from: The Simpsons Sing The Blues (Audio CD)
Having bought this CD for my son, I expected the music to be cartoon-like and silly, a reflection of the T.V series. Imagine my surprise when I heard some excellent blues and rock'n'roll! The musicianship is tight and professional and does not denegrate the genre of the music in any way. The Sax and guitars are worthy of any blues/rock'n'roll band. Indeed, it is only the character vocals and hilarious lyrics that make one realise that this is a comedy album. This is a CD that will delight the kids for its vocals and lyrics and impress parents with its excellence of musicianship. This is a 'must-own' CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Won't Give You The Blues, 6 Feb. 2015
By 
This review is from: The Simpsons Sing The Blues (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of "The Simpsons" for many years now, despite having come to satellite TV relatively late in life and only seeing the show for the first time as an adult. One of the things that has always helped me enjoy the show is the musical numbers. Whilst some shows have successfully done musical episodes, few have managed to weave so much good original music into such a long running show.

Admittedly, thanks to the format of the show often involving spoofs of other shows, many of the songs aren't exactly original, but either cover versions or parodies of songs. Also, thanks to the show supposedly being around a family, some of the vocals are a little ropey, as it would be unusual for a whole family to be musically talented. Outside of the Jacksons or the Osmonds, at least. But even knowing this was not enough to dissuade me from buying "The Simpsons Sing the Blues", as I figured that the amount of entertainment it would provide would outweigh the number of duff notes they would hit.

If you're a fan of "The Simpsons" and remember one or more of the original singles, this is an essential purchase, even if it does sound a little dated in parts. If you're not a fan of the show, this really is one to avoid, but the prominence of the family on the cover will more than likely give you that idea anyway. There are some fairly inoffensive tunes if you're not a fan, but for the most part decent songs are made less so by the inclusion of the cast and if the show annoys you over half an hour, this album certainly will over 40 minutes and ten tracks. But as a fan I love it and, despite any number of releases in the fifteen or so years since this came out, I think this is still the best of "The Simpsons" albums.

This review may also appear, in whole or in part, under my name at any or all of www.ciao.co.uk, www.thebookbag.co.uk, www.goodreads.com, www.amazon.co.uk and www.dooyoo.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Simpsons Sing The Blues, 6 April 2008
By 
AMG - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Simpsons Sing The Blues (Audio CD)
This is the debut album from the pop cultural phenomenon THE SIMPSONS.
It features 5 original Simpson's songs & 5 covers of classic blues songs, all sung in the inimitable Simpson's style.

1.DO THE BARTMAN - 5:11.
A number one hit co-written and co-produced by Michael Jackson.
2.SCHOOL DAY - 3:57.
A rockin' cover of the Chuck Berry song, featuring Bart Simpson & Buster Poindexter (David Johansen.)
3.BORN UNDER A BAD SIGN - 3:08.
Dan Castellaneta doing Homer Simpson doing Albert King!
4.MOANIN' LISA BLUES - 4:49.
My favourite line in this BLACK VELVET (Alannah Myles) sounding song is "I'm down so low, if I cheered up I'd still be depressed!"
Sounds different to when it featured in the season 1 episode MOANING LISA, but it's equally as good, if not better!
5.DEEP DEEP TROUBLE - 4:28.
Bart raps about what happened to him "Once upon a time, about a week ago."
6.GOD BLESS THE CHILD - 4:31.
The slowest and most soulful song on the album. It features Lisa Simpson & Bleeding Gums Murphy (Ron Taylor).
7.I LOVE TO SEE YOU SMILE - 3:07.
A Marge & Homer duet.
8.SPRINGFIELD SOUL STEW - 2:38.
Marge Simpson's version of MEMPHIS SOUL STEW.
9.LOOK AT ALL THOSE IDIOTS - 3:52.
Harry Shearer talking to himself (He voices Mr Burns & Mr Smithers, who feature in this song).
10.SIBLING RIVALRY - 4:40.
A Bart & Lisa duet.

ALBUM DURATION: 40 minutes 23 seconds.

Also, this album features B.B King, DJ Jazzy Jeff, Dr John and Marcy Levy.
This album doesn't come with song words, but the enclosed booklet does contain 5 small black and white pictures of the Simpson's cast with their aliases.
The perfect soundtrack to accompany a mundane chore; it'll go in a flash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Feb. 2005
This review is from: The Simpsons Sing The Blues (Audio CD)
This album is fantastic - it is a wonderful fusion of two of my favourite things: the Simpsons and the blues.
This is not a rip-off designed to cash in on the fame of the Simpsons. It is a fabulous CD in its own right.
The songs are all sung by members of the Simpsons family - the lyrics are original and appropriate to the character. The music is mostly blues classics (with some original material) performed by fantastic (and famous) blues musicians. I could have done without Bart rapping but this is not a major complaint - Lisa singing the Moanin' Lisa Blues more than compensated.
It brought a smile to my face and joy to my heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone can sing the blues, 4 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The Simpsons Sing The Blues (Audio CD)
I used to see the Simpsons before they were the Simpsons-as an interlude on the Tracey Ullman Shows of the 80s.
They actually get B B King in on this CD-how blue can you get?
And that version of God bless the child is certainly an improvement on the boring Billie Holiday version which always sounded as if a song was struggling to get out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Simpson's Sing The Blues., 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons Sing The Blues (Audio CD)
Enjoy the soundtrack of the Simpson's as if they were on TV. Starts off with their UK Number one Hit in 1991 : Do The Bartman. I like The Simpsons album the The songs of Springfield and their Yellow Album but have forgetten the main title of it, but this album adds to my TV Soundtrack collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simpsons Sing The Blues
The Simpsons Sing The Blues by The Simpsons (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews