Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cher's first rock album for the Geffen Company, 20 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cher (Audio CD)
This is the first of three albums Cher recorded for the Geffen Company and it's a clear departure from her previous music. This was released in 1987 and marked Cher's return to the music business, after investing in a very sucessful film career. She hadn't recorded any new music for six years and this album marked also the beginning of a new sound for her. Moving to the Rock area, here she performs songs from Desmond Child, Jon Bon Jovi, Richie Sambora, Diane Warren (who has been writing great songs for her ever since) and Michael Bolton. Not distinguished for writting her own material, Cher's sucess as a singer his due to her powerful renditions of compositions by others. And here she is at her best. I FOUND SOMEONE (previously performed by Laura Branningham), was the first single release, followed by the amazing WE ALL SLEEP ALONE (this was recorded as a dance version for BELIEVE). BANG-BANG was a song from the Sonny & Cher days and here it is given a very distinct approach. SKIN DEEP became a club hit and it's a rock-dance song. There are also ballads in this, MAIN MAN and the great HARD ENOUGH GETTING OVER YOU, which could have been a great single. PERFECTION, DANGEROUS TIMES, GIVE OUR LOVE A FIGHTING CHANCE and WORKING GIRL are also worth the listen. A lot of the songwritters and producers working on this album would also appear in her two next ones, HEART OF STONE and LOVE HURTS. These were her most notorious albums for the 80's and all of them contain some of her most impressive, inspired and heartfelt vocal performances. Since this one was the first, it's a classic just for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I found this disc takes away the heartache..., 3 Jun. 2007
By 
This review is from: Cher (Audio CD)
...of a boring Monday night.

I bought this album on cassette when it came out in 1987. I'm listening to the CD as I write this review. It is one of Cher's over-the-top albums, and I say that lovingly. It's fun, full of catchy tunes, with an overblown production with credits that read like a who's who in studio musicians. It is perfect listening when you are stuck in a traffic jam, or when you need music to propel you to clean your house. The high energy songs will help turn washing your windows or dishes into a tightly choreographed routine. Some reviewers refer to it as a comeback album, but for some of us, Cher never went away. There might have been a few years absence from the music charts, but does it really matter?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of another Cher extravaganza!, 27 May 2004
This review is from: Same (Audio CD)
This Cher album seems like a start for yet another BIG era of Cher songs. It includes awsome hits like I Found Someone, We All Sleep Alone and Bang Bang, which are still played live in concert. Also a very beautiful and touching ballad Main Man is on this album. After this album came If I Could Turn Back Time, so I really think this was the prelude to that explosive era of Cherdom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cher, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cher (Audio CD)
I have given this product a 5 star rating because it is by far the best 'Cher' CD that she has done. My relative loves it and plays it all the time. It has some of her best songs on it and is well worth purchasing if you are a 'Cher' Fan. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Is a Cher Album What More Can You Want, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cher (Audio CD)
To a Cher devotee such as myself this is an album that forms part of the collection, if not a devotee then you may be better off with a Greatest Hits. Make sure you get a copy of the song 'Believe' though, it is on The Greatest Hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cher (Audio CD)
i first heard this album when i lived in london many a years ago i just had to bye it again as it brought back so many memories after the breaking up with the ONLY LOVE OF MY LIFE TINA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At her peak, 28 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Cher (Audio CD)
This is Cher's best album with out a doubt, it had three singles released from it, but all 10 tracks are strong, my fav is 'Working Girl'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cher (Audio CD)
one more to my collection, some cd's bit to expencive to purchase because of greedy sellers but this one ok, would use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars happy, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cher (Audio CD)
my dad loves this cd he thinks its her best one he cant stop playing it he likes track 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cher at her best!!!, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cher (Audio CD)
So many great songs here. Cher has a great voice and this cd shows it. Must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cher
Cher by Cher (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews