Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars21
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2015
Good CD would recomend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2002
This isn't consistently the best album, but Impossible Dreamer is one of the prettiest songs to a lover ever written, while Tax Free is simply a belter of a song- a bitter attack on TV evangelists. I never like every song on any of her albums but I think Dog eat Dog is pretty good certainly better than Turbulent Indigo.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
This is my second favourite JM album, Wild Things Run Fast being my favourite. She is so versatile that I suspect there will always be a great divide between Blue lovers and Dog Eat Dog aficionados. Yes it is 'poppy' but the lyrics are to die for. Excellent musicianship from the band, catchy hooks (and why not? Let's not be too purist about this.)
Fine stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2002
Ok, I have this CD but, that is only 'cause I'm a big Joni fan. The only listenable track is 'Smokin...' which is a short and clever instrumental. I suppose the title track is ok too but, in comparison to her other albums this is not good at all. The problen is she has relied too much on 80's technology which makes it perhaps the most dated of all her albums.
When it is not being too unmelodic and experimental it is sounding like throw away jazz pop. There is no romance on this album like the previous ones. She has focused more on political aspects. Her lyrics don't sound as clever as ussual and she sounds uncomfortable singing it and it doesn't seem to come out freely and natural. Maybe it was rushed! I think she could have done without Thomas Dolby! Still it is cheap so if you are a Joni fan! Artwork not on form either! I think 'Chalk Mark...' is a little better and of course she was back on form in the 90's.
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2016
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
I never, ever, categorize this record as a "Joni Mitchell" record, as many people will, as that's how comparisons are made. Joni Mitchell proved throughout her career just how versatile she is, and if you make a comparison between this record, and something like "Blue", you are being so irrelevant.

Dog Eat Dog is a terrific album, with stunning soundscapes, lush arrangements, and truly mesmerizing vocals and songwriting from Joni, as expected.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
Great lp
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Finally bought this. One of her best in my opinion. My favourite track is Tax free. The quality is great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
A fantastic album which I originally had on its first release and which I have bought for a young aspiring musician and Joni lover as an Xmas gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Joni, ugh! Great!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.