Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manowar - Louder Than Hell
In all honesty this is heavy/power metal at it's near best. I had listened to "Battle Hymns", "Sign Of The Hammer" and "Triumph Of Steel" before this opus, but hell. This blows them away. From the intro blast of Return Of The Warlords to the end notes of The Power it is an album to be respected by all.
The sound is akin to "Triumph Of Steel" but hailing more to Judas...
Published on 9 Jan 2004 by Mr. S. Armstrong

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok but not my favorite kind
I'm not a huge fan of Manowar but i do like their 80's albums, which were in good quality.
This album is not like them, it have some nice songs but others are boring.
And i don't like their lyrics on most of their songs, even when the music is quiet good.
I like 'The Power', 'Today is..' and 'Warlords' but the rest is mediocre and sometimes annoying...
Published 19 months ago by Yaniv Riahi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manowar - Louder Than Hell, 9 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. S. Armstrong "stephen_armstrong_sa" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
In all honesty this is heavy/power metal at it's near best. I had listened to "Battle Hymns", "Sign Of The Hammer" and "Triumph Of Steel" before this opus, but hell. This blows them away. From the intro blast of Return Of The Warlords to the end notes of The Power it is an album to be respected by all.
The sound is akin to "Triumph Of Steel" but hailing more to Judas Priest's classic "British Steel" (just listen to The Gods Made Heavy Metal and Breaking The Law) with Eric Adams vocals proving once again that he is up there with Halford and Dickinson.
Overall the album is sincerly recommended for all upholders of true metal. All you ***** who are "down wit' da Limp Bizkit" better step the **** back before they get thrown back.
D.T.F.M.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTLEY FANTASTIC! an honest review from a true metal fan, 1 Dec 2004
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
The album oozes greatness in every aspect, the only possible critisism is the bass lines which are similar, but joey de maio has already proved himself as the greatest bassist ever to grace the metal or rock scene.
The guitar solo 'my spirit lives on' drips with blistering and unadulterated technique
The album is brilliant, BUY
HAIL MANOWAR THE TRUE METAL KINGS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A band past their peak?, 16 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
Okay, maybe this is premature with the new album just around the corner, but I was dissappointed with "Louder than Hell". I have to agree that it feels lighter and songs that would have been killers with previous Manowar production like "King" just feel a bit weak. Listen to the first album Battle Hymns and tell me this isn't a band capable of alot more (the line up is almost identical). If you are looking to try-out Manowar for the first time and are into the more commercial ends of the traditional metal spectrum go with Kings of Metal (with the unbeatable Blood of the Kings), or Fighting the World (just hear Defender and Black Wind, Fire and Steel).
Or for something a bit more raw try the first four offerings (my personal favourites). The only conclusion I can reach for DeMaio et als loss of direction is that they seem to have risen to meet everyone's expectations of them as a parody of themselves (or maybe more explainable by the loss of former guitarist Ross the Boss). For the next album I think expect more of the same as "Louder than Hell" but I sincerely hope they have taken their heads out of their arses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Manowar are The Definition Of True Metal, 8 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
This album is all about true metal, it is one hell of an album. So many awesome metal songs. This is an awesome start Manowar it's probably there least chessiest album. Here is my ratings and thoughts of the songs.

1. Return Of The Warlord - One of my favourite songs ever, and probably the best on the album, this song totally kicks arse, great song mosh and air guitar to. 10/10

2. Brother Of Metal Pt.1 - A brilliant song, this song is all about death to false metal and how metal brings us together, a bloody brilliant song 10/10

3. The Gods Made Heavy Metal - Another awesome song fast and heavy, brilliant lyrics. 10/10

4. Courage - the ballad of the album, this isn't bad it's starts of slow and is pretty boring, but i'll get into it soon. 8/10

5. Number 1 - Awesome song, similar bassline too the first 3 songs, awesome heavy guitar riffs. 10/10

6. Outlaw - this song rocks, fast heavy, brilliant vocals, awesome lyrics. 10/10

7. king - once again starts of with slow piano, then builds up to a great metal song 9/10

8. Today Is A Good Day To Die - Manowars first instrumental and only instrumental song, and it kicks arse, 9 minutes long very amazing, they should do more intstrumenatls. 10/10

9. My Spirit Lives On - Yet we have another bass solo but this bass solo is kick ass, similar to the bass solo to his one on Hail To England, but tis wicked. 9/10

10. Power - a very good album closer, not one of manowars best song, good heavy fast paced song.9/10

This album is a very good example of true metal, this is a perfect start to manowar, and a must for any metalhead. To all you so called moshers who are into korn, slipkno & limp Bizkit(who are average at best), buy this album too see what real talent is, real musicianship. HAIL MANOWAR KINGS OF METAL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is a true metal album !, 6 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
wow ! what an album ! this is a really heavy release from 94. eric adams has the most powerful voic and the most thick and satisfying scream. there are the jaw dropping solos of karl logan and the mad pulse from joey de maio, and of course the mighty pounding of scott columbus. if you're into maiden, old metallica, power metal or 80's metal you'd love this release.if you like double bass drum attacks, you'd love this, scott can sustain speed for ages. lyrically this has a theme, a lot of the time, they sing about the differnce of real metal and false metal, and how false metal should be destroyed, and of course songs about mighty warriors and battles ! to sum this up. this is an ultra heavy album, profesional musicians, very impresive, meaningful lyrics and a great album to play at partys ! this must be played loud and with an excessive amount of bass ! to the fans or fans to become, get this album first then get their entire back catalogue . this album is an essential addition to all metal colloctions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok but not my favorite kind, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
I'm not a huge fan of Manowar but i do like their 80's albums, which were in good quality.
This album is not like them, it have some nice songs but others are boring.
And i don't like their lyrics on most of their songs, even when the music is quiet good.
I like 'The Power', 'Today is..' and 'Warlords' but the rest is mediocre and sometimes annoying.
Recommended only for Manowar fans, for collection, but not good to start with this album for those who don't know them.
Give it a shot, maybe you like it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Rocker present, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
This made a man born to rock eyes light up, he was delighted to receive this and will probably keeps playing it along with the other CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delivering The Goods, Production Time Line..., 13 Nov 2012
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
My name is H and I'm a Metal addict.

The other day, uncorking the lads' 1987 outing, Fighting The World, I found myself revising a long held opinion o'er that LP's production quality.

Whilst some of the tracks are 'classic' Manowar, the album does indeed suffer from that '80s sheen' production tendency which has in retrospect harmed many much loved pieces of the time.

I don't know quite when the rot set in because it wasn't there in the first years of the decade; whether the thick approach of demonic legions during Mob Rules or the sonic assault of screeching Hell Cats in the dimly derided, wondrous, Sabbatical Metallic oddity, Born Again; AC/DC's phenomenal standard For Those About To Rock or the pre- Piece Of Mind Maiden stuff, there is a huge litany of greatness that straddles essential characteristics of both acoustic thunder and lightning in the not-quite-MTV era.

Manowar were no different; with a budget of merely 'some beans,' Jack Richardson ensured the Drums Of Doom kicked hard on Battle Hymns to announce the band's uncompromising arrival whilst Into Glory Ride was nothing less than Ross The Boss unsheathing his Sword Of high pitched Steel; Sign Of The Hammer and Hail To England were as different again, respectively, although I'd contend 'Hail' was the singular, early triumph with a massive sound stage capable of standing toe to toe with later works, albeit lacking these pieces' astonishing, sheer dynamics.

'Fighting' was clean and in 1987, I thought spectacular; Kings Of Metal kicked that notion into the gutter, however and for some time represented the high point of Heavy Metal production.

Triumph Of Steel was even better, four years later but in 1996, Joey clearly decided it was time to raise the standard of standards, production wise.

Louder Than Hell is undoubtedly one of the ultimate Metal albums of all time. Unyielding, like Screaming For Vengeance, the high points of Defenders Of The Faith or yes, sharing sky with the air raid firestorm of Holy Diver, the faithful are rewarded with a rich, overwhelming fullness, the likes of which is simply unavailable from any other practitioners of Metal dispensation.

Perhaps the biggest compliment I can laud upon this masterpiece is that even against (the ludicrously derided) Gods Of War in which Loki God Of Fire defines the perfect Metal track against a background of scarcely conceivable production genius, 'Louder's' mid 90s production feels not remotely lacking.

The result is sheer inspiration: Manowar is/was all about consummate entertainment and with studio work of this grade, the show simply elevates to its rightful, operatic level.

That the themes seem without doubt, highly repetitive, matters not one jot: you really can't have enough imagery of their preferred kind and when you buy a Manowar ticket, well, it's the Ronseal of Heavy Metal but exploded forth just so bloody well, that denial of their sheer brilliance seems churlish and indicative of personalities born apart from a sense of humour gene: frankly, in an era when we are seemingly forced into a dumb acknowledgement of terrible, rap based musical DNA, this strand of willful resistance (rejection) feels utterly cathartic.

The brace of instrumentals preceding the final track are like a test; played at full tilt, ear bleeding in excess, challenging the unworthy to simply take their leave, before rewarding with The Power's crazed mania.

With ears ringing, there is/was only one thing to do: whack on Warriors Of The World.

Fall to your knees and repent if you please...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Kings of Metal, 8 Dec 2000
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
I don't know, maybe it's me, but this album feels a little "lighter" than some of their masterpieces, theres something missing but I can't put my finger on it. Still, better than any other hard rock band out there. Discover the true kings of metal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brothers of Metal, 3 Mar 2004
By 
Cj Stutley "Stutley" (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
What more really needs saying tha "excellent" a great album without a single weak song on it, buy this album if you love metal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Louder Than Hell
Louder Than Hell by Manowar (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews