Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stuff the critics - I love this album!!!!!!, 30 Mar 2004
This review is from: Dream Harder (Audio CD)
What can I say about this album? Well, I LOVE IT for starters. There is not a duff track on it and I echo the previous sentiments about this release being criminally underappreciated. Right from the off, the upbeat The New Life, we have an album of superbly crafted New Age pop-rock songs. There is a very deep sense of an underlying spirituality, a place where Paganism and Christianity not only meet but happily co-exist. The lyrics themselves offer up glimpses of magical places and faraway lands. The guitar playing of Mr Scott is exemplary, being both electrifying and steeped in feeling. His vocals (though nasal in places) do the material justice. I can't imagine anyone else performing these numbers. The pomp and ceremony of The Return of Jimi Hendrix has to be heard to be believed, Jim Keltner's drumming launches itself into the stratosphere with Mike's guitar doodlings weaving in, around and through the proceedings perfectly. This is a great album. This is a magical album. This is Mike Scott at his creative best IMO. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rockier Sound - and No Bad Thing, 18 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Dream Harder (Audio CD)
This album has taken some stick from Waterboys purists in the past, mainly on the grounds that it represented a significant shift from the old mythic Irish folk/rock to a more electric guitar-led sound. Whatever the rights and wrongs, it stands up as a class set of (generally) rockier songs, an expanded range to the band. New Life and Glastonbury Song set an early upbeat pace, with The Return of Pan and The Return of Jimi Hendrix more extended guitar workouts. Whilst Corn Circles and Spiritual City are complete clunkers (Mike Scott having a laugh, surely?), Love & Death and Wonders of Lewis should probably have enough of the old melodic whimsy to satisfy the diehards. Overall, well worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much-underated addition to the ongoing Waterboys story, 3 Jan 2002
This review is from: Dream Harder (Audio CD)
Dream Harder was a distinct return to form following on from the patchy Waterboys outing of 1990, Room To Roam, which took the brilliant Fisherman's Blues sound to an unsettling extreme.
Gone are many of the Celtic influences and experiments, and in come elements of Eastern mysticism, New Age janglings and even a bit of Prog-Rock thrown in for good measure. Multimusician Anthony Thistlethwaite had jumped-ship after Room To Roam, leaving Mike Scott as the only founding member and a collection of session muso's.
There are some truly great moments here, especially on the mesmeric Return of Pan, the quirkiness of Glastonbury Song, Corn Circles and Spiritual City and the uplifting The New Life, the album opener.
If not for anything else, buy this album for the utterly brilliant Preparing To Fly, one of the greatest songs Scott and his ever-changing entourage have ever recorded.
Definately worth investigation and a criminally underrated classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Waterboys - Dream Harder, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dream Harder (Audio CD)
An excellant album from the early 1990's and in my opinion the waterboys best! It has a mixture of folk and rock music that will make you smile and a spirtual connection for those who want to search a little deeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lighter, brighter, and packed with energy., 27 Oct 1999
By 
A. C. Walter "awalter" (Lynnwood, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dream Harder (Audio CD)
Dream Harder is a change for Mike Scott and The Waterboys, a move beyond their heavy celtic phase and into something sounding a little more like pop. The hit single, "The Glastonbury Song", is the heart of the album. Bursting with creativity and imagination, the song can only look forward. "The New Life" and the "Spiritual City" are places clearly in sight here for The Waterboys. Their creative influences come to them in visions, and they introduce us to C.S. Lewis, Jimi Hendrix, and the pagan god Pan. Their music soars and, as always, the lyrics are poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Life Companion, 27 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Dream Harder (Audio CD)
This is one of the most beautiful and positive albums I own. I've loved it since it came out and it holds such nice memories of long hot summers gone past. It's an album for awakenings and new beginnings. I just love it, and I hope you do too.
Thanks for the poetry and awesome music, Mike. (Any chance of a remaster or a delux edition? :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream Harder makes you think deeper, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dream Harder (Audio CD)
A beautiful, magical and poetic album with a range of diverse songs some hard hitting 'Suffer', some spiritual 'The New Life'. I particularly like 'The Return of Jimi Hendrix' shows great insight; having been around then it seems looking back as if Hendrix did do it all in a day such was the frenetic nature of the times. A great album with great musicians some of Mike Scott's best songs a very uplifting experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd take it to a desert island..., 17 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. R. Holden "roger" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dream Harder (Audio CD)
I reckon it's not how much you like a CD when you buy it counts, it's how often you come back to it year after year. I bought this when it came out (1990?) and still love it to bits. Some of the tracks I wasn't that keen on in my twenties such as Wonders of Lewis, I now think are some of the best. The lyrics and sound of this album inspire me and each time I listen to it I hear something else.

If I was sent to a desert island and could chose one CD to take with me, this would be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My fave album, 27 May 2014
By 
pacmantoo (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dream Harder (Audio CD)
Still good twenty years on. Crank it up! Great when you want to set the spirit free! Great in car too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uplifting new age rock, 21 Jan 2010
By 
S. FREEMAN (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dream Harder (Audio CD)
Quite different from their earlier folky work, this album has a really uplifting rock energy. Lyrically there is much in the way of new age spiritual stuff. My favourute tracks are 'Glastonbury Song' and 'Preparing to Fly'. There are quieter tracks, but the best songs are the ones that rock. Passionate singing, strong guitars, and a strong celebratory vibe...this album is great for driving or maybe for getting warmed-up for a run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dream Harder
Dream Harder by The Waterboys (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews