Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite Appetite for destruction but still among the best
Bought Appetite for Destruction and looking for a follow up purchase buy this album. GNR has changed from the pure hard rock to a more (but still brilliant) tame...mature style. Songs now include piano...classical instruments and bakcing, singers but dont be put off by the more complicated cast this is still a hard rockin' masterpiece.

9/10
Published on 4 Sep 2006 by Rockstafarian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Half a good album. Half really bad.
Who on earth decided the running order of the tracks on this album? Seriously!
Any impact the opening duo of "RNDTH" and "Dust 'n Bones" has is quickly destoryed by a terrible Beatles cover and an overlong pretentious balad (that's also features on Use Your Illusion 2!)
Appetite For Destruction was a revelation. A sleazy masterpiece and one of...
Published 1 month ago by Stoker


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite Appetite for destruction but still among the best, 4 Sep 2006
This review is from: Use Your Illusion I (Audio CD)
Bought Appetite for Destruction and looking for a follow up purchase buy this album. GNR has changed from the pure hard rock to a more (but still brilliant) tame...mature style. Songs now include piano...classical instruments and bakcing, singers but dont be put off by the more complicated cast this is still a hard rockin' masterpiece.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Album Rocks, 1 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Use Your Illusion I (Audio CD)
This album Kicks A$$. It contains the masterpiece guitar work by the extremely talented Slash, and put together with the vocal smasher AxL, it can blow you away!
Songs Like "Don't Damn Me", "Back Off Bitch", and "Right Next Door To Hell" will rock you, while songs like "November Rain" and "Don't Cry" will soothe the savage beast in you, and songs like "Coma" will make you think. this album also contains an excellent cover of the Paul & Linda Mccartney song for Bond "Live and Let Die".
This is a definate for all music collections. The Illusion Compilations I & II kick A$$. THEY ROCK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Appetite For Destruction, but still a classic!, 13 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Use Your Illusion I (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album! As I said, not Appetite for Destruction, but still the second best album I own. Great songs = 'November Rain' (an absolute tribute to music in general),'Live and Let Die', 'Garden of Eden', 'Dust and Bones', 'Don't Cry', 'Back off Bitch', Double Talkin' Jive', 'Coma'...Wait, I'm naming all the songs on the album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic in rock album history, 29 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Use Your Illusion I (Audio CD)
This is a masterpiece! Guns N'Roses show an amazing talent for making complicated but still very rocking music. They stick to the same basic style throughout this double album, but they explore several corners of it. They experiment without ever forgetting what it's all about: great rock music!
It's one of these albums that you listen to year after year, and you keep discovering new things. Your favourite songs change over the years. The eternally heartbreaking and beautiful ballad »November Rain« was always a favourite of mine, but nowadays a good rocker like »Dead Horse« has climbed up the hitlist as well. Then there's the jammin' »Bad Obsession«, the two thrashers »Back Off Bitch« and »Double Talkin' Jive«, the noisy opener »Right Next Door To Hell«... and so on, and so on.
The best song Guns N'Roses have ever composed is on this album as well. The postively dark-sarcastic story told in the brilliant 10-minutes track »Coma« will always remain a masterly piece of rock art to me!
The two »Use Your Illusion« double albums belong in everyone's music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy partner to Appetite for Destruction?, 15 April 2004
This review is from: Use Your Illusion I (Audio CD)
I recently purchased this album and within a few listens I think I can safely say that it is a classic. The songs "November Rain", "Don't Cry" and "Double Talkin' Jive" are immense, with November Rain especially deserving its reputation. The gap between their albums obviously did not remove any of GnRs talent. It also includes one of my favourite lines from any song ever, "I can't stop thinking about seeing you one more time" from Bad Obsession. While not their best, this is certainly worth a place in any Guns n' Roses collection. However, if you do not own it, get Appetite for Destruction first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Performance, Shame about the crowd though., 14 Feb 2004
By 
Ranvir S. Panesar "reckless_life" (Slough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is probably the most entertaining concert DVD I own, visually wise its even better than the Led Zeppelin DVD. The band are awesome live, Axl runs all over the stage and dances while Slash and Duff jump off ramps without missing a single note. It's got all the classics as well as great album tracks. My only real problem with the concert is the crowd, although there's 50,000 of them it sounds like there's only a 100, they really should've been louder, and also there's no extras. But these minor problems can be overlooked and if you're a fan of Guns N' Roses you must own this along with volume 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over produced, 22 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Use Your Illusion I (Audio CD)
I do love this album, don't get me wrong, but after Appetite and Lies, it's like an offering from a different band. I guess the raw edge of the songwriting is lacking in places, because most of the songs were written after the band found fame, and they no longer had quite the same hard nosed aggression. After all, it's hard to be as angry and bitter in a five million dollar house. In it's place, however, is a more melodic quality, and even now, ten years later, when power ballads seem so painfully cheesy, you can't help but appreciate them at the odd moment. My one big problem with both the Illusion albums though, is that they are so irritatingly over produced, the songs are all a little too polished, and this seems to leave them sounding very contrived, and this from a band whose "cock-rock" posturing all looks so contrived now anyway, it does them no favours. A great album, but one you sometimes have to dig into a little to reap the full benefit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT RULES!!!!!, 22 Feb 2006
This DVD rules! If you are a proper GN'R fan, you will love this. If you have never been to a GN'R concert, this is the next best thing. If you buy this, it is money well spent. It shows how good Slash is at the guitar as he plays brillant solo's and how good Axl is at the peak of his carrer!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Music DVD Ever!!!!!!, 22 Mar 2004
By 
Dragon (South East England) - See all my reviews
This has got to be by far the best music DVD I have ever seen!! Guns N Roses were an amazing band (pre 1994) and this DVD proves it! Both Use Your Illusion 1 and 2 are brilliant and you can't really buy one without the other.
Both Dvds include massive hits like Mr Brownstone, Paradise City, Sweet child o mine and my personal favourite, So Fine. Axl sounds better than ever whilst changing into a never ending supply of t shirts and hotpants!!! Matt does an amazing drum solo on Illusion 2 and Duff blasts out a brilliant version of The Misfits' "Attitude" on Illusion 1. And of course you have Slash with his famous guitar solos! Each member of the band demonstrates pure and utter talent.
Even if you have only just started listening to Guns N Roses (WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN!!!) this is a great DVD to get you started. A must for any hard core GNRs fan.
Buy this now!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST, 3 Feb 2006
By A Customer
I bought two of the DVD's from my local shop and I am so impressed with use your illusion volume 1 that I cant stop listening to it, Axl's voice is pretty much the best its gonna be for a live stage and his energy is second to non, and the guitar work by Slash, Gilby and Duff is amazing, the introduction to Mr brownstone is the best version I have ever seen, the wonderful "wild horses" which really shows just how talented and gifted slash is, the atmostphere is amazing and just proves how popular Guns N Roses are even in Tokyo, for many reasons this is the best DVD of any music event I have seen and one of the reasons is that Axl talks with the audience and sings the songs with such passion, this is definatly worth buying as you will never regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Use Your Illusion I
Use Your Illusion I by Guns N' Roses (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews