Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite Appetite for destruction but still among the best
Bought Appetite for Destruction and looking for a follow up purchase buy this album. GNR has changed from the pure hard rock to a more (but still brilliant) tame...mature style. Songs now include piano...classical instruments and bakcing, singers but dont be put off by the more complicated cast this is still a hard rockin' masterpiece.

9/10
Published on 4 Sep 2006 by Rockstafarian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Half a good album. Half really bad.
Who on earth decided the running order of the tracks on this album? Seriously!
Any impact the opening duo of "RNDTH" and "Dust 'n Bones" has is quickly destoryed by a terrible Beatles cover and an overlong pretentious balad (that's also features on Use Your Illusion 2!)
Appetite For Destruction was a revelation. A sleazy masterpiece and one of...
Published 6 months ago by Stoker


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite Appetite for destruction but still among the best, 4 Sep 2006
This review is from: Use Your Illusion I (Audio CD)
Bought Appetite for Destruction and looking for a follow up purchase buy this album. GNR has changed from the pure hard rock to a more (but still brilliant) tame...mature style. Songs now include piano...classical instruments and bakcing, singers but dont be put off by the more complicated cast this is still a hard rockin' masterpiece.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Album Rocks, 1 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Use Your Illusion I (Audio CD)
This album Kicks A$$. It contains the masterpiece guitar work by the extremely talented Slash, and put together with the vocal smasher AxL, it can blow you away!
Songs Like "Don't Damn Me", "Back Off Bitch", and "Right Next Door To Hell" will rock you, while songs like "November Rain" and "Don't Cry" will soothe the savage beast in you, and songs like "Coma" will make you think. this album also contains an excellent cover of the Paul & Linda Mccartney song for Bond "Live and Let Die".
This is a definate for all music collections. The Illusion Compilations I & II kick A$$. THEY ROCK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over produced, 22 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Use Your Illusion I (Audio CD)
I do love this album, don't get me wrong, but after Appetite and Lies, it's like an offering from a different band. I guess the raw edge of the songwriting is lacking in places, because most of the songs were written after the band found fame, and they no longer had quite the same hard nosed aggression. After all, it's hard to be as angry and bitter in a five million dollar house. In it's place, however, is a more melodic quality, and even now, ten years later, when power ballads seem so painfully cheesy, you can't help but appreciate them at the odd moment. My one big problem with both the Illusion albums though, is that they are so irritatingly over produced, the songs are all a little too polished, and this seems to leave them sounding very contrived, and this from a band whose "cock-rock" posturing all looks so contrived now anyway, it does them no favours. A great album, but one you sometimes have to dig into a little to reap the full benefit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Appetite For Destruction, but still a classic!, 13 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Use Your Illusion I (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album! As I said, not Appetite for Destruction, but still the second best album I own. Great songs = 'November Rain' (an absolute tribute to music in general),'Live and Let Die', 'Garden of Eden', 'Dust and Bones', 'Don't Cry', 'Back off Bitch', Double Talkin' Jive', 'Coma'...Wait, I'm naming all the songs on the album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy partner to Appetite for Destruction?, 15 April 2004
This review is from: Use Your Illusion I (Audio CD)
I recently purchased this album and within a few listens I think I can safely say that it is a classic. The songs "November Rain", "Don't Cry" and "Double Talkin' Jive" are immense, with November Rain especially deserving its reputation. The gap between their albums obviously did not remove any of GnRs talent. It also includes one of my favourite lines from any song ever, "I can't stop thinking about seeing you one more time" from Bad Obsession. While not their best, this is certainly worth a place in any Guns n' Roses collection. However, if you do not own it, get Appetite for Destruction first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Performance, Shame about the crowd though., 14 Feb 2004
By 
Ranvir S. Panesar "reckless_life" (Slough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is probably the most entertaining concert DVD I own, visually wise its even better than the Led Zeppelin DVD. The band are awesome live, Axl runs all over the stage and dances while Slash and Duff jump off ramps without missing a single note. It's got all the classics as well as great album tracks. My only real problem with the concert is the crowd, although there's 50,000 of them it sounds like there's only a 100, they really should've been louder, and also there's no extras. But these minor problems can be overlooked and if you're a fan of Guns N' Roses you must own this along with volume 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy follow up to Appetite For Destruction, 3 Dec 2003
This review is from: Use Your Illusion I (Audio CD)
How do you follow up the greatest debut album of all time?
That was the question facing GN'R after releasing the awesome Appetite For Destruction in 1987. Four years later, the reply was release 2 albums, as the Gunners unleashed the 2 Use Your Illusion albums on the world. This is the first of the two albums.
The album is extremely varied from all out ballsy rockers like the opener "Right Next Door To Hell" and "Dont Damn Me", to epic ballads like stand-out track "November Rain", via bluesy songs like "Bad Obsession" and "Dust N Bones" and everything in between. There's even a Bond cover! (Live And Let Die)
You can really see the influences of the various Gunners in the different songs. On the whole, the album was mostly written by Axl and Izzy although both Duff and Slash wrote a few songs. With the addition of Dizzy and Matt to the line up, you can also see their influence on the sound of the group. You can also notice Axl's liking for Nine Inch Nails as songs like "Garden of Eden" have samples giving them a slight industrial flavour. This direction is likely to be continued when the new GN'R release Chinese Democracy.
On the whole this is a great album with some great tracks like "Dont Cry" and "November Rain", although I think UYI 2 is a better album. This ones still great though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Music DVD Ever!!!!!!, 22 Mar 2004
By 
Dragon (South East England) - See all my reviews
This has got to be by far the best music DVD I have ever seen!! Guns N Roses were an amazing band (pre 1994) and this DVD proves it! Both Use Your Illusion 1 and 2 are brilliant and you can't really buy one without the other.
Both Dvds include massive hits like Mr Brownstone, Paradise City, Sweet child o mine and my personal favourite, So Fine. Axl sounds better than ever whilst changing into a never ending supply of t shirts and hotpants!!! Matt does an amazing drum solo on Illusion 2 and Duff blasts out a brilliant version of The Misfits' "Attitude" on Illusion 1. And of course you have Slash with his famous guitar solos! Each member of the band demonstrates pure and utter talent.
Even if you have only just started listening to Guns N Roses (WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN!!!) this is a great DVD to get you started. A must for any hard core GNRs fan.
Buy this now!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic in rock album history, 29 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Use Your Illusion I (Audio CD)
This is a masterpiece! Guns N'Roses show an amazing talent for making complicated but still very rocking music. They stick to the same basic style throughout this double album, but they explore several corners of it. They experiment without ever forgetting what it's all about: great rock music!
It's one of these albums that you listen to year after year, and you keep discovering new things. Your favourite songs change over the years. The eternally heartbreaking and beautiful ballad »November Rain« was always a favourite of mine, but nowadays a good rocker like »Dead Horse« has climbed up the hitlist as well. Then there's the jammin' »Bad Obsession«, the two thrashers »Back Off Bitch« and »Double Talkin' Jive«, the noisy opener »Right Next Door To Hell«... and so on, and so on.
The best song Guns N'Roses have ever composed is on this album as well. The postively dark-sarcastic story told in the brilliant 10-minutes track »Coma« will always remain a masterly piece of rock art to me!
The two »Use Your Illusion« double albums belong in everyone's music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 26 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: Use Your Illusion I (Audio CD)
Ok lets see, how many people do you get moaning about this album along with 2. Oh its not a patch on appetite for destruction etc. Well i disagree, although it is very different.
By this time Guns N' Roses had money to burn, which they most certainly did on the huge use your illusion project which took several years to complete. Here there is much more variation than in appetite for destruction, and a more polished sound often slammed by critics, personally i do not fell that it is a bad thing.
The contrast in the album is basically either axl's effect on the band or slash and izzy's. Axl wanted to move the band on in a more melodic way with songs such as the epic coma and november rain, which i feel is one of the greatest songs of all time. Slash and Izzy however wanted to stick with their hard rock roots with songs here such as dust n' bones and don't damn me. The result means a slightly random collection of songs, but will hardly any poor tracks. The highlights are November Rain, a song i could not rate any more highly, don't damn me with a great riff and catchy chorus, the ridiculusly fast garden of eden and don't cry. Along with coma, however that may be just a persoanl favorite.
The general sound of the album is a lot more polished than in previous albums, axl's vocals sound great as ever and slash is at his best here. People say that Guns N' Roses never recaptured the magic of appetite for destruction, and that these albums were the beginning of the end for them. I just feel that it was them moving on and growing up. Make up your own mind, this is a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Use Your Illusion I
Use Your Illusion I by Guns N' Roses (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews