Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smooth and mellow with some Cajun spice
Recorded in New Orleans, this 1991 release was Robertson's second solo album, with outstanding musicianship throughout, and exceptionally good material.
His unique sound gets a little flavor of Louisiana in this recording, with help from artists like the Neville brothers, and most of the tracks boast terrific horn arrangements (by Wardell Quezergue, except on "Day of...
Published on 31 Aug 2003 by Alejandra Vernon

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good not Brilliant "Storyville"
I bought this album because I loved his previuos solo album "Robbie Robertson" I've yet to have the songs grow on me as quickly as "Somewhere Down a Lazy River" did.However, the Neville Brothers contribution is good and the production is very good. Maybe a few more listens will change my mind. Still better than 90% of music out there!
El Tel.
Published on 6 April 2011 by Terry Pike


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smooth and mellow with some Cajun spice, 31 Aug 2003
This review is from: ROBBIE ROBERTSON -STORYVILLE (Audio CD)
Recorded in New Orleans, this 1991 release was Robertson's second solo album, with outstanding musicianship throughout, and exceptionally good material.
His unique sound gets a little flavor of Louisiana in this recording, with help from artists like the Neville brothers, and most of the tracks boast terrific horn arrangements (by Wardell Quezergue, except on "Day of Reckoning", which is by Mark Isham). All the songs are written by Robertson, and are laced with his brilliant guitar work, and his smoky, husky voice is always a soothing delight to listen to.
Highlights for me are "Day of Reckoning", about a first time love gone astray ("Tangled twisted strands of love / Hanging from above"), and "Sign of the Rainbow", an atmospheric, mystical song about knowing "The silence between the words".
Two singles culled from this album were "Go Back to Your Woods" ("Come here trying to make a connection / Must have a bad sense of direction"), and "What about Now" ("We grow up so slowly and grow old so fast").
Robertson's creative genius has flourished since The Band's "The Last Waltz", and continues to grow with film scores and several solo CDs to his credit. His music is always marked by excellence, and a singular vision.
The booklet insert has all the lyrics and recording information, and the total time is 54'55.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laid back to the maximum, 6 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Storyville (Audio CD)
A one groove album, and that's not meant as a criticism. Like the Cowboy Junkies or Blue Nile, it's the sort of album you could put on random select and not get jolted out of place. Guest stars include Neil Young, Blue Nile, Neville Bros, members of REM, but this is always RR's album. Amazing production, incredible subtle guitar and singing, this is one of my top ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robbie & Friends..., 14 Jan 2004
This review is from: Storyville (Audio CD)
This collection originally released in 1991 is the follow-up to his eponymous titled album from 1987, which owed a great deal to "U2" with the under current of rock sounding tracks.

This time Mr Robertson has gone more for a "laid back" style, more of a collection of soundscapes and textures than straightforward song writing.
This he pulls off with the help of some star guest musicians, starting with the opening track "Night Parade" which has Jerry Marotta playing drums.
Mr Marotta has played in the past with the likes of "Steely Dan" and Peter Gabriel to name a few of the musicians he has played for.

On further inspection of the sleeve notes you will find the lies of Paul Moore on keyboards from the "Blue Nile" on the following track "Hold Back the Dawn" adding his signature keyboard sound, which adds sonic texture this is then counter pointed by the sound of Mr Robertson's solo guitar playing along with Rick Danko's from "Robbie's old group "The Band" backing vocals.

The next track in the running order was co-written by the great piano player Bruce Hornsby, this song is one of the stand-out tracks of the album with the organ playing of "Art Neville" and the horn arrangement of Wardell Quezergue making the song stand out from the previous tracks.

"Soap Box Preacher" will make followers of Neil Young stand up and take notice because if you listen very carefully you will hear him singing background vocals on this track.

"Day of Reckoning(burin' for you)" is another of the tracks on this album that benefits from the Paul Moore of the "Blue Nile" fame playing keyboards, along with the horn arrangement of Mark Isham, Mr Isham is a trumpet player who has played for the likes of David Sylvian and Joni Mitchell" in his long career.
For me personally the key song on the whole album is the track "Breakin' the Rules" which if you "Blue Nile" fans out there check the sleeve notes you will find the whole band appear together on this song, from Robert Bell playing bass to Paul Buchanan playing guitar and singing background vocals to "Paul Moore" and his individual style of keyboard playing, the band stamp the track with their sound, the sound of Paul Buchanan singing the lines "We can't go on,Hiding the pain, Breakin' the rules, Of the game" make the price of the album worth it alone for me.

Another reason that I think that I enjoy this album is the overall sound of the whole project, the engineer and associate producer was Steve Nye who has worked with "Roxy Music" and "Japan" and the sonic genius that is Bob Clearmoutain did the mixing and too finish of the sonic dream team the awesome Bob Ludwig did the mastering at "Masterdisk",NYC.

The album as a whole is extremely enjoyable with it's well-crafted songs and excellent musicianship by all involved, will have the listener coming back for more again and again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ROBBIE ROBERTSON -STORYVILLE (Audio CD)
Another great CD by Robbie Robertson. Listened only once so far on portable headphones but that will soon change !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Storyville by Robertson - better than his first?, 17 Jan 2012
This review is from: ROBBIE ROBERTSON -STORYVILLE (Audio CD)
In my opinion this CD is even better than his debut album. Great athmosphere! Super recording quality. Safe to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Real Robertson !, 7 Sep 2014
By 
H. Peters (PURMEREND, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ROBBIE ROBERTSON -STORYVILLE (Audio CD)
Great CD, stiil enjoyable after so long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good not Brilliant "Storyville", 6 April 2011
By 
Terry Pike "El-Tel" (UK South) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ROBBIE ROBERTSON -STORYVILLE (Audio CD)
I bought this album because I loved his previuos solo album "Robbie Robertson" I've yet to have the songs grow on me as quickly as "Somewhere Down a Lazy River" did.However, the Neville Brothers contribution is good and the production is very good. Maybe a few more listens will change my mind. Still better than 90% of music out there!
El Tel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor for such an incredible musician, 26 July 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ROBBIE ROBERTSON -STORYVILLE (Audio CD)
I am a big RR fan, I loved his first album which is still one of my all time favourites. I have to say I was dissapointed with this album, just not a patch on the original. It is just personal taste, but this does not capture the soul and atmosphere of the first album.
I did however love his album, Music for Native Americans, that was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ROBBIE ROBERTSON -STORYVILLE
ROBBIE ROBERTSON -STORYVILLE by Robbie Robertson (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews