Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pure brillinance of Fred's voice - it shines thru.
Fourteen years ago I was a teenager hunting any new Queen release (in the search of guitars & rock!) which, for now very obvious reasons, were not happening. Then this CD/Album came along! Queen are renowned for their very different themes and styles throughout the years. To my mind Queen II, Innuendo and "Barcelona" prove the very best of Freddie...
Published on 10 Feb 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars DVD
AUDIO LOSES ITS IMPACT WITHOUT VISUALS,A DVD OF BARCELONA WOULD BE PERFECT,I MUST SEE IF ONE HAS BEEN OR WILL BE PRODUCED?.
I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED..
Published 5 months ago by Mr. D. Platt


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pure brillinance of Fred's voice - it shines thru., 10 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Barcelona (Audio CD)
Fourteen years ago I was a teenager hunting any new Queen release (in the search of guitars & rock!) which, for now very obvious reasons, were not happening. Then this CD/Album came along! Queen are renowned for their very different themes and styles throughout the years. To my mind Queen II, Innuendo and "Barcelona" prove the very best of Freddie Mercury's phonetic & harmonic talent. Hence my recommendation that you entertain this fine recording. I also fully recommend the Solo collection boxed set. Before buying it, I knew full well that I had most of the material anyway - bringing it all together on one CD/DVD quality format(along with the book!) made it quite a buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare album indeed, 22 Jun 2003
By 
Amazon Customer "hamble" (somewhere in west europe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barcelona (Audio CD)
This IS a rare album indeed. Take one Freddy Mercury - an accomplished songwriter with a flair for the dramatic - and one Montserrat Caballé - La Superba of the operatic world. Add them together and you have what can surely be described as a happy mix of two disparate entities.

Most will remember "Barcelona", the title-song of the '92 Barcelone olympics, with its combination of Mercury's kitsch Queen-esque close harmonies coupled with Caballé's running up and down of the scales. But "Barcelona" the album is more than that; it is a cohesive whole - with an almost through composed dramatic narrative (of Mercury and his co-lyricist Batt) concerning a doomed love affair between (if one reads between the lines) the rockstar idol played convincingly by Mercury and his starstruck fan/love interest played euphically by Caballé. The idea might sound ridiculous, but do give it a go. "Ensueño", a duet accompanied by Mercury alone at the piano, will break your heart. "Guide me home", arguably the CD's highlight point, will bring tears to your eyes. "How can I go on" cuts close to the bone, bearing in mind that at this time Mercury knew his end was drawing close as the AIDS virus took its grip.

This album is best listened to with a strong drink in one hand and a hanky in the other [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! An amazing union of genres!, 19 April 2002
By 
Judy Freeman (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barcelona (Audio CD)
This cd is one that I heard many years ago but has made such an impression it will stay with me forever. The combination of trained operatic voices and the amazingly expressive voice of Freddie Mercury is beautiful and uplifting...for those who believe in the purity of classical music, give this a chance....for those who only listen to pop, the same applies! This is a cd overflowing with talent and emotion, it is exquisite!! I only wish I could find another copy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barcelona, 6 July 2002
This review is from: Barcelona (Audio CD)
This is a truly stunning Cd. It quite simply makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end. The songs are captivating.
I first heard snipets of the tracks on a documentary about Freddies life and was desperate for the CD. I was far from disapointed. Each track is full of originality,and something very special. Freddie and Montserrat compliment each other so well- their voices are bursting with passion, fire and life.
My only dissapointment is there arn't more tracks on the CD and sadly there will only ever be the one CD.
A must have in the CD collection.
Some of the tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for everybody, 28 May 2004
By 
Marie Ringblom (Gothenburg, Sweden Sweden) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barcelona (Audio CD)
I have listened to this cd for many years and I never get tired.
Freddies voice contra Montserrats is fantastic.This cd has every-
thing, rock, opera, gospel, soft, hard. Every time I discover something new in the music. Fantastic pianoplay. Every musiclover
shoul have this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great tracks by 2 Divas, 5 Sep 2009
By 
Sally Wilton "Sally" (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barcelona (Audio CD)
We all know this one. A must have for any collector of opera or Queen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Ms. B. Bates (County Durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barcelona (Audio CD)
I wanted this CD for years having once had a cassette of Freddie Mercury and Montserrat Cabale singing these wonderful songs, there are no other words to describe it but brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Wonderful listening experience., 16 Oct 2010
This review is from: Barcelona (Audio CD)
I had this on tape from years ago, but it became worn out! Couldn't be without it. This pair were born to sing together. They bring out the very best in one-another. This really shows the range and power of Mercury's voice, and you get the feeling that Caballe loves singing with him, as she comes alive. Their passion for the music is so well matched. A marriage made in heaven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Freddy, Greatest ever, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barcelona (Audio CD)
Love this record. Worked fine arrived as promised. Love Freddy Mercury anyway. haven't got anything else to say about it but Amazon insist I say more. That seems OK now too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous!, 3 Mar 2013
By 
Chris in Hampshire "Mrs C" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barcelona (Audio CD)
Freddie Mercury's death was a HUGE loss to the world of music. "Barcelona" is Freddie teamed up with opera singer Montserrat Cabella.

It is a sort of rock opera. The singing is amazing, the music is extremely powerful and really showcases rock solid talent.

If you like Freddie Mercury you will like this CD. It is probably not too well known but I find it stunning.

Hope you enjoy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Barcelona
Barcelona by Freddie Mercury (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews