Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sadsax
i can understand the need in some to be a purist, but this compilation will appeal to a new audience perhaps hearing this music for the first time. my kids first heard this cd in cassette form nearly 20 years ago. it gave them a love of music and poetry and it helped them develop a level of understanding.

why can't an artist develop the interpretation of their...
Published on 21 Jan. 2010 by S. Goodman

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RE-RECORDING
This collection of songs are re-recordings, that said, they are an introduction to one of the great unsung heroes of American folk (at least unsung in the U.K.). The songs are not as good as the originals, but should serve mainly as an introduction to his work. If you like these, then I strongly recommend that you get his Elekra albums, they are all brilliant with many...
Published on 24 Sept. 2009 by Mr. Sr Harrup


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RE-RECORDING, 24 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. Sr Harrup "nehpetsrh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tom Paxton (Audio CD)
This collection of songs are re-recordings, that said, they are an introduction to one of the great unsung heroes of American folk (at least unsung in the U.K.). The songs are not as good as the originals, but should serve mainly as an introduction to his work. If you like these, then I strongly recommend that you get his Elekra albums, they are all brilliant with many hidden gems. There is a lot more to this artist than the few 'catchy' tunes that everyone sang around the 60's/70's folk clubs.

One point of note: the original recording of the track 'When you shook your long hair down' is still unavailable on CD, so this is the only 'silver disc' version until the album 'New Songs for Old Friends' is finally re-released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Originals are much better imo, 5 May 2011
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tom Paxton (Audio CD)
I bought this CD unaware that they were not the original recordings of these songs from the albums I love, but rather re-recordings. I much prefer the originals, and suspect you would too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sadsax, 21 Jan. 2010
By 
S. Goodman "stuart goodman" (east anglia uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tom Paxton (Audio CD)
i can understand the need in some to be a purist, but this compilation will appeal to a new audience perhaps hearing this music for the first time. my kids first heard this cd in cassette form nearly 20 years ago. it gave them a love of music and poetry and it helped them develop a level of understanding.

why can't an artist develop the interpretation of their work without the anally fixated throwing up their hands in indignation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brought back memories, 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tom Paxton (Audio CD)
A lovely CD of songs that I remember from my childhood and my children's childhood, all ready to play to my new grandchild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Paxton, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tom Paxton (Audio CD)
Another great album from Tom Paxton. I have failed to find a fault in his music and sentiment in his works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tom Paxton (Audio CD)
wanted the album for just one song, but it didnt disapoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars New recordings of his classic songs, 7 Nov. 2008
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tom Paxton (Audio CD)
I had an old vinyl record of some of the tracks
like "My lady's a high flying dove" which were sung
with real love.

Imagine how much passion he manages to convey now he
is no longer with the lady. I was very disappointed with
this disk and consigned it to the dustbin.

Some things should be frozen in time
- buy the "Elektra Years" for a true reissue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Tom Paxton
The Very Best Of Tom Paxton by Tom Paxton (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews