Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing...
I first listened to this disc as a fifteen year-old and music was never the same thereafter. I started hunting straight away for the original US musicians who had inspired first Mayall and then the unbelievably young Clapton. And I'm still listening to the fruits of that search. Meantime it opened me up to the expanding British Blues scene and subsequently other new...
Published on 15 Feb. 2006 by nickpaulmichael

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Innovative and influential, but a flawed masterpiece
It's hard to remember just how brave Clapton was to leave the Yardbirds just when they had become successful and go on to throw in his lot with John Mayall's rag tag and bobtail touring band. However, courage paid off, and this album with Mayall proved to be the foundation of his (financially) incredibly successful career.

On this album Clapton contributes 5...
Published on 31 May 2011 by Dun Ravin'


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing..., 15 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
I first listened to this disc as a fifteen year-old and music was never the same thereafter. I started hunting straight away for the original US musicians who had inspired first Mayall and then the unbelievably young Clapton. And I'm still listening to the fruits of that search. Meantime it opened me up to the expanding British Blues scene and subsequently other new British genres, all the way from Fleetwood Mac and Chicken Shack, to The Groundhogs, Steeleye and Fairport. The music itself is quite simply inspired, mainly by the fusion of the very different talents of the individuals involved. I'm not sure that Mayall ever wrote, sang or played as well again 'though Clapton went on to far greater things. Just listen to Track 5, Double Crossin' Time, written by the both of them, which displays their different talents perfectly. This disc is one of those very rare seminal recordings which brings as much pleasure now as on the day it came off the presses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most important guitar album of all time!, 8 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
The best guitar player of the time on top of his game. Classic tracks. The perfect combination of guitar and amp. Incredible solos... Listening to this album it is easy to see why rock took the directions it did. This is the blueprint for pretty much every rock/blues album that followed, and in my opinion the closest Clapton ever got to this ever again is on Layla... This is Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best ever British blues albums, 13 Feb. 2002
By 
Bob Heath (wolverhampton UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
Although John Mayall used a series of lead guitarists for his Bluesbreakers band in the 60s and 70s, including Peter Green and Mick Taylor, it was Clapton who really shone, as his guitar talent had already been formed with the Yardbirds. However, this is not an Eric Clapton album, as the main performer, and band leader, was Mayall himself who was an experienced and exciting blues player. Additionally, strong backing support was provided on bass guitar by John McVie (later Fleetwood Mac) and Hughie Flint on drums to what is going on out front. This one of the two best Mayall recordings, and Clapton features very strongly throughout. Indeed, his work here is probably stronger than the later Cream recordings. This is essential rhythm and blues from a period when good R & B bands were a dominant feature of the UK music scene (Rory Gallagher; Victor Brox: etc), and where Mayall represented the pinnacle. If you like blues and/or Clapton do not miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sheer tone, 7 July 2005
By 
S. Roberts (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
This is the album that launched the Gibson Les Paul + Marshall amp combination that has defined the sound of rock for so long. It is worth buying for that alone. Absolute, pure, smooth but crunchy, toney goodness! Thankfully, the music is top notch, ranging from the energetic opener to the instrumental "Steppin Out", to the drum solo and tribute to the Beatles' "Day Tripper" on "What'd I Say?". Excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Heaven By Eric Clapton!, 15 Dec. 2002
By 
Nicholas Aleshin "DeltaNick" (Ellicott City, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
Few albums have had greater impact than the landmark John Mayall With Eric Clapton "Blues Breakers." Released by the Decca label in Britain on 22 July 1966, literally days after Clapton quit the Bluesbreakers and just a week before Cream's debut, it went all the way to #6, a pretty mean feat since Mayall's band had never had a hit single. This may have been a first in Britain.
Of course, this is the album that set the blues and guitar worlds aflame and established Eric Clapton's name worldwide as the most passionate of musical interpreters. If you haven't yet heard "Beano" (as the album is affectionately known, because Clapton is pictured reading "The Beano" comic book on its cover), then you ain't heard nuthin' yet!
From the album's first notes, you realize that you're in guitar heaven, as "Slowhand" shows us the way electric guitar can and should be played. Clapton's virtuoso playing is white-hot throughout. Playing with maturity beyond his 21 years, the young Eric Clapton was so influential that Gibson eventually reissued the (out-of-production since 1960) Les Paul model guitar, which Clapton then played.
John Mayall's Bluesbreakers served--and still serves today--as a finishing school for great musicians and sidemen (Clapton, Peter Green, Mick Taylor, John McVie, Jack Bruce, Aynsley Dunbar, Mick Fleetwood, Coco Montoya and others). Mayall's proselytizing the blues (he's 69 years old!), his songwriting skills, and his other musical talents should not be ignored nor taken lightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential for blues lovers, 12 Jun. 2001
By 
Top Cat (Up, Down, All Around) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
This studio recordings of John Mayall's band are really good!! And, in my opinion, owe it all to a certain Mr. Clapton. His guitar tone was ground breaking in those days (he was the first to record in the studio at full stage-volume) and his playing 35 years ago still influences the aspiring guitar player today. At this stage he was near his peak as an innovative guitarist and is really (at the age of 21) a pretty accomplished blues player. So, the selections are very good, the playing is phenomenal (except for a drum solo we all could live without), and the sound is excellent. Still, I won't give it 5 stars because of John Mayall's weak vocals. It certainly is a relief everytime I get to one of the last tracks "Rambling On My Mind", the classic Robert Johnson cover which Eric delivers solo, and though his singing is still a bit insecure, he sure does sound charming and, as he will do from now on in his career, feeling every single word he's singing. So, you guessed right, Eric is for me, the highlight of the cd, but if you don't believe me just check out "Rambling On My Mind" and the way the man solos on "Have You Heard", and that should be enough to convince you... This is a must for all Clapton lovers as well as for the blues aficionado.
I love you, Esther.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album that changed my life., 28 May 2006
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
On a week's holiday with my parent's in Littlehampton in Sussex during the summer of '66, as ever, I found a record shop. Without much money as I was still at school, (just), I had the choice, in my mind anyway, between two albums; The Mother's Of Invention's 'Freakout,' and 'Bluesbreakers.' Maybe there had been a lot of publicity at the time about 'Freakout,' I can't remember, but for some reason I was torn between which one to buy. Probably the fact that I was a Yardbirds fan and had listened to 'Five Live' a great deal made up my mind, and I plumped for 'Bluesbreakers.' It was to be the wisest move and the best purchase I ever made. As a then, and still now, 'would-be' guitarist, this album, for its time in rock history, had everything you wanted and more, and has pretty much stayed that way over the ensuing years. To play with this degree of skill and feeling at Clapton's age of 21 at the time, was and is incredible. At 15, he was almost an old man to me being 6 years older, yet even so, the bluesmen I had heard were in their 30's and over, (really old men!), and even now this album begs the question "Why was Clapton so great at such a young age?" We will never know, and if put to the question, probably neither would he? It was just something he was drawn to and did, and has had the good fortune to do so for the rest of his life. If you're a guitarist, Clapton fan, blues enthusiast, whatever, and you don't own this album, simply buy it now - it will remain a classic for as long as planet Earth keeps turning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Heaven By Eric Clapton!, 15 Dec. 2002
By 
Nicholas Aleshin "DeltaNick" (Ellicott City, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bluesbreakers (Audio CD)
Few albums have had greater impact than the landmark John Mayall With Eric Clapton "Blues Breakers." Released by the Decca label in Britain on 22 July 1966, literally days after Clapton quit the Bluesbreakers and just a week before Cream's debut, it went all the way to #6, a pretty mean feat since Mayall's band had never had a hit single. This may have been a first in Britain.
Of course, this is the album that set the blues and guitar worlds aflame and established Eric Clapton's name worldwide as the most passionate of musical interpreters. If you haven't yet heard "Beano" (as the album is affectionately known, because Clapton is pictured reading "The Beano" comic book on its cover), then you ain't heard nuthin' yet!
From the album's first notes, you realize that you're in guitar heaven, as "Slowhand" shows us the way electric guitar can and should be played. Clapton's virtuoso playing is white-hot throughout. Playing with maturity beyond his 21 years, the young Eric Clapton was so influential that Gibson eventually reissued the (out-of-production since 1960) Les Paul model guitar, which Clapton then played.
John Mayall's Bluesbreakers served--and still serves today--as a finishing school for great musicians and sidemen (Clapton, Peter Green, Mick Taylor, John McVie, Jack Bruce, Aynsley Dunbar, Mick Fleetwood, Coco Montoya and others). Mayall's proselytizing the blues (he's 69 years old!), his songwriting skills, and his other musical talents should not be ignored nor taken lightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cornerstone, 4 April 2014
By 
Koos "Koos Reitsma" (Groningen, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
We always have to remember: this album was recorded in spring '66 and released in the summer of 1966. It is indeed one of those rare albums that induced and created such a shift in popular music. Just think about about how electric guitars sounded on records before the blues breakers, on this Blues Breakers and after this one. Even if you dimiss Clapton for his work in the middle seventies and later on, you have to praise Clapton for this one.

Try to imagine a world of music without the sound of the britrock, of the punk, of the Led Zeppelin, of the CSNY, of the Allman Brothers Band, of the punk, of the glamrock, of the Woodstock generation. Try to imagine a world of music like that. Picture yourself in the year of 1966, a time where friends gather around because your friend had bought an brand new exciting record. Try to imagine your expectations, your thrill, your curiosity.

Then listen to the opening guitar cords on 'All you love'. I am not the biggest Clapton fan, but those opening guitar notes are mindblowing, the most powerful and the strongest notes to be heard on an opening track. And it is not only the opening track. What the band did was to record just like they played live. A praise for producer Mike Vernon, who experienced something that had never been done before, but still believed in the project and kept going on.

Still after 50 years the power is there.

We are listening to start of bluesrock, rock and the ignition of hardrock. John Mayall, Eric Clapton, John McVie and Hughie Flint have delivered a classic, a standard, a very special one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the best from the Golden Age of R&B, 5 April 2010
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
It's albums like "Blues Breakers" for which the words "classic" and "timeless" were invented. Originally released by Decca Records in 1966, "The Beano" as it's sometimes known (look at the cover photo) firmly established the then 21-year-old Eric Clapton's reputation as the greatest and most innovative blues guitarist to emerge from the golden age of British R&B, a reputation he has sustained for more than 40 years.

If you are a fan of R&B, blues or rock and have never heard this album, then prepare to have your mind blown. With Clapton at the heart of this incarnation of the Blues Breakers was the great John Mayall, usually referred to as "The Father of British Blues". With John McVie on bass (who moved on to become the "Mac" of Fleetwood Mac) and Hughie Flint on drums, you have the perfect tight, energy-filled R&B line-up from the mid-sixties.

(There is a guest appearance by Dennis Healey on trumpet - not THAT Dennis Healey, surely? Anyone know for sure?)

Even after the passage of decades, these numbers sound crisp and fresh and will have you dancing round the room. I have the original vinyl album from 1966, and the CD is better. The sound is crisper and deeper, and there are two bonus tracks - "Lonely Hearts" and "Bernard Jenkins."

Clapton's guitar solo in the middle of "Key to Love" remains for me the quintessential example of the perfect 60-second solo: tight, disciplined, fast, virtuoso, clean, imaginative, pushing the main theme and, jazz-style, bringing it back to the root with perfect timing.

The music of The Blues Breakers has been endlessly imitated, covered, extended, and used as a benchmark by thousands of bands world wide for the past 44 years.

But it's never, ever been equalled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blues Breakers With Eric Clapton
Blues Breakers With Eric Clapton by John Mayall (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews