Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Angry young man, 11 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satisfaction Is the Death of Desire (Audio CD)
I first came across the name Hatebreed was when I was reading a review for Biohazard's album Kill or be killed and one reviewer said that the band was trying to copy this band Hatebreed (that I'd never heard of before). The first thing I had to do was to check this band out and I'm very glad I did! I checked out a couple of their songs but the song that really grabbed me along with the video was I will be heard. The aggression, the angry intensity and upfront, genuine lyrics of frustration and striving for more really hit home with me and I loved that song from the first time. I immediately identified that Hatebreed wasn't just a noisy, angry band full of angst; they actually were speaking about real stuff and weren't there to make noise like a lot of metal/hardcore bands..

So then I decided to check out their albums and this is the 1st! Satisfaction is the death of desire is an amazing title because it directly reflects what this band represents; not being satisfied with life and positivity in negativity. This album was released in 1997 and on the minor label Victory records. This may be the debut and the early days before the band had really honed their sound but what an album it is!

The album is 14 songs and 25:45. Empty promises immediately pulls you in with lyrics about dissatisfaction with the way these other people are telling him to live his life. With its short time and fast pace it sets up the sound for the rest of the album. The songs really are short pieces of amazing hardcore and they are perfect that way. The band doesn't mess around with dragging the songs out and that's what is so great about them. The songs really do stick around in your head after listening to them and I definitely think that's because of the memorable lyrics and a lot of stuff crammed into around 2 minutes. The longest track is 2:38! Jamie Jasta is also a fantastic vocalist and I have a lot of respect for a guy who can shout his way through a whole album and sound amazing!
My favourite track is Not one truth with a bouncy, rhythmical chorus and blunt lyrics. - it represents the best of the overall sound . There are no bad songs at all but my favourites are Burn the lies, Puritan, Conceived through an act of violence, Betrayed by life, Mark my words and Burial for the living. The songs really pump me up!

An amazing piece of work and an awesome, short but sweet hardcore gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 12 Oct. 2012
By 
hatebadmusic (Bolton, Greater Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satisfaction Is the Death of Desire (Audio CD)
A must buy, unrelenting, furious, underground music at its finest. A classic and one of my favourite albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 25 Minutes of top class Metallic Hardcore, 27 Sept. 2001
By 
coaleye@hotmail.com (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Satisfaction Is the Death of Desire (Audio CD)
this album comes in and kicks you in the face. just what you want really. the connecticut hardcore lot release their first full length album through victory, and of the 14 tracks, not one of them is bad. not much is left to the imagination from start to finish, as it just obvious, all out hardcore.recommended to all fans of the metal/hardcore genre, and with high profile fans such as sepultura, soulfly and will haven, as well as their recent appearance on the main stage of the US Ozzfest, their upcoming release will have a much larger impact than satisfaction... has had---although this may be because they are currently inking a deal with a mystery major label through which to release the album. lets hope thats the only thing to have sold out about this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallic hardcore classic, 4 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Satisfaction Is the Death of Desire (Audio CD)
This is the best Metallic hardcore album ever. Every song on this album just jumps up and kicks you in the face. If you haven't heard any of this album before then think Sepultura/slayer with huge beatdowns. This album is intense. It is aggressive and you will not be dissapointed with what you hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ANGRY, WORKING CLASS, DEFIANT HARDCORE..., 5 Feb. 2009
By 
Adam Jackson (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satisfaction Is the Death of Desire (Audio CD)
Heavy and brutal hardcore/crossover - before the stronger Death Metal/Metalcore sound of the later albums. Less than half an hour long with a decent, unfussy production and a singleminded determination. Great bass, fast drums, and chainsaw guitars to accompany Jamie Jasta's full on raucous shouting (less DM than on the later material, but sometimes reminding me of Tom Warrior from Celtic Frost). The lyrics should pump you up as well!
I prefer the later material but this is good stuff; not unlike DRI...
Standout track is Conceived Through An Act Of Violence - an absolute 100 mph riot with a brutal, UK82 style riff :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice hardcore album, 7 Oct. 2014
By 
Vittorio (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satisfaction Is the Death of Desire (Audio CD)
Nice hardcore album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hatebreed,nu-mary poppins sugar-metal for the 90's, 21 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Satisfaction Is the Death of Desire (Audio CD)
Move over radish,move over toploader,hatebreed are here to take over your shelf space at number one,or maybe number 2?,guitarist,Wazzy jumblicker's distortion which almost matches up to that of raphael's sound on the teenage mutant hero turtle album,mean guitarist with only 2 fingers,just like wazzy!great melodys come flying out of singer,munchy mc.kichan's mouth like a rotton egg from an angry musical goose.Move over peter andre this is harder core than you could ever have been,just.Rumours are that the brains behind this band is in fact ex-take thatter gary barlow,and I think it really shows,C-YA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Satisfaction Is the Death of Desire (Audio CD)
Brilliant nu-metal/hardcore/death/trash. What can I say but it is very very good. It requires a few listens to really get into it but if you like your music heavy then you will like this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Satisfaction Is the Death of Desire
Satisfaction Is the Death of Desire by Hatebreed (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews