Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hole At Their Best
This album is excellent from start to finish, and it's by far the best thing Hole ever released. Their (or should I say, her) later albums, 'Live Through This' and 'Celebrity Skin' pale in comparison to this unbelievable angst-ridden, grungey, raw riot rock record. Every song on it shines but the best one is probably the title track, mainly for it's lyrical content,...
Published on 2 Feb. 2003

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not polished like other Hole albums.
This Hole's first lp,it's like Nirvana's Bleach,very rough sounding and not as polished as Hole's next two lps.This is not in my opinion there best and often hard to listen too.
Published on 25 Feb. 2008 by D. Bibb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hole At Their Best, 2 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pretty on the Inside (Audio CD)
This album is excellent from start to finish, and it's by far the best thing Hole ever released. Their (or should I say, her) later albums, 'Live Through This' and 'Celebrity Skin' pale in comparison to this unbelievable angst-ridden, grungey, raw riot rock record. Every song on it shines but the best one is probably the title track, mainly for it's lyrical content, Courtney screeches: "Slut kiss girls won't you promise her smack? Is she pretty on the inside is she pretty from the back?" The imagery created by the lyrics is very apparent on 'Mrs. Jones': "Sister ectoplasma, she's incredulous, just like a pro she takes off her dress..." If you have never bought anything by Hole before, I would suggest buying their later stuff first (which is still really good) and if you like that, get this. If you buy this first, and then the other stuff, you will wind up disappointed, because this is far better than their later releases. You will wonder why Hole never stayed as good as they were when Courtney was singing about Teenage Whores and Babydolls. However, if you are a Hole fan and already own Live Through This and Celebrity Skin, e.t.c., then buy this and listen to Courtney, before Kurt, before Frances, before there was anything except her and her band. Hole rocked. Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pass the Cough Syrup...........Hole is Here!, 24 July 2002
By 
nathan j garcia (austin, texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pretty on the Inside (Audio CD)
Jump in a van and head to Canada for some codeine cough syrup! Hole is gonna be in town for the party! If you were to only own one Hole album, this is the one you would want for your collection. I bought this the day it came out and I still listen to it once a week. Every single song on this cd is filled with gut-wrenching vocals, dangerous drumbeats provided by Caroline Rue, and stunning lyrical imagery. This cd was made back in the days when Hole rocked. When they were a spectacle. When they were good. The cd features artwork by Jill Emery (former Hole bassist) and lead singer Courtney Love and was produced by Sonic Youth's Kim Gordon. Dark and heavy, this is how Hole should have stayed. If you're a true Hole fan, then you already have this. If you don't, then you better get it now..........poser!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hole's best ever album, 28 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pretty on the Inside (Audio CD)
This is in my opinion Hole's best album by far. It was the first Hole album to be recorded and shows an even angrier side of Courtney than can be seen in both 'Live Through This' and the more recent (and disappointing)'Celebrity Skin'. The title track and 'Baby Doll' are my particular favourites. The choice of material in the inlay sleeve appears random, but does reflect the very nature of the music itself. Courtney once said 'I was conciously self conscious on Pretty on the Inside', well I don't know about that, but I can tell anyone: this is a work of raw genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite album, 30 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Pretty on the Inside (Audio CD)
pretty on the inside is in my opinion the best hole album released. it's just amazing. the lyrics are very beautiful- courtney is at her rawest and most passionate, she screams and sings and whispers and talks and it's great.the chaos develops into such beautiful songs.it's a magical album that everyone should own.i cant stop listening to it, it's just one of those few albums u don't get bored of. songs to listen out for are Loaded, Mrs Jones, Babydoll and Garbage man. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "pretty power" rules, 22 May 2004
By 
Miss Ashley J. West "Ashley Jane" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty on the Inside (Audio CD)
I can understand people saying this album is just Courtney screaming off key with a lot of angst, but I think that's great. There is actually some amazing music on here, especially on Garbadge Man, Courtney's vocals are fantastic. It's the angriest thing I've heard to come from Hole, and after this and Live Through This I think it went all downhill from there for Courtney. My favourite songs on the album are Garbadge Man, Baby Doll and Good Sister, Bad Sister. When I first listened to it, I thought it was just loud and angry and nothing more, but then I discovered there was a lot more to this record and I recommend it to anyone who misses angry rock chicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely amazing!!!, 17 Aug. 2011
This review is from: PRETTY ON THE INSIDE (Audio CD)
This, in my opinion is an amazing album, and definitely the best hole album by far. I love the first sessions and pretty on thi inside, but personally think their later stuff isn't that great.
ALL the songs from pretty on the inside have been on my playlist forever, and I never get sick of any of them, so definitely go ahead and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOTHING LIKE THIS BEFORE OR AFTER, 1 Oct. 2006
By 
This review is from: Pretty on the Inside (Audio CD)
This brief moment of shinning genius in courtney love's career will always be underated by people who just cannot cope with the embarrasing, frightening, unhinged lunacy of this womans rage. There are moments on this album (such as the moment on "Berry" when courtney raves about her abortions and screams "i kill what made" with a creepy mix of shame and defiance) that cannot be compared with anything that has ever come before it or anything since. Give this album enough time to show you its twisted beauty as the first listen is pretty overwhelming and the repeated listens will reveal an unrivalled genius in terms of the wonderfully grotesque lyrical imagery and the different layers of texture and sound. It is unique in time as the most brutally dissonant, nightmarish portal to hell ever created by a woman in music. This is a sound of a fighter who chose to out-monster the monster, to exorcise the fear and sadness and stare it down rather than go gentle into that good night. An inspiration for anyone in their blackest moments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAW ROCK,THE WAY I LIKE IT!!!, 26 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Pretty on the Inside (Audio CD)
HMmmm..what can i say,buy the album,this was hole at there 'peak',and being produced with don fleming and kim gordon (WOW)This album is packed full of angst ridden vocals and pleaty of noise to keep all you grunge,noise loving fans happy,and believe me it will impress you!
courtney's vocals are very haunting,and songs stick in you'r head for weeks on end,from the noise of teenage whore to beatuy of good sister bad sister,and crazy lyrics to the self titled song pretty on the inside,its great!!!!!
a masterpiece in my opinion!!!! buy it for you'r kids for christmas!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Raw and Angry...and Relevent!!!!, 2 Dec. 2010
By 
This review is from: PRETTY ON THE INSIDE (Audio CD)
Great early Hole album...back in the days when not all artists pandered to commercialism. I liked their subsequent albums, which were progressively refined (though this is not a negative comment), but there's a rawness and pure emotion with this one...through which you can vent your anger!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty on the Inside...very, 22 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. A. Williamson (N.Devon, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PRETTY ON THE INSIDE (Audio CD)
Whilst I wouldn't go as far to say that it is Hole's best release, that accolade really rests with Live Through This, Pretty on the Inside is still an amazing album and definitely a necessary addition to any fan's collection. For me, the highlights of the album would have to be "Garbadge Man", "Loaded", "Starbelly" and the dreamy closing "Pretty on the Inside/Clouds". It took me a few listens to completely get into this album, though it was worth it, the lyrics are some of the best Courtney's ever penned and her singing/growling/shrieking really powers the record. The title of the album sums it up completely- on the outside the fuzzy noise can make it hard listening at first, but stick with it and the album is one of the most beautiful I own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PRETTY ON THE INSIDE
PRETTY ON THE INSIDE by Hole (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews