Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album of great rap tracks about life, rather than rapping about MCing
I got this album because I'd heard and loved "Roller Skating Jam Named 'Saturdays'" - I wasn't dissapointed. There are so many funky, jazzy and downright catchy tracks. There's maybe one or two that's a bit dull, but that's 1 or 2 out of 20 tracks, fellas.

Zoom forward 13 or 14 years and it's still a great play. The lyrics are interesting and funny and most...
Published on 22 Sep 2006 by Nobby Hendrix

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars De La is still alive........
.........but don't kick quite as hard as their first release, or BuhlooneMindstate. For me, this album is too long and has far too many skits. Ifthese skits where removed the album would be alot doper, but after twolistens the record just becomes annoying. There trade mark innovativerhyme schemes and interesting concepts (check out "oodles of o's) are allin check, but the...
Published on 23 April 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album of great rap tracks about life, rather than rapping about MCing, 22 Sep 2006
This review is from: De La Soul Is Dead (Audio CD)
I got this album because I'd heard and loved "Roller Skating Jam Named 'Saturdays'" - I wasn't dissapointed. There are so many funky, jazzy and downright catchy tracks. There's maybe one or two that's a bit dull, but that's 1 or 2 out of 20 tracks, fellas.

Zoom forward 13 or 14 years and it's still a great play. The lyrics are interesting and funny and most importantly, THEY ARE NOT MCING ABOUT MCING - I find nothing more dull than hearing someone rapping that they are they best mo-fo MC this side of Jersee or something similar.

Back to the early 90s, after wearing out my cassette of "De La Soul Is Dead", I then went out and bought "3 feet high and rising" and frankly, I was dissapointed. It's a bit warm and fluffy - not as edgy, not as boundary pushing. Shame. Then I got "Stakes Is High" [sigh] - it's NOT all about what great MCs they are, but it still feels to me like the egos have taken over control of their direction.

I'm not saying that "De La Soul Is Dead" is the only great hip hop album De La made, but it's my favourite by some way.

Oh, don't buy this if you're easily offended, it should go without saying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawed masterpiece, 29 Jan 2003
By 
J. Smith "Jeremy Smith" (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: De La Soul Is Dead (Audio CD)
Finding it impossible to follow up on their instant classic "3 Feet High and Rising" and sick of the misinterpretations of their "hippie" message De La Soul released this album as a pre-emptive strike on the critics and fanbase they had aquired over the previous 18 months. "De La Soul is dead" is everything that their debut wasn't; cynical("Ring ring ring"),angry(My brother's a basehead")and full of black humour ("Mollie pulled a pistol on Santa").Everything that is, except brilliant and imaginative. One of the few concept albums in rap that bears repeated listening, even the most obnoxious sentiments on the album ("Bitties in the BK Lounge") are laced with that distinctive De La sense of humour, although at times the joke seems to have worn itself out ("Not over till the fat lady plays the demo")Bold, brash and brilliant, this is a flawed masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What happens when you rise higher than 3 feet..., 5 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: De La Soul Is Dead (Audio CD)
Nostalgic music journo's always cite De La Soul's massively successful debut album "3 Feet High & Rising" as a Hip Hop classic, and yet while few would argue with that sentiment, it was their sophomore LP "De La Soul Is Dead" that, in my humble opinion, was the superior release.
De La Soul obviously had a problem with their 'Daisy Age' concept that formed the backbone of their artistic direction on their first album. Maybe they were sick of the idea, maybe they were worried about getting pigeon-holed as a novelty rap act. So their 2nd album had a much different concept...kill the 'Daisy Age' off completely so they can get on with doing what they do best, make phat Hip Hop music.
Of course, reviews at the time weren't kind. With the first LP so well-received, critics and some fans alike were upset that De La had chosen such a different direction and chose to discredit this album. Bottom line is that "De La Soul Is Dead" has all the ingredients that made "3 Feet..." so compelling (the skits, the Prince Paul production, the wildly-varied subject matter etc.) but rather than get bogged down with 'hippy' stylings and day-glo 70's-esque imagery, De La evolved with the times. Perhaps they were too far ahead of their time with this one, who knows.
So much has been said about the tracks on this album...all I'll say is that rarely do you find an album as cohesive as "De La Soul Is Dead" which is devoid of filler, contains at least a half-dozen stand-out singles and some of the most original lyrics and production you'll ever hear. Buy it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT Album, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De La Soul Is Dead (Audio CD)
At first I thought no other De La Soul album could be as good as "3 Feet High and Rising". I was wrong. This album is just as good, or maybe even better. It really groves, and it has massive tunes. "A Rollerskating Jam Named Saturdays" is sick. Loads of songs on it are great, just pick the ones you prefer, you have plenty of choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old but good, 20 Oct 2009
This review is from: De La Soul Is Dead (Audio CD)
As fresh sounding as it did 18 years ago....where have the years gone?! A well constucted and intelligent album as well as being downright amusing. This album takes shots at house music, annoying fans, crack heads and MC Hammer devotees. The glorious snippets of smooth 70s sounds backed by minimal stripped back beats and innovative sampling is such a brilliant constrast to the over produced hectic sounds and shallow lyrics of todays' crop of RnB tossers masquerading as rappers.
De La Soul is Dead and proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De La Soul is NOT Dead!, 8 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: De La Soul Is Dead (Audio CD)
Continuing from 3 Feet High & Rising, De La Soul have gone strength to strength, improving upon the impossible standard they set with 3 Feet High & Rising. Pease Porrige, Pass the Plugs & Ring Ring Ring (Ha Ha Hey) are the best tunes on the album. Chill with this CD whilst on a roadtrip your mates. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars De La is still alive........, 23 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: De La Soul Is Dead (Audio CD)
.........but don't kick quite as hard as their first release, or BuhlooneMindstate. For me, this album is too long and has far too many skits. Ifthese skits where removed the album would be alot doper, but after twolistens the record just becomes annoying. There trade mark innovativerhyme schemes and interesting concepts (check out "oodles of o's) are allin check, but the beats don't always match those on Three Feet High.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa52d4f60)

This product

De La Soul Is Dead
De La Soul Is Dead by De La Soul (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews