Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even now, mind blowing
This is one of those records that quite literally wrote rules. It's built around a concept that repeats through the album yet applies to none of it - a feature which has become common place in hip-hop - but that's a mere scratching of the surface. When it arrived it sounded like a spaced out gentler vision of a genre about to surrender to the harsh sounds of gangsta. In a...
Published on 31 Mar 2006 by pjr

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, beware DRM
I was pleased to receive this cd as a present, and I listened to it whilst I was driving my parents' car a lot. When I returned home I realized that no device that I owned could play this cd due to the intrusive DRM on the cd. It wouldn't play on a laptop or in my home console and it couldn't be ripped, and I have heard it will not play on car systems which are compatible...
Published 17 months ago by Joe Toye


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excelllent, 21 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 Feet High and Rising (Audio CD)
This is an excellent CD. TO those who bought it originally, you will know the album suffers from too many skits: there seem to be more skits than songs. However, with the remixes on the bonus CD, you have around 8 really brilliant tracks. really good value for a slice of hip-hop history that still stands up to the best today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THe best hip-hop album to date, 5 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 3 Feet High and Rising (Audio CD)
I bought this about a year ago after hearing my older sisters boyfriends copy.From the original, and witty, intro followed by the magic number(possibly the best song ever?) this album goes from strength to strength. If you are not a fan of gangsta rap (which I am not) De la soul and the whole of the native tongues (tribe called quest,jungle brothers) make a refreshing change and show how hip-hop can and should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De La Soul's Masterpiece, 16 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 3 Feet High and Rising (Audio CD)
Quite simply..one of the best albums of all time..It changed the face of muisc and hip hop. Something that will influence the direction of music the way Sgt.Peppers Did .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rap at Its Best, 1 Nov 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 Feet High and Rising (Audio CD)
Says it all - never to be taken too seriously but never too lightly, De La Soul's greatest album to date - the extended version is worth it for the completist in anyone - and for the bonus disc alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars De La Soul - fabulous, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 Feet High and Rising (Audio CD)
I love this, reminds me of my younger days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some Hits Alot of Waffle, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 Feet High and Rising (Audio CD)
The main disk in this 2 disk set is the singles (and some album tracks) and features a reasonable colllection of tracks. The second disk is drivel, I am not sure who chose the tracks but they do no justice to the De La Soul crew, its almost as if the second cd has been used as a key selling point to this album promoting itself as added value but the value is small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prompt delivery and good service, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 Feet High and Rising (Audio CD)
I purchased this CD and the prompt delivery was great.
The CD arrived and I have used it with no issues. Did not realise there was a bonus CD in the case so this was a nice surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. Ms. Phillips "Vern" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 3 Feet High and Rising (Audio CD)
Listening to this album for the first time as I write this review. Tis album is great. Buy it!!

I don't care if these guys are commercial because wvwn the most underground of Hip Hop have to become commercial to make their $$$ so they are all just wannabe gangbangers.

To make the cash they hae to 'sell their souls'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still stands out like a big redwood!, 5 April 2007
By 
This review is from: 3 Feet High and Rising (Audio CD)
This album will always live in the memory because of how original it was and still is.

Yes this has something to do with the very unoriginal hip hop nowadays but it's still a must own album, they will never top this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong product, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not the product we ordered; there is a big difference between Kingdom of Sorrow and De la Soul. We ordered the later. This is very unsatisfactory!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

3 Feet High and Rising
3 Feet High and Rising by De La Soul (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews