Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best metal debut ever!
Machine Head will never create a better album than this. From start to finish it is nothing short of superb. I bought it when it first came out and it still sends a tingle down my spine as soon as I hear the beginning of the first track, Davidian. I have bought everything by the band since and seen them live and they remain one of my favourite bands ever! If you are a...
Published on 27 Mar 2004 by DD

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I honestly don't get the hype off this album it's alright not that great.
Hmmmmm, Whats with this massive hype eh? Sure the music is excellent but the vocals? Man do they get annoying. I thought their newest album the blackening was awesome, so i downloaded this album whats all the fuss about? Seriously?. The vocals in my opinion are what ruins this album. If this was instrumental then it would kick ass but sadly Rob Flynn had to sing wait...
Published on 29 July 2008 by Sandra O'Hagan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best metal debut ever!, 27 Mar 2004
By 
DD (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Burn My Eyes (Audio CD)
Machine Head will never create a better album than this. From start to finish it is nothing short of superb. I bought it when it first came out and it still sends a tingle down my spine as soon as I hear the beginning of the first track, Davidian. I have bought everything by the band since and seen them live and they remain one of my favourite bands ever! If you are a metal fan you must have this cd! It is state of the art and doesn't get any better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning, 28 Feb 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Burn My Eyes (Audio CD)
it must be gratifying to think that you have released an album that has inspired plenty and still sounds so good some 12 years later,machine head can go to sleep knowing that burn my eyes is that album,it is heavy,raw and packed with a punch but yet in all that it stands as one of metals most melodic and passionate album,it is essential,of that there is no doubt,the band havent really changed their sound and they shouldnt ,they may never do an album as good but we have this and its superb,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immense!, 6 Nov 2002
By 
M. J. Livingstone "a_n_s" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burn My Eyes (Audio CD)
Thats the word that describes this album perfectly! Faster than light drumming and guitar solos that drill their way into your head with such a force that by the time this album is over it has got right into what you are and you HAVE to listen to it again! This album is energising and this album is damn harsh! It throws you off the walls a few times before leaving you a steaming pile of adrenaline on the floor! A must have album for anyone who likes thrash metal or any other hardcore genre! First songs that come to mind that make this album the moster that it is are: Davidian, None But my Own, The Rage To Overcome, Blood For Blood...well...Basically the whole album! This album will convert you to the heavier side of metal if you're not already there! 10 STARS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most original metal albums of the decade!, 19 Sep 2001
By 
serviceagent@excite.co.uk (AJ from Romford (evil nights!)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Burn My Eyes (Audio CD)
Just when thrash was dying out and nu-metal and grunge started kicking in, the Bay Area Boys entered. This is certainly not any normal thrash album heard before, its got a semi-futuristic flow to it, this will become clear once you first hear opening track 'Davidian', crushing and bruising, it churns bizarre distorted riffs before it turns into a fast razor-sharp killing machine, a perfect anthem that's designed for any action movie with car chases. Then it moves onto 'Old' and 'A Thousand Lies' with its sludge-like riffs, there's 'The Rage To Overcome' with its constant super-speed drumming which isn't too disimilar to Davidian. Then there is 'Nation On Fire' which starts off in acoustic fashion you may not have before then blasts peice by peice into arrays of mega-heavy chugs, not before the finale in which it turns into some pure old-school guitar shredding like Morbid Angel and Celtic Frost. Its such a shame you look at Machine Head now, that the heaviness of his music is considerably 'weaker' from what it was, and the fact that he raps in his new songs doesn't help either. So, without further ado, I would to take the opportunity that I can safely say, that this is, was, and forever will be, the greatest Machine Head album ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bes debut ever, 25 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Burn My Eyes (Audio CD)
burn my eyes came into existence exactly ten years after metallica's seminal 'ride the lightning' album. it beautifully shows how you can develop the thrash metal sound into many new places without losing it's roots. for all the hiphop biohazard-esque rhythms on old and block and the melodic edges of a nation on fire and i'm your god now you're still pumped to boiling point by classic metal tracks such as davidian and a thousand lies. gut churning guitars, life defining solo sections and robert flynn's deranged bark make this an absolutely essential listen for anyone who is into metal.
Quite interestingly, it seems almost as if <M|H>'s career is now mirroring Metallicas with each album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old school meets new metal, 19 April 2006
This review is from: Burn My Eyes (Audio CD)
It was a bleak time for music when this record came out. Metal was low-profile and mainstream music had just escaped mass-produced electronic pap.

Machine Head burst on to the scene with an album that fused old-school guitar-orientated rock with some hip-hop beats and aggressive vocals that avoided the 'extreme for the sake of it' style of wannabe metal gods.

The riffs are incredible, inventive and razor-edged, and supported by a tight base and rythmn section. The opener 'Davidian' is a monster that tears into a tortured riff that remains indelible on the memory, before breaking into a charge headlong into the sort of music Sepultura had wanted to acheive for several albums.

It doesn't get any worse along the way. The band fit together in an almosty orchestral level of organisation and leave you battered and bruised by Hate Church, Old, Realize, Thousand Lies. Catchy melodies, guitar work that they all apsire to, and an energy hard to beat.

Old school meets new metal, and something new was born. What a record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure excellence on a cd, 12 Nov 2001
This review is from: Burn My Eyes (Audio CD)
well,havin heard machine heads more recent stuff i was hooked so decided to go for a bit of history and this album is so much more superiour to supercharger its pretty sickening....not sayin supercharger bad cause in my eyes machine can do no wrong really...
neway heres a brief rundown of the tracks
davidan - crunching guitars, smashing sound, this just rules.
old - takes a bit of gettin used to but its pretty good
a thousand lies - excellent,builds up and explodes.i love this track
none but my own - nice slow track with a build up and a fast ending, pretty damn sweet
the rage to overcome - love this track,great guitar
death church - nice song,excellent guitar
a nation on fire - not unlike none but my own but bloody good all the same.
blood for blood - build up and then it does the unexpected,my favourite track.
im your god now - excellence,if blood for blood wasnt my best then this wud be.
real eyes,realize,real lies - bit of a filler, but ok none the less.
block - pretty fast, not unlike "supercharger" from thier new album
all in all BUY THIS ALBUM YOU WONT REGRET IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true heavy metal classic, 14 July 2005
This review is from: Burn My Eyes (Audio CD)
Robb Flynn's Machine Head are heavily criticised for only ever producing one good album. This argument is a little unfair as Machine Head made one GREAT album. This thrash fuelled masterpiece has everything a metal album should do; deep bellowing vocals & riffs & drums so fast it'll make your head spin.

'Davidian' is completely anthemic with it's classic line 'Let freedom ring witht he shotgun blast!', while 'None But My Own' & 'A Nation On Fire' both feature amazingly fast and furious breakdowns. Basically this is a whole albums worth of heavy HEAVY metal. Few bands manage such a high level of brutality without slipping into mindless-noise territory.

There's a very good reason this is ranted about by so many people. Not only was this album a revelation at the time it was released, it also stands up today as being crushingly heavy & intelligent music.

Your heavy metal collection will always have a gaping hole until you add this gem.

5 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 3 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Burn My Eyes (Audio CD)
This made Machine Head my favourite band, along with the VERY slightly tamer 'The More Things Change'. Best metal album of the 90s, by far. Best debut album possibly ever, but certainly up there with the likes of System Of A Down and Guns n Roses in terms of quality. And more importantly, the best album in my collection. Very often, albums that make an attempt at being as heavy as this can come out as a seemingly random selection of loud noises made by guitars and drums. This however, puts together monster riffs, super quick drumming, and some great vocals by the living legend himself to creat a near perfect album. Some songs do stand out, but even the 'bad' ones are absolutely awesome (well, bad ONE 'Death Church'). The best songs would have to be 'Davidian' (for the double bassing), 'None But My Own' (for longevity and raw power throughout), 'Old', 'Block', 'The Rage To Overcome' (for general brilliantness), and 'I'm Your God Now' (genius song). The whole album reeks of quality, none of the Head's later efforts come anywhere near to being as good, and while there have been talks of 'Through the Ashes...' being like it, I very much doubt if anyone could ever make another album as brilliant as this. Must buy for all metal fans, all Machine Head fans will already have it so no need to recommend it to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic !, 13 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Burn My Eyes (Audio CD)
At a time when metal was in crisis and we were left with either the old dinosaurs of the 70s or the new 'funk metal' 'Burn My Eyes' came back to renew faith in hard edged rock.
The album kicks off with 'Davidian', a classic battle-cry of a track with the trademark skilled, incredibly tight but still flambouyant that features through the album. Incredibly it manages to avoid going downhill from here with 'Old', 'Thousand Eyes', 'Real Lies...', 'I'm Your God Now' and not a weak track there.
Erratic guitarist Logan Madder is at his best on this, the rhythmn section is tight, and the vocals are impressive. 'Burn My Eyes' is a classic album I would never expect to hear as a first album by anyone, and will remain a classic for years to come.
I now know how those people who bought the albums 'Ace of Spades' or Sabbath's 'Mob Rules' when they first came out years ago felt. History in the making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Burn My Eyes
Burn My Eyes by Machine Head (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews