Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a dub rollercoaster
This was one of my favourite dub albums of the 80's. The reggae greats series were best-of compilations, good introductions to the bands featured, but this one was exclusively mixed, and essentially a dub version of Black Uhuru's Chill Out. To my ears Sly & Robbie's pure dub albums can sound too dry and sparse; no such worries here as Paul Smykle's remix...
Published on 30 April 2001

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too expensive at 4 quid
Buyer beware: 32 minutes of unimaginative sort-of dub from the beginning of the digital era. Hear every stuttering cliché repeated over and over again. Urg.
Published on 19 Feb 2010 by M. C. Davis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a dub rollercoaster, 30 April 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dub Experience - Reggae Greats (Audio CD)
This was one of my favourite dub albums of the 80's. The reggae greats series were best-of compilations, good introductions to the bands featured, but this one was exclusively mixed, and essentially a dub version of Black Uhuru's Chill Out. To my ears Sly & Robbie's pure dub albums can sound too dry and sparse; no such worries here as Paul Smykle's remix produced a very lush spacey sound, nothing dull or repetitive, just an evolving, ambient, deep album. Even after 15 years of ambient and electronic music it stands up to repeated listenings. S & R's best ever album, alongside Language Barrier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy journey through ambient dub, 6 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Dub Experience - Reggae Greats (Audio CD)
This album was responsible for my entry into the great world of dub reggae. With it's flowing ambient beats and noises it will relax your very soul.
The album is a constant uninterupted mix of tunes that have been expertly mixed by our boys, Sly & Robbie, and is guarenteed to get the hairs on your neck standing. So turn up the amp . . . . . these are SOME tunes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Is DUB at it's best!!, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reggae Greats (Audio CD)
Had this on vinyl in the 80's and although I have become a true lover of dub, this really is the dub album that has yet to be bettered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My All Time Favourite Dub Reggae Album!, 9 April 2013
By 
Peter Brierton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reggae Greats (Audio CD)
What can I say about this CD that hasn't already been said in the title? Amazing bass lines, amazing groove, amazing all round feel.

I have played this CD to death; as I did with the original cassette I had of it back in the 90s.

If you only buy one reggae album, buy this. You'll soon find out there's a lot more to reggae than Bob Marley...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dub Experience - Reggae Greats (Audio CD)
This CD brings back so many memories. It is a fantastic CD and the quality is fantastic Out of this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it's good, 17 Aug 2010
By 
V. S. Pollard (Radnorshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reggae Greats (Audio CD)
I have to disagree with the negative review above.
Yes, it's a relatively short record but inventive and unusual.
If your taste extends to 'Chill Out' era Sly & Robbie the last thing this record will do is let your expectations down .
You know what you're here for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars massive !, 29 May 2008
This review is from: Dub Reggae Greats (Audio CD)
I found this CD in HMV ! it's fantastic and I totally love the dub sounds billowing out of every track. Repeated listening is recommended, expecially for the beginner :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too expensive at 4 quid, 19 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reggae Greats (Audio CD)
Buyer beware: 32 minutes of unimaginative sort-of dub from the beginning of the digital era. Hear every stuttering cliché repeated over and over again. Urg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7e7f48c)

This product

A Dub Experience - Reggae Greats
A Dub Experience - Reggae Greats by Sly & Robbie (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews