Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 27 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Lady & The Unicorn (Audio CD)
This album literally changed my tastes in music when i first heard it 18 years ago. I had up to then enjoyed mainly rock music - this introduced me to the joys of the renaissance and earlier. While the production sounds dated on some of these tracks, there is for me still what i consider the greatest - YES THE GREATEST - piece of instrumental music ever recorded anywhere on this album, the final track SCarborough Fair/My johnny was a shoemaker, and this isn't just down to Renbourn. The flautist Tony Roberts contribution is huge, and i've not found much else of his work unfortunately, apart from other Renbourn albums. There is an immnse sense of Englishness about the whole album, irrespective of the European source of some of the mediaeval pieces. Buy it for the 12 min wonder of SCarborough Fair medley alone. A minstrel walking through a summer wood, the larks of the morning singing their merry tune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll Over Bert Jansch And Tell Davey Graham The News., 30 July 2003
John Renbourn is usually mentioned in the same breath as Bert Jansch. True, their paths have crossed from time to time, but Renbourn is the far more eclectic of the two, covering a far wider range of music.
This is, in all probability his finest hour. John concentrates on his mediaeval leanings, turning out some nifty, wing-fingered versions of early Italian dance tunes - Trotto, Lamento Di Tristan and La Rotta.
On the French tunes Bransle de Bougogne/Bransle Gay, he switches to electric guitar for a lovely duet with Dave Swarbrick's fiddle.
The highlights though are a wonderful jazzy version of the old chestnut Scarborough and the magnificently intricate My Johnny Was A Shoe Maker.
Whether taken in tandem with his other sixties opus Sir Lonalot, or on it's own, this is one of THE standout folk guitar albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lady and The Unicorn: John Renbourn - Johnny is a musicmaker..., 20 Sept. 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After his first two solo albums, which were largely blues in style, John Renbourn gave free reign to his interest in early music with the release of Sir John Alot in 1968 and this, his fourth solo album released in 1970.

Here he uses his guitar to explore both Medieval Italian music and early English folk traditions, but infusing both with a style that is all his own, a lightly jazzy/bluesy touch that lends even greater depth to the music.

Renbourn's classic guitar playing, that clear melodic picking is much in evidence, as he sends complex rhythms trickling from the guitar strings. It's a simply beautiful album.

This 2001 remaster from Sanctuary is excellent. The remastered sound is as clear as a bell and lets' Renbourn's delightful playing shine through. It contains the original 8 tracks, plus two bonus tracks, a vocal version of Johnny Was A shoemaker, and a suite of Renbourn's solo material recorded with Pentangle, the group with which he was associated at the time. There is a reproduction of the original sleeve and some interesting liner notes. The release has been put together by people who care about the music for people who care about the music. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars always excellent, 16 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent album from the very underrated John Renbourn.As always his guitar playing is impeccable. His singing however is a touch lightweight, which is why I prefer The John Renbourn group albums such as " A Maid in Bedlam" "Live in America" and "Ship of Fools" which feature the top class vocals of Jacqui McShee Steve Tilston And Maggie Boyle. This is great value for the price though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone ought to have this album in their collection, 29 Mar. 2014
By 
Hampstead Man (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was familiar with album from my youth and paid a fair bit to purchase a deadstock copy from Japan. I'm glad I did. The music is as fresh and unique as it was way back then. A completely successful album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still amazing, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I acquired this recording in the early 70s and it is still amazingly entertaining and stimulating. There isn't a weak moment, even "Scarborough Faire" sounds strong. Renbourn is a master, and this is his masterpiece. Leslie tremeloes on lute tunes?
Yup, he makes it work. Anyone who likes traditional, folk, or promusica and isn't a stuffy authenticist needs this. If they are a stuffy authenticist, they need it even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lady and the Unicorn, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've never actually owned a copy of this, although I've been playing the tunes for 40 years on the guitar.

I recently got rid of my old Jansch and Renbourn records, and wanted CD versions - it's a long time since I last bought a CD, and have been pleased to find they're now half the price they were in the '80s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the lady and the unicorn, 6 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is an absolutley wonderful album just what i was looking for!it really does enchant you to the time of the lady and the unicorn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
V good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LADY & THE UNICORN
LADY & THE UNICORN by John Renbourn (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews