Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a perfect debut
Moby Grape's 1967 magnum opus is the perfect debut album. Weaving stunning and impassioned vocal harmonies against a dense frontline of three guitars and a seriously rocking rhythm section the album exudes energy and sun-soaked optimism. Eschewing the then-fashionable penchant for extended jamming, the album kicks out a series of killer two and a half minute gems...
Published on 14 Sep 2000 by amclutterbuck@brookes.ac.uk

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but doesn't really deliver.
I've tried so hard to like this album; first on vinyl, and then on cd, but it is just plain, overrated. The tracks are way too short, leaving me hungry and dissatisfied. Good tunes,vocals and musicianship, but lacking in real substance.
And certainly not psychedelic; just fast, spiky pop and quaint ballads.
Published 18 months ago by Hengist


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a perfect debut, 14 Sep 2000
This review is from: Moby Grape (Audio CD)
Moby Grape's 1967 magnum opus is the perfect debut album. Weaving stunning and impassioned vocal harmonies against a dense frontline of three guitars and a seriously rocking rhythm section the album exudes energy and sun-soaked optimism. Eschewing the then-fashionable penchant for extended jamming, the album kicks out a series of killer two and a half minute gems that effortlessly fuse rock, folk and country influences with hook-laden pop. All five members wrote and sang so amongst the myriad delights you can sample Bob Mosley's powerful 'white-soul' voice and Skip Spence's visionary songwriting. Check out the storming 'Hey Grandma' and 'Omaha', or the riff-heaven of 'Lazy me' (currently in Robert Plant's Priory of Brion's live set) and the melancholic and beautiful 'Sitting by the window' and '8.05' - gorgeous stuff. Sadly, the Grape never sustained the momentum so evident on this West Coast classic but they're still playing in one form or another in the States and the recent 'Vintage' collection (containing practically eveything they recorded in their first incarnation - including this sparkling debut) has helped keep the flame burning. If you love The Grateful Dead, Creedence Clearwater Revival and CSN@Y you'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now Withdrawn, 19 Nov 2007
By 
T. Hardman (Warrington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moby Grape (Audio CD)
This CD has now been withdrawn and won't be available for the foreseeable future

There is a statment on the Sundazed webiste :

"It was Sony BMG Music Entertainment's decision to cease production of the first three titles, as a result of a longstanding and ongoing dispute over control of the Moby Grape album catalog between Sony BMG Music Entertainment and an outside party."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why is this band so little known?, 8 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Moby Grape (Audio CD)
In my opinion these were one of the truly great bands of the era. Check out '8.05' and if you have ever heard a more perfect pop song I will eat my hat. Skip Spence lifted virtually evrything they did to a new level with his fabulously expressive voice. They excelled in all deparments, vocals, instrumentation and songwriting and are an essential listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is SOOO good!, 24 Sep 2002
This review is from: Moby Grape (Audio CD)
What a debut album! It is truly up there with the best of them. The melodies, the harmonies. They all work so well. The five songwriters are all extremely talented, and if you get this album you will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the top 5 60's albums from the US!, 8 Feb 2007
This review is from: Moby Grape (Audio CD)
I had heard the name of this group mentioned every now and then when reading about the other San Fransisco bands like Love and the Dead, but this album never really warranted a listen. It seemed really hard to get hold of in the UK, but i finally went for it, and all i can say is I am annoyed i didn't get it sooner! It is a great album and a really solid example of the great music of the 60's... great guitar work, great lyrics, and best of all incredible harmonies. Hey Grandma is a brilliant opener, and for me the best of the lot is 8:05... a beautiful song. Overall Moby Grape takes all of the best bits of the 13th floor elevators, the grateful dead, love and to an extent the byrds and buffalo springfield, and makes a great up tempo and really listenable 60s album. underrated, but undeservedly so...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get this perfect album in *any* shape you can, 9 Mar 2012
By 
Henk Beentje "Henk Beentje" (Kew, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Moby Grape (Audio CD)
I listen to a lot of music, but after all these years this (I mean the original) is still one of my favourites; the bonus tracks are nice, but not part of th original, which is the 'perfection' I'm talking about. It is a really tightly crafted album - all songs are jewels in their own right; what's more, they're in a sequence that makes perfect sense. A range of styles, from easygoing (Fall on you) to raw (Mr Blues) to sensitive (8:05, Sitting by the window) to screeching rock (Omaha), rock'n'roll with touches of folk, country, R&B; and forming a unit that keeps on growing on you. It has been growing on *me* for thirty-five years! All five contribute their vital parts that makes for a tight sound that represents the very best of West Coast rock, from the rockhard drums of Stevenson to the very distinct voices of Mosley and Lewis, to the perfect guitar work of Jerry Miller - I once took out an ad in the Dutch mag 'Aloha' to state that Miller is the best guitar player in the world. He isn't - but I still think so!
And in addition to all of this, you get the genius of Skip Spence.
Perfection, pure and simpe. It doesn't get any better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, pure and simple, 12 Jun 2008
By 
Henk Beentje "Henk Beentje" (Kew, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Moby Grape (Audio CD)
I listen to a lot of music, but after all these years this is still one of my favourites. It is a really tightly crafted album - all songs are jewels in their own right; what's more, they're in a sequence that makes perfect sense. A range of styles, from easygoing (Fall on you) to raw (Mr Blues) to sensitive (8:05, Sitting by the window) to screeching rock (Omaha), and still a unit that keeps on growing on you. All five contribute their vital parts that makes for a tight sound that represents the very best of West Coast rock, from the rockhard drums of Stevenson to the very distinct voices of Mosley and Lewis, to the perfect guitar work of Jerry Miller - I once took out an ad in the Dutch mag 'Aloha' to state that Miller is the best guitar player in the world. He isn't - but I still think so!
And in addition to all of this, you get the genius of Skip Spence.
Perfection, pure and simpe. It doesn't get any better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what one might expect, 10 Nov 2006
By 
B (Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moby Grape (Audio CD)
Note - this June 1967 album is NOT psychedlic!

It also has a trebly brittle SQ. 5 singles were released but the irony is, there wasn't anything remotely good enough to be a hit on the album (the hype worked and it made no 24 which for a hit-less debut album was most unusual). Don't expect sublime interplay of 3 lead guitars, many albums even from this time have better guitar work and many un-rated obscure albums around this time have much better batches of songs eg The Raiders Spirit of 67. The songs are rootsy and slightly presage the folky, grown-up, country tinged close harmony styles of bands like the Eagles. A good album but over-rated and decidedly different from what one might guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but doesn't really deliver., 12 Feb 2013
This review is from: Moby Grape (Audio CD)
I've tried so hard to like this album; first on vinyl, and then on cd, but it is just plain, overrated. The tracks are way too short, leaving me hungry and dissatisfied. Good tunes,vocals and musicianship, but lacking in real substance.
And certainly not psychedelic; just fast, spiky pop and quaint ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moby Grape
Moby Grape by Moby Grape (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews