Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some good pieces, but others not suited for a CD
This CD starts off with two pieces of music known to most of the people that have seen the movie Brassed Off, Grimethorpe's favourite march, Death or Glory, and the nice flugel horn solo Concierto de Aranjuez, played by the soloist Mark Walters. He plays the tune which was made famous by Tara Fitzgerald in the film "Brassed Off". They then move on to play...
Published on 31 Oct 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
A present
Published 2 months ago by jofri


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some good pieces, but others not suited for a CD, 31 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Grimethorpe Colliery Band (Audio CD)
This CD starts off with two pieces of music known to most of the people that have seen the movie Brassed Off, Grimethorpe's favourite march, Death or Glory, and the nice flugel horn solo Concierto de Aranjuez, played by the soloist Mark Walters. He plays the tune which was made famous by Tara Fitzgerald in the film "Brassed Off". They then move on to play Purcell Variations (pronouced Persil Variations) by Kenneth Downie. In my opinion this piece isn't a piece I would put on a CD, I don't know why, but the band play it very good. Next is the principal cornet of the band Richard Marshall who plays Herbet Clarke's cornet solo, From the Shores of the Mighty Pacific, he plays it absolutely superb, what a player. The Overture Abu Hassan is next by the band, a very nice piece played very well. Melvyn Bathgate comes next to play The Lark in the Clear Air, his sonourous sound suits this piece to bits. Next is Howard Snell's The Pines Of Rome, its a piece which describes an army coming over the hill. Its a piece that starts very quietly and progresses to a monster sound (the solo cornets are up to fff in the end) this piece is also played very well by the band. The principal Euphonium at the time of this recording was Mike Kilroy and he plays Steve Sykes's Carnival Cocktail very well indeed, its a tricky piece, but Mr. Kilroy plays it as though it was the first page on a Tune of a Day book. Ray Farr is the man whose responsible of arranging 'Riverdance' and the band show in this piece they can create a nice sound at the slow first bit, and they can also produce a ff at the end. The trombone section (+ second Euph, Simon Kingsley (i think)), where they play "It's Alright", this piece also features a trumpet soloist, and the band play it really well. A quick march follows this piece, Barnum and Bailey's favourite, composed by Karl King, the young American whose known for his quick circus marches, this is also played very well. Robert Readhead's piece, Isiah 40 was commisinoed to be played in the British Open in 1997. This is the piece that 'Grimey' finish this CD, and how well they play it. On the whole a very good CD, displaying all the talents of the soloists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great to be back in the World of Brass, 10 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. E. Hall (Derbyshire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimethorpe Colliery Band (Audio CD)
After a few years losing touch with brass bands, I came across this masterpiece.
It's a CD that will thrill and/or horrify brass band lovers. Well worth buying, if only for the various Solo pieces. then flugel horn , cornet and tenor horn solos leave one gasping for breath, but these are only a preview for the coming of the Euphonium. In the hands of Mike Kilroy, one can only comment - 'How great is the RANGE of this man and his instrument?'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am not Brassed Off, 3 May 2010
By 
Mr. C. M. Sear (Bournemouth England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimethorpe Colliery Band (Audio CD)
Bought this as a gift for a friend who loves the film Brassed Off, whom the Grimethorpe played the music for the film.
She wants the Rodrigo Concerto played at her funeral, as its one of her favorite pieces of music, so I decided to by this for her as we dont know how long it will be available for, so she is prepared for that ultimate day.
On a lighter note, there is some really good performances of well known classical pieces ferformed to a really top quality standard, and the quality of the recording is superb.
Good deed done, nice CD, and everyones happy. Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grimethorpe Colliery Band, 22 Jan 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimethorpe Colliery Band (Audio CD)
This emotive collection of music expertly portrayed, stirs memories of my time playing within a similar band many years ago. The crisp hair raising tingle that accompanies such delivery will never leave me. Priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grimethorpe the TOPS!!!!!!!!, 21 May 2010
This review is from: Grimethorpe Colliery Band (Audio CD)
a british brass band, takes a lot of beating when it come to sound. I like really heavy music, and the "pines of rome" is a truly wonderful sound, on a par with "twilight of the gods" by wagner. a really good DVD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book., 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimethorpe Colliery Band (Audio CD)
This was wanted by a neighbour, so I ordered this for him.
The price was brilliant and so too was the delivery.
My neighbour is over the moon with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of brass for not a lot of brass, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimethorpe Colliery Band (Audio CD)
I bought this recently for a friend of mine who is 80. He was delighted with it. Tunes that he knows played by a top brass band. Delivery was quick and a very good price. You might say ... a lot of brass for not a lot of brass!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimethorpe Colliery Band (Audio CD)
A present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tunes, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good mix of great brass band music.. Most enjoyable if you like Brass band music. It certainly lifts the heart and gets the feet tapping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grimethorpe Coliery Band, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimethorpe Colliery Band (Audio CD)
I bought these three as a gift for my friend in New Zealand as I already had them.
I love anything they play.....they are Number 1 in bands in my estimation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grimethorpe Colliery Band
Grimethorpe Colliery Band by Robert Browne Hall (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews