Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zappa's masterpiece, 18 Nov 2004
By 
Jazzrook (Purbrook , Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
For me, 'One Size Fits All' is Zappa's masterpiece and one of the great rock albums. Zappa's tight, complex arrangements were combined with exciting high-energy rock rhythms and played by a classic edition of The Mothers which included versatile musicians such as Ruth Underwood, George Duke and Napoleon Murphy Brock.

'One Size Fits All' is a record of tremendous vitality and musical intelligence. All of Zappa's diverse influences are evident on this magnificent, multi-layered, sumptuously recorded album which reveals new delights with every hearing.
Anyone who wants to know what Zappa was all about could do no better than start listening here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If I could choose only one Zappa CD..., 12 Nov 2003
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
... this would be it.
Fairly accessible for the new listener. If you are just slightly open-minded about your music it should, by rights, blow you away.
And for the seasoned Zappa expert (ahem... like me), it is one of the most regularly aired recordings in my collection.
In one word: brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And behold! In 40 mins Zappa creates the Universe!!, 23 Mar 2007
By 
Mr H Bolet (New South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
5 BILLION STARS to THE POWER OF 5 BILLION STARS!!!!!

Verily, I say unto you, this album is a miracle! This one's in my top 3 of best albums ever made! This is an album of rock/bluegrass/prog/fusion/punk/world-music/space-rock/pop/classical/torch-song/heavy metal/EVERY-ROCK and not served up piece-meal a la White Album and every other band would try, but all at the same time! A dense, yet crystal-clear creation of such power! such melodiousness! such intelligence! such humour! - No wonder Zappa couldn't stand the religious and dogma wielding zealouts of all gang members who declare themselves: "I'm White I'm Black! I'm prog! I'm garage! I'm Christian! I'm Muslim! I'm American Idol material! I'm satanic Heavy Metal Shredding! I'm this! I'm that: endless opposition creating endless trouble!" If God composed an album of music it would be this! And if you don't like Zappa because of his profanity/schatology and his penchant for themes anal, there is none of that there - excepting the fact that "Andy Devine, had a thong rhind". This album is so amazing, so beautiful, (it's making me write like a madman in a feeble attempt to tell people of its greatness.) I've got thousands of albums, but if somebody said "it's all those or One Size Fits All! Which do you give up, so that, perhaps, we'll let you live?" I'd say, take all the others, and leave me "One Size Fits All". Thank you Mr Zappa! The day that you died, my life has been a bit more of a drudgery since, and the world has certainly become "dumb all over, and" very "ugly on the side." This album should be required listening at all schools the world over and students should be tested on its contents - only then we might be able to save the world and its Art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of FZ - should fit everybody, 5 Oct 2004
By 
David Terrar (St. Albans, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
Many would say that the band on One Size Fits All was the best reincarnation of FZ and the Mothers - and that includes Frank himself. Napoleon's voice, George's keyboards, Ruth's percussion, Chester's fantastic drums, Tom's bass, the best of FZ's solos, and some excellent cameos from Johnny Guitar and Capatin Beefheart (not named on the album for contractual reasons). I'd been listening to Zappa since the start, enjoyed them more with Hot Rats, Grand Wazoo and Waka Jawaka, but when I heard this album I was hooked. I immediately went back and got Roxy and Elsewhere, which is a great representation of what this band was like live. But the composition, silly lyrics and the playing on this are the best of any FZ album. So many ideas and styles on one record or in one song like Andy or Inca Roads. Florentine Pogen is my favourite. Don't hesitate, you need this in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stands the test of time. No doubt about that., 4 Jan 2007
By 
Captain Howdy "none" (Outside. And above. And below. Looking in. Looking out. And looking at you.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
I remember reading a review about this album when it was released 1976, under the banner of "One size fits some", and it had a fairly poor review, possibly by someone whose musical prowess zenith peaked at "The Birdy Song". I bought it anyway on the strength of a previous purchase ; "Apostrophe". A good move. I was totally taken aback by the tight, precise musicianship of this recording. Every musical detail was catered for. I won't blether on too much , but the bluesy guitar and piano intro on "Pojamma People" is superb, as is the guitar solo in the same track. Of course there is the expected Zappa quirkiness on this album, but I think that this is possibly one of his finest recordings. Buy it and make your own mind up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 43 minutes of godlike genius, 23 Jan 2004
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
I have to agree with the other reviews on this page - if I could only have one Zappa album, this would be it. One Size Fits All regularly tops polls in Zappa fanzines, and you'll know why when you hear it. Some of Zappa's most beautiful guitar playing can be heard here (especially on the amazing "Inca Roads"), as well as the dazzling skills of Ruth Underwood on percussion and George Duke on keyboards. The two versions of "Sofa" are also crucial reference points in Zappa's work - one has lyrics in German and English; the other is instrumental. Both are gorgeous. There's not really much more to be said - if you don't like this album you probably don't like music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a musical masterpiece that shows Zappa at his best, 22 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
This album is one of Frank Zappa's greatest works from when he was at his height of commercialism in the mid-seventies and what an album it is! It starts with the 8 minute laid back but strangely beautiful Inca Roads and then goes from strength to strength. Zappa is supported by what is largely agreed to be the best backing he ever assembled; Ruth Underwood provides pecussion and George Duke some inspiring keyboard work (Inca Roads). Look out for 'flambe vocals' from Johnny 'Guitar' Watson. This is a great album and it is such a shame that a genius such as Zappa is so often passed off as writing comedy music. Go on, have a listen to some of the tracks above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best, 25 Oct 2007
By 
J. Alan "JohnA" (Greater London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
If I had to compile a top5 for FZ, this would definately be in it.
I bought the LP 20 years ago, and the remastered CD sounds as fresh and crisp nowadays.

Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fits perfectly., 21 Feb 2013
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
Frank Zappa was not an easy man to pigeonhole, so I won't. Here is another collection of tunes that are vehicles for Franks ongoing attack on things he considered stupid and pointless - dental floss, small town mentality, the govt, Poodles, all set to the most amazing music that was around at the time, not forgetting his incredible guitar playing.

Talking of guitar playing, the solo set in the middle of Inca Roads, which was taken from a live performance of Inca Roads in Helsinki in 1974(Zappa often road tested songs before committing them to tape in the studio)and edited into this studio version, is worth the price of admission alone. It is stunning.

The 2012 remasters sound fabulous, especially the analogue sourced ones, and this is no exception. The sound is full, clear and not compressed to the teeth, as a lot of remasters are these days. The mixes etc.. are as per the original vinyl release and are shorn of all of the icky digital reverb and strange edits that the Ryko cd versions have dotted through them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning: Not for PoJama People !, 28 Aug 2009
By 
Huck Flynn "huckleberry" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
"He lives in Mojave in a winnebago
His name is Bobby he looks like a potato"
I agree with many of the reviewers - FZ's masterpiece - in that it is consistently BRILLIANT; many of his other albums have sublime moments by One Size is inspired from the first chord to closing bar. Inca Roads, the opener, is also the standout musical work, a showcase of amazing guitar playing, crazy rhythmic variations, silly lyrics and great ensemble arrangements. Like the other tracks it's unclassifiable, just certifiable. The album is almost a pastiche of every style of rock (and jazz) known to man featuring superb and creative musicians all on the same lunatic wavelength. Don't let that, or the word "jazz" put you off - One Size is an incredibly accessible album - once you abandon your pre-conceptions of what constitutes serious rock music. Can't Afford No Shoes, San Berdino, and Andy all flirt with orthodox guitar and piano-led rock n roll but you'd better hold on tight because they twist and bend through wonderful variations and provide a superb platform for some of Zappa's tastiest lead guitar work eg PoJama People. Then, out of left field come Evelyn the Dog - a minute long piece of Zappa silliness with just piano and voice that you can't help smiling at, and Sofa No2, a parody opera piece about, well, sofas, their furnishing and the things that get lost down the back of them, in mock German. You've got to hear these to believe them. Don't be fooled by the silly, rude, puerile humour and surrealism of the lyrics and themes; this IS serious and compelling music that rewards, nay demands, many replays. You'd be insane not to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Size Fits All
One Size Fits All by Frank Zappa (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews