Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars 2012 re-MASTER job done!, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
The 2012 remasters are the way to go, simply a wonderful job and a fantastic sound makes all the difference. One size fits all is also one of Zappa's best recordings. Don't hesitate; buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Zappa, 5 July 2011
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
One of Zappa's best of that period. Fairly easy listening for people who would have heard of Zappa's genius and would like to give a go at listening to his musical work. If you like it, try also the Grand Wazoo. Yes humour belongs in music and this is a good antidot to all the rubbish, pre-moulded music we hear nowdays on the radio waves. X-factor lovers, hold on to your knickers, this is not for you. You're not worthy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Zappa, 9 May 2011
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
With one of Zappa's best line-ups and a great selection of songs, this album sound fantastic today with the kind of musicianship that doesn't seem to exist these days.

Brilliant and it has the majestic 'Inca Roads' as an opener which features one of FZ's most beautiful guitar solos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of FZ - should fit everybody, 24 Oct 2011
By 
David Terrar (St. Albans, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
Many would say that the band on One Size Fits All was the best reincarnation of FZ and the Mothers - and that includes Frank himself. Napoleon's voice, George's keyboards, Ruth's percussion, Chester's fantastic drums, Tom's bass, the best of FZ's solos, and some excellent cameos from Johnny Guitar and Capatin Beefheart (not named on the album for contractual reasons). I'd been listening to Zappa since the start, enjoyed them more with Hot Rats, Grand Wazoo and Waka Jawaka, but when I heard this album I was hooked. I immediately went back and got Roxy and Elsewhere, which is a great representation of what this band was like live. But the composition, silly lyrics and the playing on this are the best of any FZ album. So many ideas and styles on one record or in one song like Andy or Inca Roads. Florentine Pogen is my favourite. Don't hesitate, you need this in your collection.

UPDATE: All the reviews of this album seem to have been detached from here, but you can find them here One Size Fits All
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Emporers new clothes, 23 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
Thats what my lady friend said about this album. In fact thats what she said about all the FZ stuff I have played to her, but then I think FZ's music has always been a very male thing. I didn't expect her to like this when I first played it to her,I just wanted to make her aware that there is music out there that breaks boundaries and challenges ones' appreciation of music. 'Yes its a challenge all right!'', she said ,looking at me aghast after the first couple of minutes of 'Inca Roads'. Then Franks guitar solo almost won her over before the track finishes with those constant changes,fast-spoken seemingly meaningless lyrics and frantic synth and marimba combo. 'Florentine Pogen' had her reaching for the wine bottle. Lyrically this track had her in a spin-''....her fan belt shrunk and got shorter?.....Chesters gorilla she go oink?...do you really honestly like this stuff?'', she said looking at me incredulously. I can't really explain why I do like this but it has stood the test of time with me, having owned it on vinyl for 25 years before recently buying it on CD. ''You bought it twice??'' she said with amazement. One of my favs on this album. 'Andy',also had her totally confused as to the validity of this music. ''They can obviously play well,''she conceded.''but why do they have to keep chopping and changing?'' Of course there is no straight answer to that question,but 'Sofa no.1' convinced her that this is actually real music. 'Sofa no.2', however,which is the same track with nonsense lyrics -in German -had her scurrying into the kitchen, wine glass in hand. Did she make any positive remarks about this album? ''The cover artwork reflects the music--mental!!'', she said. Ok fair enough I suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE SIZE FITS ALL, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
Definately high up there amoung my favorite Frank Zappa albums, coming from a time when he was probably at his ingenious best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ich bin der Dreck unter deinen Walzen, 4 Dec 2012
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
I hadn't heard this album till a couple of weeks ago. It's very accomplished. The compositions and arrangements are the work of a very sophisticated musician - it's easy to forget just how able Zappa was. The band is great and the playing is extremely tight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get offa dat sofa!, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
A bloody good album. Best track is where they're tearing it up on San Bardino. Still trying to figure out what FZ meant with Evelyn, A Modified Dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars onlyme, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
right I have explained Franks satirical approach to his music ,well this one is good but not as good as my favourite records of his but seeing as I paid very little as I got it as a used disc ,the description said like new and it is indeed like new as promised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zappa, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
Zappa is Zappa, one either is sympathetic to his work or doesn't understand him and this album is 150% Zappa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Size Fits All
One Size Fits All by Frank Zappa (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews