Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars14
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 23 September 2006
John and Yoko's `Wedding Album' is the third and final instalment in a trilogy of experimental sound recordings, and as such you shouldn't really contemplate buying this unless you are already familiar with `Two Virgins' and `Life With the Lions', as melodic Beatles-style pop this sure aint. The main album is consists of two long pieces: `John & Yoko' consists of the pair each reciting the other's name in every possible variation (singing, screaming, loving, sexual, comedic, questioning, accusing, etc) and occasionally taking bites of apples over a recording of a human heartbeat, while `Amsterdam' is a collection of recordings from one of the pair's `Bed In' peace protests, consisting of interviews, snatches of singing (including a brief snippet of `Good Night' from the Beatles `White Album'), ordering room service etc. Both pieces range from being hypnotic to verging on the boring due to their length and ultimate lack of content. This CD release includes 3 bonus tracks of a more musical nature featuring vocals from Yoko, with `Listen the Snow is Falling' being the most polished piece, with John's guitar work very reminiscent of that on `Hold On' from his debut solo album. by turns interesting and boring, `Wedding Album' can best be described as an intriguing snapshot document of a period of Lennon's life, and so is interesting listening for Beatles fans, but in all honesty it's probably not a disc that you're going to play that often.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2004
Well, I finally bought this album after resisting it for years and years... in which time the lavish box-set vinyl packaging (which was probably of more interest to people than the 'music' on the record!) has of course been reduced to a CD.

You still get the photo of the slice of wedding cake, marriage certificate and wedding photos though.

The repetitive 'John/Yoko' spoken mantra (which originally filled the first side of the vinyl album) isn't as mind-numbing as expected - there's a real sense of fun & love coming across from this simple exercise in minimalism.

The bed-in interview is excellent too, as is the surprise improvised vocal track 'John, John Let's Hope for Peace', with its Eastern flavor.

The 3 bonus tracks tacked on the end are an inspired idea - though if they'd extended this to include contemporary songs 'Give Peace a Chance' & 'Cold Turkey', this album could almost be perfect?!
'Listen the Snow is Falling' - lovely though it is, sounds a little incongruous here, it has to be said.

Certainly a must for all Lennon fans - though a budget price would seem more appropriate, considering the relative sparsity of the material.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2001
I have to admitt that I only bought this album to complete my collection of Lennon CD's, and after playing 2virgins & life with the lions I was not expecting much. I was, however plesently surprised. The first track follows in John's experimentation & contains John & Yoko aimply repeating their names to one another, this does result in a rather relaxing mantra. The second track is exerpts of John & Yoko in their 'bed peace' in Canada & is a fascinating insihgt into what happened. The Yoko tracks were to be expected from her. Wailing down the mike in a studio or infront of an audience. However John & co's musical talent goes show through. I would recomend this CD to any Lennon fan as it shows not only the supremly talented musician, but a man who was open to new ideas and experimenting with his music.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2004
the album opens with a twenty minute track John & Yoko, a musical version of the old Lenono trick of calling each others names. it is beautiful to hear such love coming out of your speakers. The second track contains heartbreaking excerpts of interviews from the Bed-in, and the album closes with three Ono B-sides, including the fantastic Don't Worry Kyoko (Mummy's only looking for her hand in the Snow), a track which Radiohead or Frusciante would be proud of.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2011
If John Lennon deserves any credit at all for his assault on the ears of his fans with an avante-garde (that's French for 'pretentious garbage') work devoid of any aesthetic value, it's for his having had the courage to release what he thought at the time was 'art' in the knowledge that it would be universally panned. And panned it deserved to be. This should have remained a personal fun project between him and Yoko that stayed in the bedroom and never saw the light of day. If I were ever forced at gunpoint to listen to either this album again or Lou Reed's Metal Machine Music, I'd go for Lou's monstrosity any day. Yes, it's that bad.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2011
Two sides to this story..Forget side one..'JOHN-YOKO!!!-all of the lyrics..Side 2..'lets do an interview Yoko,with our Jim Jam's on'.Amsterdam..circa 1969..buy this even just for the B-side!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 February 2016
As with the second of their trilogy of avant-garde albums Unfinished Music #2: Life With The Lions, I had never bothered to listen to this in the four decades that it's been in my collection. It originally came in a white box, accompanied by a booklet of press cuttings, two posters, a strip of passport photos, a slice of wedding cake, a copy of the marriage certificate, a postcard, and a 'Bagism' plastic bag. An original UK box set will be rather expensive, so it's lucky Rykodisc reissued this on CD in 1997.

The inlay of this CD reproduces some photos and cuttings from the box and throws in a slice of wedding cake too. It's also numbered (mine is #15842), something I'd never noticed before. The 1969 LP had a mere two tracks, but this has been expanded with three more.

JOHN AND YOKO: Starts with the couple's heartbeats over which they start calling each other's name. She sounds as if she's having an orgasm each time she says 'John' whilst he sounds as if he's eating a sandwich and smoking. It's not the best way to spend 23 minutes of your life but, strangely, it's more listenable than their previous offering.
AMSTERDAM: John occasionally noodles with his guitar as the pair answer questions from journalists. I'm taking a chance here by guessing you won't play this more than once.
WHO HAS SEEN THE WIND?: Released as the B-side of 'Instant Karma', this is an acoustic ballad. Unfortunately, Ono isn't the best singer around and her childlike voice does spoil what could have been a gentle, charming song.
LISTEN, THE SNOW IS FALLING: This is probably one of the least heard songs on a million selling single. It was on the flip side of 'Happy Xmas' and does consist of a full group sound of guitar, piano, bass and drums. Again, it's better than you might think and her singing is far better than the previous song. One that could be called a 'proper' song.
DON'T WORRY KYOKO: This is an early version of a song that would be the B-side to 'Cold Turkey' and is just John playing acoustic guitar over vocals that try to comfort Ono's daughter Kyoko.

So, the verdict. If, like me, you must have all things Beatles related, then you know it will fill a gap in your collection. On the other hand, if you want something of Lennon's to listen to, there's plenty out there. Even though I'm a true devotee, there are limits. Thankfully, his next release would be a real LP.

N.B. The original release of this was responsible for one of the most famous, and possibly for a time, most embarrassing record reviews of all time. A reviewer, Richard Williams of Melody Maker, was sent two one-sided test pressings and he assumed it was a double LP. The second side of both contained an engineer's test signal and he thought it was part of Lennon's more minimalistic pieces and mentioned the tones altering in pitch to “give an uneven 'beat' against which you could improvise your own raga, plainsong, or even Gaelic mouth music against the drone.”
review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
Item for collector and or fan of John Lennon and Yoko Ono. This is not a regular album at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
For someone who has loved and followed Jon Lennon since 1963 as a ten year old. It suddenly dawned on me that I hadn't heard his trilogy of avant garde music, so I bought them.
Now I have heard all of his works. This was hard going! and it will be a while before I play it again John.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
Let's face it, this is not something you will play often. That isn't the point. Try to appreciate this as a document, a statement, a larf, a poke in the eye and another bizarre piece of performance art from the brilliant and wacky couple. At the same J&Y were completely sincere: Side One is also a love song. I applaud them for being able to bare their souls and laugh at themselves at the same time: therein lies the art and the message. In my mind, this, Two Virgins and Life with the Lions are all works of brilliance. These albums and John/Yoko challenged the way we perceive music, art, politics, humanity and more. Back to Bagism!

Oh and check the inspiration for Side 1, "John and Yoko", Stan Freberg's "John and Marsha":
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkfwmB8jeSU
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)