Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The John Lennon of comedy!!!!!, 21 Jan 2001
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
The first joke on this CD has Hicks announcing tha he (at long last) is getting his own TV show. The rapturous applause suggests that Hicks has been struggling for fame for years. He's joking, of course, (the show is called "Let's Hunt And Kill Billy Ray Cirus") When Bill Hicks was recording the performances that ended up on this CD, he was given three months to live. When you know this, it makes the joke almost unbearably poignant. Hicks was a working comedian, and would perform on average 300 shows a year. He was committed to telling the truth and NEVER letting his principles down in favour of money or fame. However, because of his 'subversive' material, he was virtually unknown in his own country. When you hear this material, and you realise that it's not subversive, you'll wonder what the hell is wrong with America, and you'll wonder why we've lost the John Lennon of comedy. And of course, you'll wonder why no-one noticed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning Album, 17 Feb 2004
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
I was fortunate enough to see Bill Hicks live 12 years ago, and he is simply the greatest comedian/social commentator that I have ever seen. If fact, I haven't seen another comedian who even comes close to the Bill Hicks.
Hicks was a straight talking Texan, a comic who spoke forcefully and passionately from the heart about a range of topics, from Politics to religion, drugs and personal freedom. Bill Hicks was also a man whose message and beliefs were more important to him than the fame and money that he could have achieved by watering his act down for a mainstream audience. Hicks' hate filled straight talking style and thought provoking ideas and may not appeal to people in the establishment, but they speak volumes to many who are not happy with the state of the world today.

Rant in E-Minor was recorded just months before Hicks' death of cancer 10 years ago. At the time Hicks was aware that he was dieing, which explains why it is undoubtedly the darkest and most hard hitting of his albums. This is simply the best Album available from, the greatest comedian that ever...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedian, philosopher & revolutionary, 30 Jun 2003
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
I discovered Bill Hicks a couple of months before I discovered him. I'd seen the live Revelations show from Totally Bill Hicks but somehow, by no fault of Bill's, it wasn't until I heard this album that I realised what the world has lost. But everyone writes tributes to Bill, suffice to say I miss him every bit as much.
"Rant" is Bill at his most determined, his most passionate, and, more often than not, his most obscene. But that's part of his style and it's part of why we love him, he put it across 100% as he saw it. This is Bill at his most ferocious, his most articulate and his most funny. "Rant" is both great entertainment and a doctrine of peace and truth simultaneously, an amazing feat by any standards.
If you only buy one Bill Hicks album, make it this one... but you'll want to buy them all after you've heard this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...an unnoticed star gone supernova, 25 Dec 2001
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
Without being too pretentious I think the above analogy works quite well. From what I'm led to believe his career(and genius) did go largely unnoticed while he was alive, probably due to his unwavering attitude to media and his cutting edge opinions. After his death I think more people have been awakened to his previous presence, and thankfully like all extinguished stars, I'm certain his material will inexorably draw you in and leave you unable to escape. I bought this having heard "A killer idea" from "Relentless" at a friend's house and almost wet myself that someone could be so sick, and yet observantly funny at the same time. I thought I would only listen to it once and put it away in the cupboard to gather dust. After all, you listen to music repeatedly but the same jokes over and over? Come on. Suffice to say I've played this CD repeatedly and never tired of it. One of the highest compliments I can pay is to say that his work reminds me of that by Henry Rollins; art that makes you feel slightly less alone in a world that most of the time appears to have gone mad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forever Hicks, 10 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
Losing Bill - well - is he lost? Like he used to say of Hendrix - "Jimi was dropped off by his alien brothers and told 'Show em how it's done'. When he was done - they took him back". I don't think Bill was done. If he was around right now - I'd want to be at all his shows. However, he's not. This album, though is stupendous, phenomenal, seminal, provocative and loads of other words that just mean - the bees knees. Please buy this, then the rest - and then the book and the videos and then spread the word. One love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rant in E Minor. Bill at his funniest., 31 May 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
`Rant in E Minor' is the last album of Hick's work that was planned whilst he was still alive and it features a show where he is at his most angry and vitriolic. He knew he was dying at this point and the urgency to spread the message he had be teaching over the years had grown palpable. This has some hilarious jokes and I keep coming back to this album again and again and even though I know the jokes by heart now I still laugh out loud because of Bill's incredible delivery. `People who hate people' is short but pure genius, take a listen and you'll see what I mean. I love it that he can make you laugh and open your eyes wide to the irony in life at the same time and this is a rare and sadly missed talent of Hicks. This is definitely not one to share with your mum, but it is one to share with all your friends, family and colleagues and as many other people as possible!!! It is simply brilliant.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Hicks - sadly missed, 22 May 2001
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
Bill Hicks was the best comedian of the 20th century, and a hero to many. In these over-corporate times, Bill Hicks epitomised the meaning of not "selling out" like nobody else so it is understandable that he remained a relative unknown until his tragic death. Whilst a CD could never do true justice to Bill's performances like video, Rant remains probably amongst his best work. I can not recommend it highly enough. Buy this CD - and the next time someone asks "If you could have a few drinks and a chat with absolutely anyone - who would it be?", you might just find yourself saying Bill Hicks. He was one of a kind and the world is undoubtedly a sadder place without him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true comedy genius, 21 Aug 2002
By 
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
If you want to laugh, and learn something about the world we live in, listen to this man.
He is like a modern day preacher who spouts forth about religion, sex, drugs and rock n'roll....and children.
His views on American politics are still relevant.
Anyone who refers to the human race as a "virus with shoes" has definetely got my vote.....
The best comedian ever...by far...it's just a pity he's not around now with Bush jr with his finger on the button....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dry. Aserbic. Scalpal sharp., 10 Mar 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
Bill had a way of making you laugh at yourself whilst he turned the world upside down and inside out to show you the true beauty. He talked about God, drugs, war, pain, Kennedy, Bush and a million other topics, ranting as a lone voice in the wilderness. He pulled back the curtain and showed us what was wrong with the world.
And then he made it all right. His humour opened our eyes to what was wrong then helped us find a way to make it right. In a world looking for a new messiah; we found Bill, and he stepped up to the mike to tell us "It's just a ride."
If you can buy Rant, and all his other shows, becuase it's an investment well worth making. Watch videos of his shows, audio is great but the added element of watching him at work, the way he moved, gives such depth to the performance. Find transcripts of his shows (there's plenty on the web, including at his 'official site' at billhicks.com) and read along whilst listening to the master at work.
Like many others Bill told us that all it takes for the world to be a better place is for enough of us to decide to make it a better place. Somehow, I believe him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Commited, fearless, accurate ...Bill Hicks but a little bit more so., 27 Dec 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
How many comedians would use the line "All Governments are liars and murderers" soberly as part of their act? Well maybe Frankie Boyle would in an ironic sarcastic way ...probably ... but even he at his most focused and vituperative wouldn't come close to some of the material on this C.D.
Rant in E-Minor was originally released posthumously in 1997 some three years after Hicks death from pancreatic cancer. Hicks knew he was dying when he performed the material on this C.D and it must have liberated him somewhat as it is easily his most angry , concentrated , acerbic album .The shackles have been removed to such an extent that Hicks at one point can be heard literally screaming at his audience.
Fear not though for this is not an extended purging of one mans soul - like primal therapy on stage which would have been compelling but unsettling and probably not very funny. As it is Hicks is ,as ever , angry and sour but as ever he hits with laser like precision on his usual targets- religion, the arrogance and duplicity of government , pro-lifers( "evil annoying idiot ****s), sex, the hypocrisy of women, drugs and ohhh not forgetting Jay Leno ( of who he does a very good impression) and Billy Ray Cyrus -a " jar head , no talent cracker asshole".
So it is very funny but while being very funny it also makes some incendiary salient points many of which still hold true today. How drugs that expand the consciousness and that grow naturally are illegal and yet alcohol and tobacco which make us forget how we are "being ****** everyday of our life's are not .As Bill says "I'm sure their motives are pure ". How the fuss about gays in the military is gross hypocrisy " don't want any gay people round me while I'm killing kids ". How if you want to end the budget deficit ( very pertinent in Britain now) you should should just legalise pot .
Some of the material may be a touch close to the knuckle ( if not ramming their five knobbly protrusions down your throat) if you are easily offended or even maybe if you're not as the stuff about Rush Limbaugh and Jim Swaggart proves but it made me laugh like a hyena in a pillow fight. If you think Peter Kay taking the mickey out of a reality TV talent show( a ridiculously easy target) is the height of satire and social commentary this is not for you .It's way too committed , way too fearless , way too accurate. The truth is out there and it's not easy listening .But it is very very funny . If only he were still around today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rant In E-Minor
Rant In E-Minor by Bill Hicks (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews