Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The One That Got Away, 20 Feb 2005
By 
James Tobiasen "anfieldjet" (Cheshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
Reading through the album credits of the British bands of the early sixties there are a number of names that crop up time and time again as writers, the inspiration behind The Beatles, Tne Stones, The Animals, Them, The Yardbirds and countless others. many of those names were household names then and remain so today, names like Little Richard, Lieber & Stoller, The Isleys, Smokey Robinson.... but one contributor remains in sad and neglected obscurity.... and that man is Arthur Alexander. So buy this album and see what sparked the interest of the Lennons & McCartneys, the Jaggers & Richards, the Burdons, Paiges, Claptons and Morrisons all those years ago. These are sparse, honest, raw songs sung in a clear, undemonstrative but nonetheless heartfelt way. 'Anna' is worth the album price on its own and there are plenty more here that are its equal. So treat yourself and discover a little bit of pop history that you probably didn't know existed. It might not change your life, but you'll still be glad you met Arthur Alexander somewhere along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest: Arthur Alexander - Truly the greatest., 1 April 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
It is a bit of a mystery to me why Arthur Alexander is not better known, and his talent not more widely recognised. The man had a style all of his own, a sweet, emotional soul voice in a middle to low register. This, coupled with a real feel for the music and a sense of swing and style made him, to my ears at least, the equal of Sam Cooke.

He was also an exceptional songwriter, most of the tracks on this album have been covered by other, more famous, artists including the Beatles, Presley, The Rolling Stones, the list goes on and on. Yet despite these all being talented people whenever I have had to opportunity to compare a cover to Alexander's original I have to say Alexander's version is always best. If he didn't get the recognition he deserved as a recording artist at least he was recognised as a great songwriter.

A classic album of great soul. Get it, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mountain of hurt, 29 Nov 2008
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
I only recently discovered who Arthur Alexander as but I of course knew his music with his most famous being Anna ( go to Him ) which was famously covered by the Beatles.

surely he is one of the underrated black singers who produced great songs and music but were covered by white artists who made the money and they were forgotten.

He has a sad voice that is almost crying.I have Anna on as I write this and it is heartbreaking. as the liner notes says the songs are delivered effortlessly in a wounded baritone that seems to barely conceal a mountain of hurt.

Although he did not write it Soldier of Love is another great rendition

His original fans never forgot him being John Lennon and George Harrison.

You'd better move on was the first national hit recorded in Alabama and was famously covered by the Rolling Stones.

He deserves a special place in pop history because of his influence on the Beatles and Rolling stones and it is believed that John Lennon was influenced by Alexander's singing style.

Detroit City is a great talking song in the middle and is very sad as he has told everyone that he has made but he wants to go home

For that reason alone this is a great CD I am finishing off this review whilst listening to Your Better Move on written and sung by him . a real mountain of hurt.

Cant recommend this collection highly enough. His tracks will be in my top hundred and I will have to insist they get played at my funeral. If he is good enough for the stones and the Beatles he is certainly good enough for me.

I will now have to put it in my car Cd and play for the next week. Hardly a duff track.real soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart break, 26 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
He does probably the best version of 'Soldier of Love' ever and 'Anna' is a classic. How he wasn't one of the biggest stars of the 60's is beyond me. Great songwriter and you can hear the ache in his voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alexander on Ace, 28 Nov 2011
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
The early 1960s saw pop music at a low ebb until The Beatles, Dylan et al took over, so Arthur Alexander was up against it. This collection of songs display a great singer not always well served by prevailing fashion, yet his performances on every track consist of his own heartfelt, yet unfussy style. His soft, rich voice at first suggests safety and dependability, but its delicate quiver turns each song into something vulnerable and moving without being histrionic. There are syrupy moments among these recordings, but they are the work of arrangers rather than the singer whose stamp shines through on each song.

'Anna' is the outstanding track and it's no surprise that The Beatles pilfered it, while the poignant 'You Better Move On' was an odd choice by the Stones. Alexander wrote both, but very few of the remaining songs. The much-recorded 'A Shot Of Rhythm And Blues' shows that he could carry off more uptempo, upbeat material, while 'Detroit City', better known as one of Tom Jones's country outings, is a reminder that Alexander crossed genres without difficulty. The comprehensive sleevenotes tell of yet another artist rip-off and of Alexander's premature death, fuelled by a problematic lifestyle. This CD suggests a man influential rather than successful, but it's classy and beautifully presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really is the greatest!, 29 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
I was introduced to Arthur Alexander's music by Bill Kenwright in his recent radio programme on radio 2. This CD was on my wishlist for a few months before I decided to buy it, but now I have I'm astonished at how good it is! 21 tracks and barely a duff one amongst them. Don't hesitate like I did if you love early 60's R&B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest, 4 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
Vastly underrated artist who sadly died before his value was properly appreciated. His work influenced John Lennon and Mick Jagger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This guy was so under-rated ii makes me sick, 14 July 2010
By 
M. Lavis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
I loved a lot of the records on this album, long before I'd ever heard of Arthur Alexander, Why? I just don't know. The two tracks that highlight what I am talking about were "Anna" and "You better move on". Yes the Beatles and the Rolling Stones. I just hope he did not write "Under the boardwalk"? If you are a Beatle and/or Rolling Stones fan and don't have an Arthur Alexander Album in your collection, then hang your head in shame. Sorry my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Artist - Great Compilation, 25 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
Really lovely compilation with all of Arthur's best songs. It's all the Arthur Alexander I need on one CD.
No bad tracks at all, so just press play, sit back & enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buying "oldies", 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
It was for my husband, he is very pleased, excellent sound quality. every c.d. purchased from amazon has been just as described, especially all the oldies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Greatest
The Greatest by Arthur Alexander (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews