Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second best album ever recorded....
....bettered only by the one that followed it, 'Aenima', in my opinion. This is a seminal album, and one that no-one had expected after their debut release 'Opiate'. This album is awesome and so atmospheric. On this one the band really set out their musical and lyrical agenda, and stake out the territory that they have claimed as their own. It contains all you need -...
Published on 19 Dec 2000 by setnakht4

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sober and that's about it
I heard Sober the other day and remembered what a brilliant song it was. Upon getting this album, however, I found that the dry, paranoid, funk-inflected hard rock contained on this disc now sounds terribly dated. At the time of its release, though, I remember them as being one of the few bands doing proper hard rock whilst everyone else was pretending to be an indie-punk...
Published 5 months ago by A. K. Sheikh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second best album ever recorded...., 19 Dec 2000
This review is from: Undertow (Audio CD)
....bettered only by the one that followed it, 'Aenima', in my opinion. This is a seminal album, and one that no-one had expected after their debut release 'Opiate'. This album is awesome and so atmospheric. On this one the band really set out their musical and lyrical agenda, and stake out the territory that they have claimed as their own. It contains all you need - great noisy music, mindblowing lyrics, fantastic musicianship, a truly great cover, and a touch of Henry Rollins (okay, you probably don't need this!). It's hard to write objectively about Tool without sounding like their PR man, but they are just so cool. In a way they are anti-stars, leading us up blind alleys and dark cul-de-sacs in order to encourage us to think for ourselves. Every Tool album should come with a pinch of salt - believe nothing they tell us, and they're right, of course, but this not really the right forum for that sort of discussion. Suffice to say that Tool are a breath of fresh air.
If you only buy two albums in your life, make this the second, after 'Aenima'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The old future of progressive metal, 2 Jun 2003
By 
G. D. Harding (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undertow (Audio CD)
This was the first tool album I owned. At first I thought it was "good", but after you really listen to it you realise what a true masterpiece it really is. The whole album grows with you, each track compliments the others on the album. Melancholy lyrics combine with churning guitars, tight baselines and solid drum rhythm. I've heard this album referred to as progressive metal. It truely is. No bands from the nu-metal fold ome even close to the dark majecty that is tool. Listen to this album as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sober and that's about it, 24 Feb 2014
By 
A. K. Sheikh - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undertow (Audio CD)
I heard Sober the other day and remembered what a brilliant song it was. Upon getting this album, however, I found that the dry, paranoid, funk-inflected hard rock contained on this disc now sounds terribly dated. At the time of its release, though, I remember them as being one of the few bands doing proper hard rock whilst everyone else was pretending to be an indie-punk grunge band. I'd like to try their other albums, so this hasn't put me off them and Sober is still a monster of a song!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Can I Say, 5 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Undertow (Audio CD)
Well guys (and girls) you know the score this is Tool after all. Could they ever produce anything not worthy of 5 stars. This album is no aenima but is a classic nonetheless. It is more brutal and primative. Yet more touching with songs such as crawl away and 8 degrees. An absolute must for any rock fan, you will not regret buying this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, not great. Buy it anyway., 26 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Undertow (Audio CD)
If you're new to Tool, this record will sound like a masterpiece. It is so far ahead of most rock music today (and it was released 10 years ago!), God knows what it must have sounded like when first released. It expands on Opiate (released the year before) to such a degree, that it is hard to believe this is the same band. Unfortunately, with the releases of AEnima and Lateralus, this now sounds unfulfilling. It's best moments rank among Tool's brightest, but I don't think I've listened to this record start to finish in over a year. Sober, Prison Sex, Crawl Away and Undertow are timeless, but Bottom (featuring Henry Rollins) and rest of the album can be hard to listen to. The album closer, Disgustipated, is probably the most irritating of all Tool's segues. It lasts about 16 minutes, except ten of those are just white noise. It is worth buying, but pales in comparison to Aenima and Lateralus - two of the best albums ever.
Incidentally, the UK release of Undertow has about three minutes edited out. Thankfully, most of those came from Disgustipated. However, the opening section of Intolerance has been cut. The US version has about thirty seconds of what is rumoured to be a man drowning before the band start playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album for everyone, 26 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Undertow (Audio CD)
I think that without doubt that Undertow is by far the best album that Tool has ever brought out. There are some heavier tracks, followed by very melodic tracks in between. And there isn't one track that i dislike. I've liked Tool for more than 4 years now, and have purchased every album, and they just seem to be getting better and better i think that this one sum's up what Tool are all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ok!, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undertow (Re-Issue) [VINYL] (Vinyl)
order received, I am happy, thank you all! I hope for our future cooperation,a big hello to all of Russia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undertow (Audio CD)
The first Tool CD. It is more straight than the others without so many "mind" songs. In my opinion one of the best CD's ever!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to the world of Tool, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: Undertow (Audio CD)
I missed the Tool boat when they emerged in the 90's and have only just recently discovered them, I was surprised that they have released so few titles so instantly purchased them all and have spent the past few months listening to them and it is this CD that has remained in my CD player. It is not as lengthy or as complex as their later releases but it sows the seeds and shows signs of what was to come. The production is incredible, stripped down with very little over dubbing yet incredible powerful and heavy, but not over layered like later bands. The vocals are fairly low in the mix but are haunting and beautiful at the same time ("i have gone to great lengths to expand my threshold of pain")

Tool are from the punk / metal camp but are so much more than this with unusual time signatures, melodies, and technical prowess that doesn't show off.

This is a great album and deserves to be bought and replayed for each time something new is heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second best album ever recorded...., 9 Jan 2001
This review is from: Undertow (Re-Issue) [VINYL] (Vinyl)
....bettered only by the one that followed it, 'Aenima', in my opinion. This is a seminal album, and one that no-one had expected after their debut release 'Opiate'. This album is awesome and so atmospheric. On this one the band really set out their musical and lyrical agenda, and stake out the territory that they have claimed as their own. It contains all you need - great noisy music, mindblowing lyrics, fantastic musicianship, a truly great cover, and a touch of Henry Rollins (okay, you probably don't need this!). It's hard to write objectively about Tool without sounding like their PR man, but they are just so cool. In a way they are anti-stars, leading us up blind alleys and dark cul-de-sacs in order to encourage us to think for ourselves. Every Tool album should come with a pinch of salt - believe nothing they tell us, and they're right, of course, but this not really the right forum for that sort of discussion. Suffice to say that Tool are a breath of fresh air.
If you only buy two albums in your life, make this the second, after 'Aenima'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Undertow (Re-Issue) [VINYL]
Undertow (Re-Issue) [VINYL] by Tool (Vinyl - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews