Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why Nick still means something, 9 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Time of No Reply (Audio CD)
"Time of no reply" is the dream of the elusive lost album made real. On this album I believe is to be found Nick Drake at his purest and most direct. Lacking as it does for the most part the strings, flutes, and other peripherals of for example "bryter later", "Time of no reply" has an uncluttered and persistant clarity. This is perhaps at its most evident in the haunting "Black-eyed dog" in which the harmonics, which alternate with the verse lines seem to hang in a space which is not confined to the bare mechanics of sound. It is this communication of mood, sensation and spirit that is at the heart of Nick Drakes music and it is for this reason that few people having experienced it remain unmoved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars oh, Sandy Gray........, 22 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Time of No Reply (Audio CD)
This version of 'Fly' recorded at his home in 1969 is among his best- the edgy vocal and perfect, intricate guitar part make this much more affecting than the Bryter Layter version. The other early demos are very listenable, but I find the versions of 'Man in a Shed' and 'Thoughts of Mary Jane' slightly irritating.

'Rider on the Wheel' - flowing guitar piece with simple, bewitching lyrics - my favourite Drake song. The guitar is so deceptive, made to sound so easy....but just try working it out!
'Black Eyed Dog' - unsettling; not exactly Ode To Joy either. ps tuning GGDGBD
'Hanging on a Star' - a bitter outcry at the music industry...the guitar sounds so much like a piano, it is incredible!
'Voice From The Mountain' - probably his most depressing song!
Buy it if you like Pink Moon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars oh it's sublime, such a shame it's not more widely available, 5 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Time of No Reply (Audio CD)
Just a quick thought about this beautiful record. Not totally realised, not even nearly finished. Tinged with the kind of real melancholy that would have Billy Corgan running for the medicine cabinet. Bless this boy and his short career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting melancholia, 10 Aug 2008
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Time of no reply (Audio CD)
My favourite tracks on this posthumous compilation include the title track, I Was Made To Love Magic with its elegant orchestra and the heart-wrenching Fly as his most achingly beautiful song (although I prefer the version on Bryter Layter). For obvious reasons, it calls to mind another melancholy masterpiece, the song Firefly by American Music Club.

This graceful take of The Thoughts Of Mary Jane is embellished by Richard Thompson's electric guitar, but the album's real classic is Black Eyed Dog, a chilling listening experience. It's like a momento mori, the most magical dance of anguish between his voice and the guitar.

Covered by World of Skin on their Ten Songs for Another World album, that version is now available on Swans' Various Failures 1988 - 1992 compilation in all its blood-curdling glory. Overall, Time Of No Reply is a great album, but I prefer Bryter Layter and Five Leaves Left where more instruments create a denser sound. Still, one cannot have too much of Drake's enchanting music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nostalgic meeting., 31 Jan 2014
By 
Marit Johnsen "Marmor" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time of No Reply (Audio CD)
This CD is nice to listen to if you like Nick Drake's other sing-songs. Some of the songs sound a bit unfinished, but that may be expected since they are unpublished earlier.If you have a quiet time to yourself and want to relax with some pleasant music from the sixties, this is a very good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars time of no reply by nick drake, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time of No Reply (Audio CD)
a great album released posthumously and I would recommend this to all nick drake fans also buy 5 leaves left, bryter layter and pink moon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A troubled cure for a troubled mind, 2 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time of No Reply (Audio CD)
This cd contains recordings by Nick Drake that was not on any of his albums. Some songs are of my favourite Nick Drake compositions, like "Joey" and "Time of no reply". There is a brilliant version of "The thoughts of Mary Jane" with Richard Thompson on guitar. Most of the tracks are from the late sixties, and there are four songs from 1974, "Rider on the wheel", "Black eyed dog", "Hanging on a star" and "Voice from the mountain". This cd is one of my favourites in my collection. It is beautiful music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very pleased - excellent service, 19 Sep 2011
This review is from: Time of No Reply (Audio CD)
Spot on. Shipped prompt. Would recommend to anyone items and service brill. Nothing to fault at all. Would not hesitate to use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anguish and tenderness, 7 Jan 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Time of No Reply (Audio CD)
My favourite tracks on this posthumous compilation include the title track, I Was Made To Love Magic with its elegant orchestra and the heart-wrenching Fly as his most achingly beautiful song (although I prefer the version on Bryter Layter). For obvious reasons, it calls to mind another melancholy masterpiece, the song Firefly by American Music Club.

This graceful take of The Thoughts Of Mary Jane is embellished by Richard Thompson's electric guitar, but the album's real classic is Black Eyed Dog, a chilling listening experience. It's like a momento mori, the most magical dance of anguish between his voice and the guitar.

Covered by World of Skin on their Ten Songs for Another World album, that version is now available on Swans' Various Failures 1988 - 1992 compilation in all its blood-curdling glory. Overall, Time Of No Reply is a great album, but I prefer Bryter Layter and Five Leaves Left where more instruments create a denser sound. Still, one cannot have too much of Drake's enchanting music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time of No Reply
Time of No Reply by Nick Drake (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews