Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2004
The thing about great music is you can't really explain in prosaic terms what makes it special - it's always impossible to describe the sum of the parts and, above all, the way it feels, how it moves you. So how can I explain to you how great this music is? It defined a genre, it must have the most reused phrase in the whole of reggae (the unforgetteable, irresistible opening riff from the title track), it is sweet, but it's hard too and it doesn't compromise. All of which doesn't even begin to tell you what it's like to listen to this. Think for a moment about what nine quid means to you - a few pints? a couple of rides in a cab? Now consider this record could make a lasting, positive change to your life, have a little faith in these reviews and buy this.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2001
This is THE spiritual album in the Reggae genre.an absolute classic!The whole package,from the songwriting and production to the performance itself is just pure class.The vocals are haunting yet joyuos and the musicians beuatifully restrained.A must for every conscious man/woman.Every track is a killer plus 4 extra rare tunes it's a steal.Go buy it now!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2002
This has to be one of the all time great Reggae albums, a must for every collection. Haunting melodies, tight rhythms, and spiritual lyrics - if you only have one reggae album in your collection, it should be this one.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2004
Satta Massagana is, without question, one of the most amazing albums I've ever had the pleasure to listen to. I thought "Arise" was brilliant, but "Satta..." even surpasses this. Superb, unique harmony and tight, hard roots reggae combine to form the terrific back bone of this marvellously crafted work of art. All the tracks are wonderfully colourful and are littered with instantly memorable riffs and choruses. If you love reggae as much as I do, it is critical that you purchase this album because, quite simply, it'll be the best few quid you ever spend.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
last year on a whim i bought "arise", and was knocked out by the sheer quality and feeling contained in the harmonies within a rock solid backing. i was informed that the above album was recorded under significant strain, and that i should really try "satta massagana". true, it is better, encroaching on genius - up there with "heart of the congos" or culture at their best. check the title track or "abendigo" as stand outs on an outstanding album - file under sacred music.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2001
Golden harmonies,deep roots and serious culture.I dred the question who is your favoriate, this either comes from the young or those think reggae, it must be Bob Marley. If pushed this get my vote in the reggae section.
Forget your happy,clappy,touchy,feely church and listen to this for spirt. No need to draw upon bush for staying high, this will keep you on an even plane. Be carefull you could drift off and startle awake at 3am with hi-fi lights still on.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
I CAN LISTEN TO THIS ALBUM OVER AND OVER AGAIN ... EVERY TRACK IS A CLASSIC, UPLIFTING, EVERY SONG REMINDED ME OF GROWING UP. THESE GUYS ARE VETERANS AT THE GAME AND PRODUCE WITHOUT ANY FANFARE. SAW THESE WORLD CLASS SINGERS AT HOOTENANNYS I WAS INSPIRED. DON'T HESITATE BUY IT!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
a grand statement i know - but ive got all their stuff seen em twice recently they are astounding and still going strong well into their 70's - the grandfather of reggae. there is a land far far away.............
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2006
I disagree with all these plaudits! I too am a great reggae fan - mainly thanx to being a London punk in the 1970s and 80s - and think this album is derivative, one-dimensional, all too predictable, and just plain safe and boring... Good reggae in my opinion should move the heart, move the feet, and fire you up. This album does none of these. I keep listening to bits of it because of all the recommendations, thinking maybe I've missed something. Sorry, but I can't see it.
44 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)