Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more then the title promises, 23 Feb 2009
This review is from: Tomorrow's Gold: Asia's age of discovery (Paperback)
Though the first edition was written some 5 years ago (I read the 2008 third edition), this is a book that is still so much up to date.
Marc Faber certainly knows what economy is all about, in comparison with all the talking heads & cheerleaders, of wich there are sadly enough to many in the financial sector.
He not only predicted the current financial mess, but also outlines what's in store for the coming years. And as an added bonus he gives us a great run through the history & psychology of the financial markets of the last centuries.
Certainly worth every penny paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 4 Nov 2008
By 
Ms. J. Francis "Chamee" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow's Gold: Asia's age of discovery (Paperback)
I'm tempted to say this book is rubbish just because I don't want anyone else to know about it, keep the markets in my favour. But that would be unfair to Mr Faber. My copy is dog-earred and highlighted and annotated up to the hilt. Some gems in here that will get you on the road to market-smarts and trading/investing for the new world. I hate to say it but it's bloody great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it's weight in gold, 12 Sep 2007
By 
bookworm (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Marc Faber may be the king of doom and gloom but this is probably the best written amd most tightly argued book among the recent crop of titles heralding the coming crisis in the US economy. The colourful swiss contrarian (how often do you see those three words together in one sentence?) has an exhaustive knowledge of international economic history and a career as an investment banker and now as consultant based in asia and is thus as well placed as any to offer analysis. The best praise I can give this work is that after the crisis comes and goes (after reading this you will be in little doubt that it is coming/already happening) I will dip into it to refer to some of its themes and delicious references of obscure economc data.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of the decade!, 21 Jan 2009
This review is from: Tomorrow's Gold: Asia's age of discovery (Paperback)
Just look at his predictions made now five or six years ago and you will marvel at their accuracy. If you would like some more recent ones then have a look at the chapter on Marc Faber in Opportunity Dubai: Making a Fortune in the Middle East. His emerging market business cycles are the most accurate and hilarious I have come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great experiences to learn from, 25 Mar 2010
This review is from: Tomorrow's Gold: Asia's age of discovery (Paperback)
A good book to learn about cycles and psychology of investing. It's not written in the best way where it 'grips' you so it can be a difficult read at times - but stick with it. I liked the parts about "leadership" (not people but stocks, business, sectors, and countries). Also the reminder about "obsolescence" of businesses and even whole sectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The bigger picture, 15 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. R. Mistry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tomorrow's Gold: Asia's age of discovery (Paperback)
This is an excellent book which made me enlightened me as well as made me think. I dusted off my old economics books after reading this very easy to read and thought provoking interpretation of economics and human behaviour. Considering the book was written before the recent credit crunch and from a theory point of view predicted what is happening now in reality it has been very educational. Is it possible to know the future, no, but we get a good idea from our knowledge of the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book for wise people., 11 May 2009
By 
Mr. Filip Kamban (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tomorrow's Gold: Asia's age of discovery (Paperback)
Brilliant Marc spent a lot of time researching historical data, creating rules based on them and putting it into time perspective in which they always applies. University degree of Economics is useless if if you don't know this.
Must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Faber's "Bananadol", 25 July 2014
A very entertaining book from Marc Faber with a cyclical worldview on development and finance, "Plus ça change,plus c'est la même chose".
We're in the American late Imperial stage of the cycle and considering the implications of the arrival of what he calls the "Bananadol" in the foreword to the second edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book: It stimulates thought and is consistent with Marc Faber's approach of wanting to "educate" his readers. Faber does not propose any magic formula for investing successfully but rather reminds that history is a great guide for future events be it booms or depressions. He draws great parallels of past economy mismanagement and what was happening after the dot.com bubble burst. His approach is always fact based using charts and examples. His views on Asia were by and large proven correct in the subsequent years. All in all, forming views about the economy is understanding the macro environment: trade, monetary and fiscal policies. I just wish he wrote more books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tomorrow's Gold: Asia's age of discovery
Tomorrow's Gold: Asia's age of discovery by Marc Faber (Paperback - 9 May 2008)
£31.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews