Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too beautiful, 13 May 2011
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venice Sketchbook (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:01 Mins

Too beautiful. That's how I would describe this book.

Venice Sketchbook is one of the series of watercolour sketchbook from Fabrice Moireau, a lover of architecture and gardens.

The book was originally released in French and translated to English. I actually bought the French version and upon seeing how much text there is in the book, I promptly ordered the English edition.

It's a 96-page hardcover published by Editions Didier Millet. The reproduction of the paintings is excellent. The paper has a watercolour paper texture to it, but much softer. It's almost like looking at the actual paintings.

The watercolour paintings are wonderful and charming, and they are printed huge. Together with the captions, they perfectly captures the mood of being in Venice. You can see the details of architecture, the weathering effect on the buildings, Venetians at work, and the lesser known areas hidden from tourists.

Fabrice Moireau's watercolour style seems really controlled. You don't see colours crossing over pencil lines. That really makes me think of how much masking he does to achieve to prevent colours from overlapping. It's not like he doesn't overlap, he just doesn't overlap the colours when there's a change in form, like for two buildings.

Other than the captions, there are also plenty of text describing the various places in Venice, and the history behind. It's very well researched and interesting to read.

This is a terrific travel journal.

I highly recommend this book, and all his other books.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 3 Nov 2010
By 
Casper (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Venice is one of my favourite cities. Fabrice Moireau has captured the colours of the buildings perfectly. I love this book, and fully intend to obtain a second copy and frame a few of my favourite pages so I can see them all of the time. If you love Venice you'll love this book. A perfect present for all lovers of La Serenissima.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 18 Mar 2012
This review is from: Venice Sketchbook (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
Just been reading and looking at this book with my son. It is one of the best quality books, if not the best, I have EVER come across. The sketches are produced in a very high quality way and the paper is almost "art" quality. I am really suprised, since the price is quite accessible.

We will buy more of this series, for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down memory lane, 8 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a truly delghtful production. Such artistic skill is breathtaking. It brings back so many happy memories of frequent visits in the past. As an amateur watercolourist myself I have tried to capture some of the images portrayed,not with nearly the same artistic flair. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Venice Sketchbook I purchased as a present for a friend., 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venice Sketchbook (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
The sketches are beautiful and a unique way of seeing the glories of Venice. Anyone who has visited Venice will love it and those of you who have not, it will convince you it is time to go and visit this wonderful and unforgettable city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Venice, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Edwin Underhill (Near London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb sketchbook of Venice that captures the fascination of Venice just as much as brilliant photographs of Venice so a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knockout., 14 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. B. J. Walker "Bookman" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venice Sketchbook (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
Great sketchbook full of wonderful colour sketches of Venice. I shall start saving and visit this city before I depart this mortal coil taking this book with me.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Venice sketchbook, 14 Jan 2014
By 
June Darby "SUPERGRAN" (NORFOLK,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venice Sketchbook (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
Excellent book, reminds me of my visit to Venice and encouraged me to take up watercolours myself and wonder at the beautiful buildings again, good reminder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venice Sketchbook (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
A great-looking boook and a pleasure to hold and read. Use it as a guidebook if you're planning to visit, or as a souvenir after you've been. Beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No comment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Venice Sketchbook (Sketchbooks)
Venice Sketchbook (Sketchbooks) by Deborah Howard (Hardcover - 18 Oct 2004)
£15.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews