Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Byfields Beautiful Best Yet!, 4 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: London Sketchbook: A City Observed (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
London Sketchbook is the definitive guide and souvenir to the big sights as well as the more intimate nooks of the British Capital.
Architecturally correct while retaining his individual style, Graham Byfields' palette is much enhanced by his instinctive inclusion of the white of the page in his drawings and watercolours.
The text by Marcus Binney introduces each London area, with the facts and history of the great and the quirky finding an equal share of the limelight. Whether you walk or ride, you will delight in your newly acquired knowledge. The detailed descriptions of each painting and drawing in the artists' own handwriting lends extra charm.
You can hear the swish of Black Taxi Cab tyres on wet plane leaves, laugh with jugglers, or breathe in aromas from ethnic restaurants, all the time discovering new facets of the unique gem this beautiful book shows London to be.
From cover to cover including everything between them, each page refreshes the eye, whether in a sprawling double page spread or in a tiny pencilled cameo.
Together, artist and author allow London to star in a collection of stunning images and informative paragraphs, a book to be treasured and shared, time and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London Sketchbook, 13 April 2011
This review is from: London Sketchbook: A City Observed (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
Superb Pictures, ideal for a present for those with an interest in the City. Byfield has a superb touch and captures the subject well.London Sketchbook: A City Observed (Sketchbooks)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The London I love in one volume, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Sketchbook: A City Observed (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
This is a wonderfulbook with many pictures of interesting London scenes and the accompanying texts give so much background information. I spent several evenings just leafing through the pages and it has gone on to my bookshelf as a long term tenant as I am sure I will be returning to it many times to just browse or to check up on particular buildings.

One of my better buys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful sketches, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Sketchbook: A City Observed (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
It describes the city in detail and with accuracy and the sketches in it are beautiful. However some of the pictures lack real detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Sketchbook: A City Observed (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
I love this series of books - and London Sketchbook is no disappontment. I will definitely collect more titles as I travel to the destinations available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect gift, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Sketchbook: A City Observed (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
This book was a perfect gift for a very good friend who is fanatically interested in all aspects of London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great choice, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Sketchbook: A City Observed (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
Delighted with my choice. Byfield's work is terrific . . . Just love seeing so many of London's famousl sites and hidden gems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fishcakes, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Sketchbook: A City Observed (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
Fine, it was very good, very good value. Lovely paintings and a lovely city, is that enough? one two three
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful., 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Sketchbook: A City Observed (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
This book will make you fall in love with London all over again. Detailed architectural drawings beautifully illustrated. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 13 Aug 2013
This review is from: London Sketchbook: A City Observed (Sketchbooks) (Hardcover)
I met Graham at a festival in Menorca a lovely man, he opened up his gallery that evening just so I could have a look. My wife bought me the book and I wasn't disappointed, excellent quality paper and fantastic artwork, well work buying, a lovely present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London Sketchbook: A City Observed (Sketchbooks)
London Sketchbook: A City Observed (Sketchbooks) by Marcus Binney (Hardcover - 18 Jun 2001)
13.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews